We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oasis in the city” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad El Sagaya

Save Saved
You added Riad El Sagaya to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Riad El Sagaya
150 Rue El Gza | Arset Ihiri, Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #207 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Oasis in the city”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Fantastic riad, an oasis of calm and tranquility in the heart of the medina. Beautiful, simple traditional rooms, great friendly, cheerful and helpful staff, lovely rood top terrace. Well placed for walking to all the sites. I wish I could have stayed longer - recommended!

Room Tip: All the rooms are lovely and even those nearest the street are amazingly quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    59
    47
    16
    5
    1
See reviews for
17
48
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

I thought this place was nice but now I am home I realise our holiday would not of have been the same without it it. It is such a calm tranquil place. The street outside is mental! Marrakech generally is mental so this was a lifeline for ensuring we had some peace and restful periods. The guy that works there is a credit to the place, very genuine, friendly and welcoming. We had many chats over mint tea on the roof terrace with the dog & the tortoise as the sun was setting. The girls who do the cleaning & breakfast are very sweet and smiley and spend the whole day cleaning- our room was cleaned everyday. It was 38 degrees during our trip so although the pool was freezing it was very appreciated, as was the air con in the room at night, the coolness of the riad generally and the breeze that you can get up on the lovely roof terrace. In the first few days I was put off by the half hour walk to the main square via the easy main roads- in the heat it feels like hard work but then we discovered the much shorter & more interesting route through the souks (20 mins) and found that that provided we walked back to the riad around 9 this was safe. Walk back any later through the souks and they get a bit sketchy- cue lots of lurking figures aggressively insisting the "the road is closed" "that way only lead to the mosque" etc etc! Breakfast is the same everyday, basic but nice and good for the price of the riad (coffee, fresh orange juice, moroccan pancakes, bread & jam).

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here with my man and our 2 kids (the youngest was only 9months old). We booked the Douiria suite. The room is actually huge and beautifully decorated. The rooftop terrace is great to relax on. The ground floor with the pool is wonderful when you get in the first time you know you will love the place already. We had the perfect stay, especially thanks to Yacinne and the girls Hanan and Bouchra, they made everything (and more) to make us feel at home.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

i have not rated anywhere as 5 star but this place is exactly what i needed and what people should expect from a riad in marrakech. a quiet oasis in the middle of the crazy medina you do feel like you are another world away. the reception area is beautiful and relaxing. the rooms are luxurious without being pretentious. the best part of the place is the terrace on the roof which has sunbeds, shisha tables and cushions everywhere. the hotel staff also bring breakfast up to the terrace so you can eat in the sun.
the staff are wonderful- so friendly and accommodating.i would recommend this place to everyone.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liverpool
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

We stayed in the Aladdin room which took us by surprise as it was literally next door to the breakfast and reception. That said it wasn't a problem falling out of bed into a beautiful homemade breakfast of crepes, fresh orange juice and hot coffee. The rooms were spotless and cleaned every day, staff were friendly and welcoming. The peace and quiet is such a welcome from the mad world of the souks and the roof top terrace is a pleasant way to chill out after a hard days shopping. The price is reasonable. Marjorella gardens a short stroll away and once you get used to the area, this riad is easy enough to find and about a 20 minute stroll to the main square.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

So many of the reviews here have described this Riad as an 'oasis', emphasising how tranquil it is, compared to surrounding streets of Marrakech... I hope this doesn't bore you, but this is going to be another of those raving reviews. It's difficult to comprehend the sense of peace, comfort and relief to be found within the safe, beautifully whitewashed walls of Riad El Sagaya without also experiencing the chaos encountered once you step outside the door. This is not to say that the Riad is in a bad or difficult location. On the contrary, it is in an excellent position, giving you equally easy access to sights both inside and outside the Medina (the walled Old City). Youssef and the other staff are trustworthy, genuinely helpful and friendly. Don't be afraid to ask Youssef for tips on anything Marrakech-related- he's as street-smart as he is refined, and will generously share useful knowledge which your guidebook neglects to mention. Everywhere you look is inspiration- the wall-climbing flowers reaching for the blue sky above the courtyard, the little birds flitting inside the house and waiting for crumbs of your simple and yet perfect breakfast. The interiors are delightful, colourful, beautiful and balanced- you can experience the traditional Moroccan design, while still enjoying the smooth white sheets and cleanliness we come to expect from a high quality hotel. If you still need help making up your mind, then all that remains is this - this Riad has my FULL recommendation. I cannot imagine anything that could disappoint you here. For me personally - Marrakech, the city of my dreams, turned out to be more topsy-turvy than I could handle. But this Riad was exactly what I wanted, and it gave to me the relaxation, friendliness, honesty and magic which I had travelled to this city to seek.

Room Tip: The rooms are all of different sizes, and are decorated differently and have their own unique charac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robertsbridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

We stayed here end of February 13. Friendly, relaxed and helpful staff. Traditional Riad with a large comfortable roof terrace with mountain top views. Location near Gare Routiere for airport bus. Riad a quiet peaceful haven compared to the crazy streets of the Medina outside. Good value for money. Basic tasty breakfast, comfortable beds and very clean rooms.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad El Sagaya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad El Sagaya

Address: 150 Rue El Gza | Arset Ihiri, Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Best Value Hotel in Marrakech
#111 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Simplicity - authenticity - Riad Elsagaya - Marrakech The riad is ideally located in the centre a Marrakech, a few minutes on foot from the magical Jamaa El Fnaa square and from the new city “Guéliz”. Annabella and Youssef, an Anglo-Moroccan couple, will look after you during time of your the stay. than the riad has 8 rooms that can accommodate 2 or 3 people and a large suite for 4 people ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Agoda so you can book your Riad El Sagaya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad El Sagaya Marrakech
Riad El Sagaya Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad El Sagaya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.