We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exactly what I wanted.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad El Sagaya

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Riad El Sagaya to your Saves list
Riad El Sagaya
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   150 Rue El Gza | Arset Ihiri, Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #227 of 465 Hotels in Marrakech
Sydney, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Exactly what I wanted.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

So many of the reviews here have described this Riad as an 'oasis', emphasising how tranquil it is, compared to surrounding streets of Marrakech... I hope this doesn't bore you, but this is going to be another of those raving reviews. It's difficult to comprehend the sense of peace, comfort and relief to be found within the safe, beautifully whitewashed walls of Riad El Sagaya without also experiencing the chaos encountered once you step outside the door. This is not to say that the Riad is in a bad or difficult location. On the contrary, it is in an excellent position, giving you equally easy access to sights both inside and outside the Medina (the walled Old City). Youssef and the other staff are trustworthy, genuinely helpful and friendly. Don't be afraid to ask Youssef for tips on anything Marrakech-related- he's as street-smart as he is refined, and will generously share useful knowledge which your guidebook neglects to mention. Everywhere you look is inspiration- the wall-climbing flowers reaching for the blue sky above the courtyard, the little birds flitting inside the house and waiting for crumbs of your simple and yet perfect breakfast. The interiors are delightful, colourful, beautiful and balanced- you can experience the traditional Moroccan design, while still enjoying the smooth white sheets and cleanliness we come to expect from a high quality hotel. If you still need help making up your mind, then all that remains is this - this Riad has my FULL recommendation. I cannot imagine anything that could disappoint you here. For me personally - Marrakech, the city of my dreams, turned out to be more topsy-turvy than I could handle. But this Riad was exactly what I wanted, and it gave to me the relaxation, friendliness, honesty and magic which I had travelled to this city to seek.

Room Tip: The rooms are all of different sizes, and are decorated differently and have their own unique charac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    44
    15
    4
    1
See reviews for
19
48
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Robertsbridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

We stayed here end of February 13. Friendly, relaxed and helpful staff. Traditional Riad with a large comfortable roof terrace with mountain top views. Location near Gare Routiere for airport bus. Riad a quiet peaceful haven compared to the crazy streets of the Medina outside. Good value for money. Basic tasty breakfast, comfortable beds and very clean rooms.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We stayed here in Feb 2013 and has a fantastic time.

The location is perfect, walking to distance to all the sights and on a relatively quite road (for Marrakesh) which is easy to find.

I found it odd that people complained about the location. The Riad is located in the medina and right between all the sights. The Yves Saint Laurant gardens are about 10min walk to the north west and the souks and main square are about a 15min walk to the South East with the tombs about a 20-25min walk.

The staff were incredibly friendly and didn't mind us purchasing wine and drinks from the supermarket and drinking them on the terrace which was fantastic as not many places in Marrakesh serve alcohol.

The rooms are beautiful and cleaned every day. The shower was hot and each one in the hotel seems very unique. We had all the 4 rooms on the middle floor and they were all perfect. We stayed in Feb and there were no problems of being cold. The beds have lovely thick duvets on them and there are also blankets if you need them (we didn't).

The roof top terrace is beautiful and so quiet compared to the chaos just outside the front door. We found the breakfast perfect, orange juice and coffee with amazing morrocan pancakes and bread and jams.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marrakech
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

We (my friend and i) recommend this very nice and traditional Riad for sure!
You are staying in the hart of the Medina. Typically Maroccon style! It is very busy outside, but when you are step in to the Riad you are enjoying the silence!
Our room was big and had a bathroom with a bad. Very nice!
Breakfast is simple and every day the same, but ok. In the medina there is a lot of food that you can buy for a few dirham. There is also a supermarket nearby.
The Riad is clean and the staff is very, very friendly and helpful.
A perfect stay for a few days in Marrakech!
The jemaa el fna square is about 15 till 20 minutes walking. The riad is in the north of the medina. You can walk to every tourist attraction, but remember that you are making a lot of meters. So put on good shoes. Use can use a map (to get an idea of the touristic places) but you can easily get lost in the souks...but...also that is a whole experience!
Must do: in the evening go to the jemaa el fna square and enjoy your diner there. It is delicious and cheap.
Be aware of ' guids' who wants to guide you around. They ask afterwords money for it.
And....in the souks they ask al lot of dirham for the souvenirs, try to get it a lot cheaper. Its a game and it is normal to do! Enjoy!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

We spend in January 2013 four nights at this Riad and were completely satisfied. It was very good value for money and the staff was extremely friendly. Although most of them didn´t speak too much English they were helpful whenever they could. Good choice!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

If you are looking for a fair price as well as a good place to stay this riad looks a good option.In fact, the riad is really nice. When we booked our room we specified a clean room and actually the room was really clean,and spacious. The riad and its rooms have a traditional moroccon style, so it looks really fascinating. The owner was a nice and kind man and he offered us something to drink when we arrived. We have spent just one night over there and we did not have any breakfast because we left the room very early in the morning. The room was provided of hot water and we managed to have a warm shower (trust me, this is very rare for cheap riads in morocco!); a set of towels ,with different size (another treat that not all the riads reserve to the costumers, according to my experience); soap and pantene shampoo and conditioner (absolutely a rarety!!!). There were a couple of things which i considered unfair: firstly, the riad is located 40 minutes walking from djemaa el-fna, the main square! and the area is not good...however, there are taxis and buses just round the corner. Secondly, we asked to the man at the reception to book for us a taxi at 4.30! and he charged us 100 DH (10 euros) for a very short distance, plus i did not understand why we had to pay at the hotel and not the taxi driver himself, instead.
I guess they planned for a fifty-fifty! Anyway, if compared to our taxi tarifs and also, by considering the time he picked up us, i do not mind. Finally, the room was cold! Unfortunatly, the riads do not have heatings but they only use air-conditioning and even if it was already set to 30 degrees, the temperature in the room was never so warm as a real 30 degrees. however, we managed to sleep by using a big covert. In the room there was also a space to sit with a little table. I suppose it was for people who wish to relax and have their dinner or breakfast in the room. The riad was silent and safe. they give you the look of your door which is the traditional padlock used in morocco. The riad is located close to some little shops. If you need something to drink such as water, yogurt, fruit juice or coca cola (very popular) or some snack, they have a variety. I suggest to ask for the dinner the day before or in the early morning because apparently, they need the guests to book the dinner. We arrived in the evening and we demanded for something to eat but they said the kitchen was closed. this rule must be the same for any riad. Also, there's a possibility to book long trips and excursions at the riad. I marked this riad a 3 score just for the unfair position and the cold, but if you don't mind walking and manage to find a solution for the room, the holiday will be really comfortable at the resort.

Room Tip: As I suggested in my review, demand for a clean and warm room-shower. Always, book the day before yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad El Sagaya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad El Sagaya

Address: 150 Rue El Gza | Arset Ihiri, Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#135 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad El Sagaya 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Simplicity - authenticity - Riad Elsagaya - Marrakech The riad is ideally located in the centre a Marrakech, a few minutes on foot from the magical Jamaa El Fnaa square and from the new city “Guéliz”. Annabella and Youssef, an Anglo-Moroccan couple, will look after you during time of your the stay. than the riad has 8 rooms that can accommodate 2 or 3 people and a large suite for 4 people ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Riad El Sagaya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad El Sagaya Marrakech
Riad El Sagaya Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad El Sagaya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.