We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Dar Attajmil

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Riad Dar Attajmil to your Saves list
Riad Dar Attajmil
23, Rue Laksour | Quartier Laksour, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #47 of 465 Hotels in Marrakech
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stayed 2 nights, and it made our stay very enjoyable.
Perfectly situated, makes you relax and forget the tough Medina/Souks environment.
The service is very good
The rooms are spacious very clean and well decorated.
If you choose to stay in the Medina, it's clearly one of the best.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    20
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
29
93
3
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mebourne
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

I've lost count how many times we've stayed here, but it's always great. We've stayed at other riads in Marrakech, but none beat Dar Attajmil for decor, location, the friendliness and helpfulness of the owner and staff. The cost of rooms as compared with other Marrakech riads is very reasonable as well. We dined in at the riad one night and had an excellent meal.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne Australia
Top Contributor
171 reviews 171 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

Lost track of how many times we have stayed at Lucrezia's haven in Marrakech. We visit Morocco regularly on busines and whenever possible stay at Dar Attajmil.... Always disappointed when we have to stay elswhere ! Both our stays this time were totally enjoyable thanks to the staff, location and presentation of all parts of this lovely understated riad. Certainly the very best value in this popular city.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I spent a good month trawling TA for riads in Marrakech and felt completely overwhelmed by what should have been a fun experience. After comparing about 100, contacting owners to find out if they were free and trying to accomodate three people in one room, which proved slightly difficult, I finally settled for Dar Attajmil, based on its central location, close to the square, and good reviews.

On arriving with my mother and sister, we were delighted with what we found. I'm sure that all riads are much of a muchness, but we loved the decor, furniture and general ambiance. Our spacious room was immaculately clean and felt like a haven from the craziness of the souks. The sun terrace on the roof was the perfect place to relax after a day of sightseeing and shopping. But above all the staff were superb. Nothing was too much for them to organise to ensure we were having a good time.

We did the cookery course and would highly recommend it to anyone staying at the riad, as it involves going to a much more local market and then eating the dishes on the roof. We also had a hammam at the riad which was brilliant too.

All in all we had an absolutely wonderful time in Marrakech and it was all down to Riad Dar Attajmil.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Bougainvillea suite, which fit three of us in absolutely fine and had its own priva...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Our already high expectations of Dar Attajmil were definitely exceeded.

The recommendation in Alastair Sawday's book on places to stay in Morocco certainly gave a good idea of what to expect (as well as very pleasant correspondence beforehand with Lucrezia, the owner - unfortunately absent abroad at the time we visited but seamlessly represented in her absence by the wonderful Ibrahim and his excellent team) but what we found was a delight.

The morning would start with a hunt for the two tortoises wandering around the downstairs courtyards (also full of trees and beatiful plants - which were very pleasant to read and drink mint tea under whilst sheltering from the heat of the day) before then heading upstairs for breakfast on the wonderful roof terrace with excellent views of the surrounding rooftops, the Koutoubia minaret as well as the far off mountains. An evening drink and dinner on the same terrace was also equally pleasant. A haven of peace and tranquility from the bustling Medina alleyways outside. 2 nights there were all too short.

The only slightly (very slightly) negative comment was that we slept in a suite on the ground floor with a limited number of windows - we were travelling as a group of three and saving money - next time we would probably try to get a room or two higher up. That said, the suite was beautifully furnished and very spacious.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

I had the pleasure of staying at the incredible Dar Attajmil for a full week and had the most incredible stay.

As soon as you step through the doors of the Riad, you are at complete ease. Such a beautiful courtyard, matched by incredibly stunning rooms. The breakfasts are huge and differ everyday. The dinners even more so, and must be had!, easily the most incredible food I had in Morocco.

The staff are so attentive and friendly and are there to help with whatever you need. A real family feel.

The hammam on the terrace is stunning, warming and relaxing. Fatima's gommage (scrub) and massage are out of the world. You wont ever feel this clean or relaxed again!

I also took part in their cooking course which is highly recommended. After shopping for local produce in the market with the cook, and getting a glimpse into real moroccan life, you spend the morning learning exactly how to make the moroccan dish of your choice, and then eating it all up for lunch! I can wait to try this at home.

Location is fantastic, a few minutes walk from the main square Djamaa El Fna. ..and after some time here and walking the fascinating lively hectic streets of the medina, you'll be delighted to restup here.

Can't recommend it enough, I'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genoa, Italy
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

This Riad has an excellent location, right in the medina and a five minute walk from the main square. The staff are wonderful, cordial and helpful, the rooms are not very spacious but very clean and beautifully decorated and there are plenty of small tea rooms and lounges to hang out in ... including the beautiful roof top terrace. The bathroom is big with a nice shower.
The breakfast on the terrace is amazing.... we also had two lunches and a dinner which were excellent!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Dar Attajmil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar Attajmil

Address: 23, Rue Laksour | Quartier Laksour, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#43 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#46 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#58 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming 5 rooms Riad right in the heart of old Marrakech.We loved the Dar Attajmil, for all sorts of reasons: the excellent location, the cosy feel, the way it's cared for and, last but not least, the excellent price for what it has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Dar Attajmil reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Dar Attajmil Marrakech
Riad Dar Attajmil Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Dar Attajmil, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.