We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic and beautiful hotel, 5 minutes from Djemaa El-Fna” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Dar Attajmil

Save Saved
You added Riad Dar Attajmil to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riad Dar Attajmil
23, Rue Laksour | Quartier Laksour, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #56 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Utrecht
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Romantic and beautiful hotel, 5 minutes from Djemaa El-Fna”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We stayed here after hiking a week in the High Atlas. This is a perfect hotel to relax and to let yourself be pampered. The staff is really friendly and helpfull. The rooms are beautifully decorated and peaceful, with a big bathroom and a good shower. In the morning you have your breakfast on the terrace in the sun. They have a small hammam which is really enjoyable and they have a perfect masseuse. Last but definitely not least, I can recommend having dinner at the hotel whilst you're staying there. For 20 euro per person they will make you a lovely 3 course dinner with fresh vegetables, tender meat and a really nice dessert. They also have good wines to accompany your food.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    128
    20
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
24
86
3
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

What a wonderful way to learn about Moroccan culture and cuisine!
The 4 hour cooking class was amazing! After choosing our menu from a slew of recipes, our wonderful teacher took us to the market for locals, and we bought fresh ingredients and spices. We also made a visit to the neighbourhood baker where people can bring bread dough for him to bake.
The class is for beginners and seasoned chefs. It was very hands on and we totally enjoyed cutting, dicing and kneading bread with our teacher and the Dar Attajmil cook. We made 4 salads and r'fissa (chicken with flat cakes).
Our feast was served on the rooftop terrace, and we brought the leftovers back to our lodgings to eat at a later time. We were also given a great recipe book to recreate the dishes at home.

It was not necessary to stay at the riad, but we did book the class before we left on our trip.

http://www.darattajmil.com/guest-house-marrakech/excursions.html

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stayed 2 nights, and it made our stay very enjoyable.
Perfectly situated, makes you relax and forget the tough Medina/Souks environment.
The service is very good
The rooms are spacious very clean and well decorated.
If you choose to stay in the Medina, it's clearly one of the best.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mebourne
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

I've lost count how many times we've stayed here, but it's always great. We've stayed at other riads in Marrakech, but none beat Dar Attajmil for decor, location, the friendliness and helpfulness of the owner and staff. The cost of rooms as compared with other Marrakech riads is very reasonable as well. We dined in at the riad one night and had an excellent meal.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne Australia
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

Lost track of how many times we have stayed at Lucrezia's haven in Marrakech. We visit Morocco regularly on busines and whenever possible stay at Dar Attajmil.... Always disappointed when we have to stay elswhere ! Both our stays this time were totally enjoyable thanks to the staff, location and presentation of all parts of this lovely understated riad. Certainly the very best value in this popular city.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I spent a good month trawling TA for riads in Marrakech and felt completely overwhelmed by what should have been a fun experience. After comparing about 100, contacting owners to find out if they were free and trying to accomodate three people in one room, which proved slightly difficult, I finally settled for Dar Attajmil, based on its central location, close to the square, and good reviews.

On arriving with my mother and sister, we were delighted with what we found. I'm sure that all riads are much of a muchness, but we loved the decor, furniture and general ambiance. Our spacious room was immaculately clean and felt like a haven from the craziness of the souks. The sun terrace on the roof was the perfect place to relax after a day of sightseeing and shopping. But above all the staff were superb. Nothing was too much for them to organise to ensure we were having a good time.

We did the cookery course and would highly recommend it to anyone staying at the riad, as it involves going to a much more local market and then eating the dishes on the roof. We also had a hammam at the riad which was brilliant too.

All in all we had an absolutely wonderful time in Marrakech and it was all down to Riad Dar Attajmil.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Bougainvillea suite, which fit three of us in absolutely fine and had its own priva...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Our already high expectations of Dar Attajmil were definitely exceeded.

The recommendation in Alastair Sawday's book on places to stay in Morocco certainly gave a good idea of what to expect (as well as very pleasant correspondence beforehand with Lucrezia, the owner - unfortunately absent abroad at the time we visited but seamlessly represented in her absence by the wonderful Ibrahim and his excellent team) but what we found was a delight.

The morning would start with a hunt for the two tortoises wandering around the downstairs courtyards (also full of trees and beatiful plants - which were very pleasant to read and drink mint tea under whilst sheltering from the heat of the day) before then heading upstairs for breakfast on the wonderful roof terrace with excellent views of the surrounding rooftops, the Koutoubia minaret as well as the far off mountains. An evening drink and dinner on the same terrace was also equally pleasant. A haven of peace and tranquility from the bustling Medina alleyways outside. 2 nights there were all too short.

The only slightly (very slightly) negative comment was that we slept in a suite on the ground floor with a limited number of windows - we were travelling as a group of three and saving money - next time we would probably try to get a room or two higher up. That said, the suite was beautifully furnished and very spacious.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Dar Attajmil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar Attajmil

Address: 23, Rue Laksour | Quartier Laksour, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#25 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#61 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#71 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming 5 rooms Riad right in the heart of old Marrakech.We loved the Dar Attajmil, for all sorts of reasons: the excellent location, the cosy feel, the way it's cared for and, last but not least, the excellent price for what it has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Riad Dar Attajmil reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Dar Attajmil Marrakech
Riad Dar Attajmil Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Dar Attajmil, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.