We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing and Tranquil hotel for Marrakech Trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Dar Attajmil

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Riad Dar Attajmil to your Saves list
Riad Dar Attajmil
23, Rue Laksour | Quartier Laksour, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 481 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Hampshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing and Tranquil hotel for Marrakech Trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2010

My husband and I have stayed at the Dar Attajmil in May 2010 for four nights. Never having been to Morocco before, we wanted to make sure to have a pleasant hotel and a safe haven. We definitely found it with the Dar Attajmil. It is beautifully decorated throughout, and although our room (Fiancee Room) wasn't huge, we felt 'at home' because it was so beautiful and above all and most importantly clean. The bathroom was quite big, with beautiful mosaic in the shower and around the sink. The roof top terrace is stunning, you can hear the buzz of the nearby little alleyways (but it is not disturbing or loud) and five times daily you can hear the call to come and pray from the nearby mosques, which sounds so beautiful. The Dar is very conveniently located, just a few minutes walk to the place Jemaa al Fna, where you can go to enjoy a meal in the evening (it doesn't look trustworthy, but it definitely is! And what an experience, with all the buzzing and drums, oriental music, cooking, people walking by....). The staff at the Dar have been incredibly kind, courteous and helpful, we have never experienced this anywhere else in a hotel (they even bought a tajine for us, so we would get one for a fair price)!!) We have also had dinner twice at the Dar, and enjoyed the meal in a very romantic setting on the roof top terrace. The food was very very good, both breakfast and dinner (and of course the mint tea!). The hotel also offers day trips, a cooking course (the cook accompanies you into the souk to buy the food as well!!) and hammam/massages. All in all, a very pleasant and tranquil stay.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    185
    21
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
39
116
4
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
bedfordshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2010

This Riad seems to be in virtually every guide book on Morocco. No wonder -its perfect. A real oasis of calm and welcome from the buzz (and hustle) of the medina. The food is first class and the service excellent. As the Riad is small it has an intimate, secret feel to it. Every time we went on the roof terrace for example we were on our own and we ate in a private dining room. Its very well placed too to the medina and central square.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2010

My husband, grown son and I made Daj Attajmil our base in Marrakech for a week in March, while we took day and overnight trips to the nearby Berber area of the Atlas and Essaouira. The hotel is an oasis of elegant calm conveniently located in the midst of the Medina. It is excellently appointed, and excellent value for money. The staff went out of their way to be kind and helpful, arranging restaurant reservations and delicious dinners in the hotel, drivers and a trekking guide, as well as daily tips to make the city enjoyable. We would particularly like to praise and thank Nor'edin and Ibrahim.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2010

My partner and I found this riad through tripadvisor - excellent move. Like other travellers before us, it was a really good idea to get the taxi driver to take you into the maze to find the hotel, as negotiating the alleyways of Marrakech is very difficult (tip: always agree a haggled price for the taxi before you get in! Know your French if you want this exchange to be successful!). The riad is located on a corner, behind a burnt-orange painted wall, with a sign above the door; cool, calm interiors greet you, with huge plants in the centre of the riad with a small pool (not for swimming!). We were welcomed with mint tea and little Moroccan cookies, while we sat in the courtyard, with the riad's cat stopping for a pat. In the downstairs area, there are little alcoves with cushions to sit in, and a library room; atmospheric low light at night, and roses in vases. Our room was functional and lovely to be in - we were of course wakened by the dawn prayers, but frankly that happens everywhere in Marrakech (there's no escaping). Our breakfast was served on the top floor terrace, which had plants and shelter if you don't like sun - there are several seating areas to choose from, which allows you to be separate from fellow travellers. Breakfast: strong coffee, orange juice, Moroccan breads and pastries, yoghurt and honey, great quality. We chose to eat dinner at the riad on 2 nights - 2 of the best meals I've had in Morocco (lamb and prune tagine is a must!), and you're allowed wine if you're in the riad (even though it was Ramadam). Even on the last morning, when we asked for some breakfast for 5.30 am, we were provided with orange juice and cake/bread right on time, and help with our luggage. Lovely place!

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2010

Not the “boutique hotel” we had expected after reading some of the reviews on this site.. Dar Attajmil is nothing more than a small (4 little rooms) ordinary guesthouse ; nice, but not much to say about.
I agree that the couple of people working here are friendly and helpful, but the place is really a “basic” one compared to some other riads ; ok if you don’t look for anything luxury but with a cost of about a hundred euros per night, we felt this hotel was outrageously overpriced.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Backwell
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2009

What a great place. Food, location, rooms were all fantastic.
Even better was the day arranged by Lucretzia in the Atlas area.
The staff played a vital role in keeping a surprise from our friends and made sure that guides and cat drivers were also aware . Cannot think that the staff could have been better.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2009

wonderful place, great location - lovely rooms (I stayed in the fiancée room). I stayed four nights, could have stayed longer. the food was delicious (as a solo traveler, I chose to have a couple of dinners at Dar) and the staff was more than helpful.

I took the cooking class, which was great, and Lucrezia helped me arrange a guide for the afternoon. I had tried twice, unsuccessfully, to go to certain sights but got lost in the medina. Getting lost was part of the wonderful experience but hiring the guide was helpful so that I could see the couple of places I really wanted to see before I departed.

I had initially booked at Le Meridien, but typically like to stay in smaller hotels so I booked a room at Dar instead - I'm so glad I did! I would highly recommend as its right in the middle of where you want to be in the medina, eliminating the need for taxi transport. at some point, I’d like to bring my parents and sister (and family) so we'd book the entire riad - what a spectacular place!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.3 mi away
La Maison Arabe
La Maison Arabe
#6 of 481 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,331 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Noir d'Ivoire
Riad Noir d'Ivoire
#2 of 481 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,077 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#4 of 481 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Riad Al Badia
Riad Al Badia
#25 of 481 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 397 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad Dar Najat
Riad Dar Najat
#29 of 481 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 897 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Kheirredine
Riad Kheirredine
#1 of 481 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,068 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Dar Attajmil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar Attajmil

Address: 23, Rue Laksour | Quartier Laksour, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#20 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#24 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#28 Business Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming 5 rooms Riad right in the heart of old Marrakech.We loved the Dar Attajmil, for all sorts of reasons: the excellent location, the cosy feel, the way it's cared for and, last but not least, the excellent price for what it has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Riad Dar Attajmil reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Dar Attajmil Marrakech
Riad Dar Attajmil Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Dar Attajmil, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.