We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“By trip's end my standards may have been compromised but this was just fine!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Tulip Farah Marrakech

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Golden Tulip Farah Marrakech to your Saves list
Golden Tulip Farah Marrakech
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenue du President Kennedy, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #349 of 465 Hotels in Marrakech
Iroquois, Canada
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“By trip's end my standards may have been compromised but this was just fine!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Of the four hotels we stayed at during a recent visit to Morocco the Golden Tulip Farah Marrakech was the best. It was not four star as advertised but fine for our needs.While the rooms were not bigger or significantly nicer than the other hotels the property was set up and designed to be accommodating. Service was for the most part delivered with the grace and sincerity that Morocco is famous for. My husband left a book in the restaurant and it was safely waiting for him at the front desk the next morning.The garden and pool area were delightful and our room enjoyed a lovely balcony where each morning I could sit and enjoy the fresh air before the onset of the day's heat. I grabbed coffee from the restaurant buffet, returned to my room and lingered with the view before facing the frenetic pace of the Moroccan traveler.The bar was spacious and the wine selection adequate and served, for the first time in our trip, by the glass. A large lobby also accommodated our group socializing.Unfortunately the food in the buffet was disappointing both at lunch, dinner and breakfast but at this, the final phase of our vacation, we had come to accept the limitations of the food and eat with some caution as others in our group had become ill by the time we reached Marrakech. The hotel includes a few quite interesting shops that were always closed when I was in the hotel which was disappointing as I had some Moroccan currency that I wanted to get rid of and had seen some quite nice items in the store windows.The hotel location is perfect for easy access to the famous Jemaa El Fna square and the labyrinth of soukes. The property seems to be a vacation destination for young French vacationers who fully utilize the bar and pool area.

Room Tip: As the elevators are a little undependable ask for a lower floor so the stairs are doable. Be sure t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

588 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    205
    185
    93
    50
See reviews for
119
230
30
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, Scotland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

The hotel is set in very attractive gardens in a quiet part of Marrakech. It's about a 20 minute walk to the main square and the soukes or about 5 mins in a taxi, horse and cart or tuk tuk! Cost for each vary depending on how good your negotiating skills are and how receptive the driver is. Anything between 40 and 80 dhs.

The room we were in was a duplex that opened out in to the very leafy and well kept garden. The bed was upstairs along with a cupboard. The bathroom and small living area are on the ground floor. Both parts were clean however the bathroom towels were a bit thin but perfectly usable.

The breakfast was a typical continental fare event with a mixture of pastries, cold meats and cheeses. Generally all of these were fresh. There were also a couple of hot items which didn't look very appetising!

The best (free) wifi reception was in the lobby area with virtually no wifi in the rooms.

All in all, a pretty safe bet for Marrakech on not quite a budget but a solid 3* hotel with great pool and gardens.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

My wife, daughter and I stayed here last week for 4 nights and were quite disappointed. The room allocated was a duplex (two levels). Its ground floor was sticky and crawling with ants. Paint was cracked and peeling off the walls. The upstairs ceiling was very low. The air-con was basic. The bathroom paint was damp and, in places, mouldy.

Tired, we slept there the first night and in the morning asked for a change of room. The new room had (slightly) better air-con and a great view of a brick wall just outside the room. Interestingly, the receptionist did not appear at all perturbed when we asked for a change of rooms.

For a (purported) 4 star, this was very basic indeed.

Others have criticised the breakfast, so the less siad about that, the better ..

We shall not go back to this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights last week and I was disappointed.
The hotel is fine - clean but in need of updating, a basic at best and certainly not 3 star.
The restaurant and bar staff were extremely nice, the reception staff were extremely rude at check in and checking out. We also consulted with reception about tourist options and were told they done have any tourist literature - (not even a photocopied map with the city highlights indicated) and that there isn't much to see n Marrakech except some gardens. A huge disadvantage to a hotel in a city where there is so much to so and do. Luckily we are self sufficient people.
The bedroom was fine - old but clean however the table on the balcony was broken.
The buffet breakfast is very poor quality.
The pool area is really nice but a huge lack of sun beds and a tolerance for people reserving beds ALL day even when exploring this great city all day.
I have to say I wouldn't return to this hotel.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

I stayed two nights In this hotel + when travelling with my family. We booked a quadruple room and I can’t imagine to spend in such a room two weeks holidays. All this type rooms are located on the ground level (what causes in practice that you can’t keep window opened so often). There is a double bed on the upper level and two small single beds on the basic (ground) level, where also TV is located. However – there is no English channel available. There is not so much space in the room – so it is OK for the people who arrive for 1-2 nights but not for a long family stay. The fridge is available in the room but there was no kettle to make tea/coffee. The safe was in the room but the cost was high )50 drahms per day). The A/C in the room was very bad, especially on the ground level. It was much more comfortable to seat outside the room – in the lobby. There is no Internet in the room, Internet is available in the lobby/reception area (free). The breakfast was really basic (even no juice – only a sweet drink with slightly fruit taste). In the afternoon and in evening there was no possibility to eat a’la carte. The only one possibility was a buffet dinner, starting at 8 pm and the price was 200 drahms per person (drinks are paid additionally).
The staff was very polite but my impression is that an overall hotel policy is first of all to charge the guest all the time (high price for safe, comparing other Moroccan hotels, only an expensive buffet dinner as the proposal to eat something in the evening).
And final remark – Marrakesh is a very hot city in July and August. We arrived to Marrakech from Agadir with only one purpose – sightseeing and next back to Agadir for leisure. I am sure, I would be very tired after holidays spend in July in Marrakech, even spending all the time at the pool.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

We booked this hotel knowing that it had some bad reviews however looking at the nice pictures of the hotels gardens and pool convinced us that it can't be all that bad. I'm afraid we were very wrong.

True the garden is nice but that can't be said for the rooms. Tired looking, flat pillows, broken tv. No kettle for making tea in the room. On top of that the breakfast which was a buffet was a nightmare. Queues of people waiting for the food trays to be replenished. Worst hotel breakfast we have ever had.

My opinion stay only if you are looking for shelter for the night.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

We booked this hotel through BA as a package with our flights etc and paid quite a good price considering it was a 4* hotel in the Easter holidays. I wouldn't rate it as 4*, the food was fabulous in all the a la carte restaurants though expensive (did not try the buffet) and the pool was nice, however the rooms were not what I'd expect in a 4* hotel. Fortunately the staff were very helpful and upon seeing our displeasure at our family being placed at different bungalows in different parts of the hotel (one of which was up some stairs in the back of some driveway area and the doorknobs were broken!) we were moved to much nicer and more modern split level suites at no extra cost.
The staff were helpful, the bar is lovely and the moroccan tagine was delicious, though they seemed short-staffed in the restaurant each day.
Location wise it was an easy walk to the souk and the main sights.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Golden Tulip Farah Marrakech? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Tulip Farah Marrakech

Address: Avenue du President Kennedy, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#142 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#143 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Golden Tulip Farah Marrakech 4*
Number of rooms: 242
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Golden Tulip Farah Marrakech reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Tulip Farah Marrakech Hotel Marrakech
Golden Tulip Marrakech
Hotel Farah
Marrakech Golden Tulip

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden Tulip Farah Marrakech, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.