We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Riad, Amazing staff (yassine)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad El Sagaya

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Riad El Sagaya to your Saves list
Riad El Sagaya
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   150 Rue El Gza | Arset Ihiri, Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #227 of 465 Hotels in Marrakech
1 review
“Amazing Riad, Amazing staff (yassine)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Had a brilliant time at the riad, beautiful and peaceful. Lovely staff, very helpful, breakfast is great. Make sure you meet Yassine, true legend. Very Clean with a wonderful rooftop. Definitely stay here when you come to Marrakech! We truly recommend!

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    44
    15
    4
    1
See reviews for
19
48
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

Once inside, this is an oasis with plants, a fountain, clean spacious baths. The design is authentic, lovingly furnished. The staff is very helpful and the food is plenty + well prepared. It is best to get there from the city gate where the street is not covered (a very short 3-min walk).

If you come from the opposite side, via the Medina, you have to make your way through suffocating + deafening moped exhaust that drives tears to your eyes. In other parts of the Medina, the streets are shaded by reeds. Here it is mostly corrugated metal, trapping the fumes + noises (much worse for the market people who have to endure this daily).

I hope the Riad owners in the neighborhood find a way to limit the traffic or increase ventilation. (In Meknes or Fez there is no motorized traffic in the inner Medina.)

And to end on a romantic note, enjoy the cry of roosters from one of the lounge chairs on the beautiful roof terrace.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

My daughter and I recently stayed here, it was an oasis of calm away from the craziness of Marrakech, it is in a great location, easy to walk around, lovely rooms, simply decorated, lovely food, great atmosphere, very much made to feel at home. However, what really made our trip was the kindness, the helpfulness and genuine friendliness and care that Youssef, Yasmeen and the rest of the staff gave us, they couldn't have been nicer, we will definitely be back- we highly recommend it

Room Tip: we looked into several of the rooms, they are all lovely, the one on the ground floor on the right h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

We have just stayed in El sagaya and it was a lovely experience. I don't think I could have coped with the madness I marrakech without the riad to go home to. Knowing I had a place to escape to was an important factor in me having a Good time.

The riad itself is gorgeous. There is a pool in the center which you can swim in however I didn't see anyone swim while we were there. The rooms are a good size, authentic looking and have good air conditioning. There is no noise from the street so it is very peaceful.

The staff were friendly. The two girls didn't speak much English but helped where they could. They also cooked the best lunch we had and it was very good value, 100 dirhams i think. There was a guy (who's name escapes me) who was lovely and a great help. We shared his shish with him on the roof terrace which is absolutely beautiful.

I would definitely go back to this riad if I went back to marrakech.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Fantastic riad, an oasis of calm and tranquility in the heart of the medina. Beautiful, simple traditional rooms, great friendly, cheerful and helpful staff, lovely rood top terrace. Well placed for walking to all the sites. I wish I could have stayed longer - recommended!

Room Tip: All the rooms are lovely and even those nearest the street are amazingly quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

I thought this place was nice but now I am home I realise our holiday would not of have been the same without it it. It is such a calm tranquil place. The street outside is mental! Marrakech generally is mental so this was a lifeline for ensuring we had some peace and restful periods. The guy that works there is a credit to the place, very genuine, friendly and welcoming. We had many chats over mint tea on the roof terrace with the dog & the tortoise as the sun was setting. The girls who do the cleaning & breakfast are very sweet and smiley and spend the whole day cleaning- our room was cleaned everyday. It was 38 degrees during our trip so although the pool was freezing it was very appreciated, as was the air con in the room at night, the coolness of the riad generally and the breeze that you can get up on the lovely roof terrace. In the first few days I was put off by the half hour walk to the main square via the easy main roads- in the heat it feels like hard work but then we discovered the much shorter & more interesting route through the souks (20 mins) and found that that provided we walked back to the riad around 9 this was safe. Walk back any later through the souks and they get a bit sketchy- cue lots of lurking figures aggressively insisting the "the road is closed" "that way only lead to the mosque" etc etc! Breakfast is the same everyday, basic but nice and good for the price of the riad (coffee, fresh orange juice, moroccan pancakes, bread & jam).

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here with my man and our 2 kids (the youngest was only 9months old). We booked the Douiria suite. The room is actually huge and beautifully decorated. The rooftop terrace is great to relax on. The ground floor with the pool is wonderful when you get in the first time you know you will love the place already. We had the perfect stay, especially thanks to Yacinne and the girls Hanan and Bouchra, they made everything (and more) to make us feel at home.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad El Sagaya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad El Sagaya

Address: 150 Rue El Gza | Arset Ihiri, Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#135 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad El Sagaya 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Simplicity - authenticity - Riad Elsagaya - Marrakech The riad is ideally located in the centre a Marrakech, a few minutes on foot from the magical Jamaa El Fnaa square and from the new city “Guéliz”. Annabella and Youssef, an Anglo-Moroccan couple, will look after you during time of your the stay. than the riad has 8 rooms that can accommodate 2 or 3 people and a large suite for 4 people ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Riad El Sagaya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad El Sagaya Marrakech
Riad El Sagaya Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad El Sagaya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.