We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The excitement of Marrakesh is so close ... yet so far away” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Dar Attajmil

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Riad Dar Attajmil to your Saves list
Riad Dar Attajmil
23, Rue Laksour | Quartier Laksour, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 490 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“The excitement of Marrakesh is so close ... yet so far away”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

The riad is located minutes from Djemaa El Fna, but once inside the gates you are in a peaceful haven. The beautiful building features a central courtyard, around which the rooms are located. The rooms are beautifully decorated and very comfortable. There are also many places around the riad where you can sit, relax or read a book - including the terrace with great views over the Marrakesh skyline. The staff are friendly, helpful and attentive. I had a cooking lesson at the riad which was fabulous. We visited the market in the morning, then came back to the riad to prepare the dishes. My husband was able to join us for lunch when we all ate the banquet we'd prepared under our teacher's watchful eye. If you come by taxi, be prepared for the driver to not be able to take you to the door as cars are not permitted past Bab Laksour. Check with the staff about transfers when booking.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BuxtonTravelllers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
West Sussex, England
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

I have just booked rooms at Dar Attajmil for the Biennale next spring and can hardly wait to go back. The breakfast on the roof terrace is out of this world. Simple, delicious, fresh and served by the consistently charming, helpful and delightful staff who never stop smiling. I have stayed here many times now and would choose nowhere else. It is small and cosy and very well located for the souk.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EmmaHampshire1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blacksburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

A week ago I spent a long weekend in Marrakech and stayed at Dar Attajmil. The riad is lovely, cozy and beautiful, and feels like an oasis of calm and comfort in the medina. The rooms are very clean, my bed was really, really comfortable, the bathroom was spotless and had beautiful fixtures, and the shower had better water pressure than does my shower at home. Best of all is the staff. They never failed to be exceptionally helpful and are great fun to talk with. I took a 5:00AM train out of Marrakech; one of the staff insisted on driving my friend and me to the station. The cook is great, really. The riad is just across the street from an excellent contemporary Moroccan restaurant called Gastro MK. My meal there was splendid, but I have to say that Dar Attajmil's cook prepared more traditional meals that were just as good. I also took a cooking class in the riad's kitchen, which was a wonderful experience I would recommend strongly to anyone. On the basis of other reviews I've read of Dar Attajmil, it seems that many other people enjoyed great experiences there just as I did. One thing I have not seen anyone else mention, however, is the benefit of the riad's location. It's located near the edge of the medina, only a two or three minute walk from the road. Arriving in the middle of the night, after a long day of train travel to get to Marrakech, I was very happy not to have to walk 10 or 15 minutes to get to my bed. And on a clear day one can see the Atlas mountains from the roof. I would recommend this place to my closest friends in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mlucht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We stayed here after hiking a week in the High Atlas. This is a perfect hotel to relax and to let yourself be pampered. The staff is really friendly and helpfull. The rooms are beautifully decorated and peaceful, with a big bathroom and a good shower. In the morning you have your breakfast on the terrace in the sun. They have a small hammam which is really enjoyable and they have a perfect masseuse. Last but definitely not least, I can recommend having dinner at the hotel whilst you're staying there. For 20 euro per person they will make you a lovely 3 course dinner with fresh vegetables, tender meat and a really nice dessert. They also have good wines to accompany your food.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EviUtrecht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

What a wonderful way to learn about Moroccan culture and cuisine!
The 4 hour cooking class was amazing! After choosing our menu from a slew of recipes, our wonderful teacher took us to the market for locals, and we bought fresh ingredients and spices. We also made a visit to the neighbourhood baker where people can bring bread dough for him to bake.
The class is for beginners and seasoned chefs. It was very hands on and we totally enjoyed cutting, dicing and kneading bread with our teacher and the Dar Attajmil cook. We made 4 salads and r'fissa (chicken with flat cakes).
Our feast was served on the rooftop terrace, and we brought the leftovers back to our lodgings to eat at a later time. We were also given a great recipe book to recreate the dishes at home.

It was not necessary to stay at the riad, but we did book the class before we left on our trip.

http://www.darattajmil.com/guest-house-marrakech/excursions.html

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laughs_55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stayed 2 nights, and it made our stay very enjoyable.
Perfectly situated, makes you relax and forget the tough Medina/Souks environment.
The service is very good
The rooms are spacious very clean and well decorated.
If you choose to stay in the Medina, it's clearly one of the best.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chem84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mebourne
Level Contributor
42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

I've lost count how many times we've stayed here, but it's always great. We've stayed at other riads in Marrakech, but none beat Dar Attajmil for decor, location, the friendliness and helpfulness of the owner and staff. The cost of rooms as compared with other Marrakech riads is very reasonable as well. We dined in at the riad one night and had an excellent meal.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Metroviv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.6 mi away
Riad Aguerzame
Riad Aguerzame
#4 of 490 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 779 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Kheirredine
Riad Kheirredine
#1 of 490 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,196 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#5 of 490 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 780 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Riad Dar Zahia
Riad Dar Zahia
#33 of 490 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 363 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad Romance
Riad Romance
#8 of 490 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 93 reviews
0.0 mi away
Maison MK
Maison MK
#7 of 490 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Dar Attajmil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar Attajmil

Address: 23, Rue Laksour | Quartier Laksour, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#23 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#25 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#30 Business Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming 5 rooms Riad right in the heart of old Marrakech.We loved the Dar Attajmil, for all sorts of reasons: the excellent location, the cosy feel, the way it's cared for and, last but not least, the excellent price for what it has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Riad Dar Attajmil reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Dar Attajmil Marrakech
Riad Dar Attajmil Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing