We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful and peaceful oasis” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Dar Attajmil

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save Saved
You added Riad Dar Attajmil to your Saves list
Riad Dar Attajmil
23, Rue Laksour | Quartier Laksour, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #44 of 460 Hotels in Marrakech
Genoa, Italy
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A beautiful and peaceful oasis”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

This Riad has an excellent location, right in the medina and a five minute walk from the main square. The staff are wonderful, cordial and helpful, the rooms are not very spacious but very clean and beautifully decorated and there are plenty of small tea rooms and lounges to hang out in ... including the beautiful roof top terrace. The bathroom is big with a nice shower.
The breakfast on the terrace is amazing.... we also had two lunches and a dinner which were excellent!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    20
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
26
92
3
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

My friend and I stayed at the Dar Attajmil in February for 3 nights. Like everyone said, the place is lovely and charming. It was a bit cold in the common courtyard but they have heated lamps making it all cozy. I think most dar and riads do not have heat so FYI if you're easily cold. They have plenty of thick blankets keeping you warm. We stayed in the small room with 2 beds on the second floor. It was cute but we didn't realize that there wasn't a door to the bathroom (just a curtain). Something you'll have to figure out with your companion when you really have to use it! Not sure what the other rooms are like.

We were spoiled when we had breakfast on the roof deck. It was simply amazing. If we ate like that every day we would have gained at least 5kgs. Nevertheless, we didn't mind all the different pastries and fruits. And yes, mint tea was made to perfection!

Lastly, we wanted to thank Hassan for his courteous service and awesomeness. He gave us great recommendations, served us unlimited mint teas and cookies, and shared his life experience with us.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Spent 2 nights in this Riad this month and would highly recommend to anyone thinking of visiting Marrakech.

From the minute we booked the communication was excellent, upon arrival the staff were very helpful and informative. The room was clean and the hotel was very well maintained with a beautiful decor. The riad is a welcome break from the hustle of the city and once through the hotel door the noise of the street goes and you are able to comfortably relax. We only had breakfast and not evening dinner but this was nice both mornings.

Overall well worth a visit and would highly recommend!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Just back from being treated like long lost beloved family at Riad Dar Attajmil. The accommodation itself was gorgeous, comfortable, immaculately clean and extremely well located. But, it was the incredible hospitality and amazingly delicious, freshly prepared bespoke meals that made my stay so wonderful and left me craving to return as soon as possible. Stay here. You will be so glad you did.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Spent 3 nights at the Riad Dar Attajmil in February 2013 when visiting Marrakech for the first time. The Riad was mentioned in my guide book and I liked the reviews I saw here. In addition to that, communication was particularly good from the moment that I booked the room online, which was very reassuring and also helpful. After a hiccup with the pre-arranged transport from the airport to the Riad on arrival, which the owner dealt with swiftly and professionally, my friend and I enjoyed our stay at Riad Dar Attajmil tremendously. I found it useful that my friend also speaks fluent French a couple of times, even more so generally during our time in Morocco.

We stayed in the beautifully furnished Tea Room, which was very spacious and comfortable. Although I'm sure the Riad is perfectly secure, the safe in the cupboard was reassuring and while we didn't need to use the air conditioning in the room, the little heater in the shower room was nice to have especially on those days when we got up early and a chill was still in the air.

We enjoyed a fabulous vegetarian dinner at the Riad on our first night and breakfast on the roof terrace every day during our stay. In fact, we enjoyed the calm atmosphere and hospitality of the staff so much that we even returned a few days after we had checked-out with a couple of friends in tow. We were made to feel very welcome and I have no hesitation in recommending this well located Riad.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Toscana, Italy
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

This is my first ever review: this beautifully furnished riad and the hospitality of its staff deserve all the praise I could possibly lavish on them. Greeted by mint tea and cookies upon arrival, we were immediately upgraded to a bigger room with a sublime spa-kind shower room for the first two nights. Make sure you have at least one meal here as the female chef cooks a divine tajine. The cooking class is worth every Dirham: you get to visit the local market and buy the ingredients, then eat what you've made on the riad's peaceful rooftop terrace. The staff (Ibrahim and Hassan are kindness personified) go out of their way to make your stay as memorable as possible. Words can't express how impressed we were by the whole riad experience.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

We spent the last night of our week-long trip in Morocco at the Dar Attajmil, before flying back home. Although we enjoyed our other accommodations, we wish we could have spent more time exploring all this Riad had to offer. The common areas were very relaxing, and our room was clean and comfortable. We had some difficulty communicating with the staff upon our arrival, as the usual staff were unavailable at the time. Dust from renovations was a minor issue, and hopefully these have since been completed. Definitely worth a look if you plan on spending time in Marrakech!!

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Dar Attajmil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar Attajmil

Address: 23, Rue Laksour | Quartier Laksour, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#32 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#51 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#54 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming 5 rooms Riad right in the heart of old Marrakech.We loved the Dar Attajmil, for all sorts of reasons: the excellent location, the cosy feel, the way it's cared for and, last but not least, the excellent price for what it has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Dar Attajmil reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Dar Attajmil Marrakech
Riad Dar Attajmil Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Dar Attajmil, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.