We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It could have been so different” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Tulip Farah Marrakech

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Golden Tulip Farah Marrakech to your Saves list
Golden Tulip Farah Marrakech
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenue du President Kennedy, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #345 of 460 Hotels in Marrakech
Fareham
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“It could have been so different”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

How can a hotel in Marrakech serve reconstituted orange juice for breakfast, and coffee that the worst cafe in the square would be ashamed of? Why when so many people have complained about the air conditioning and the safe boxes were neither working? Why whenever we asked for something to be done were we fobbed off endlessly as were the rest of our party, 44 on a touring holiday. We were not a particularly demanding group our needs were not extreme and yet everyone felt that our tour carrier needs to rethink this hotel. In contrast to most Moroccans the staff here seem disinterested and bored. It could have been so different, and it should have been.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

546 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    189
    173
    90
    46
See reviews for
114
209
27
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
England
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Stayed four nights in November. The hotel is in the Hivernage area about 40 minutes walk from the Jmaa El Fnaa. Taxis 30-50Dm to the centre and on the Tourist bus route (which was very useful).

The hotel is a bit run down but (despite other reviews) our room was clean and well looked after.
There are three restuarants in the hotel. We only used the main restuarant for breakfast which if you like boiled eggs tomatoes and fried potatoes is OK.

There is also a fruit table with very good yoghurt and cheese, pastries etc etc. All the same each day but perfectly acceptable.

Coffee was a lottery either 'OK' sort of ,or paint stripper. There is a poor guy sitting with his pot of mint tea waiting for customers but it wasn't very good.

Apart from breakfast, the same place does what looked like a very good buffet with just about anything for 200Dm

We tried the Moroccan restuarant and were the only customers. The two musicians lept into action as we appeared and (presumably) sent a carrier pigeon to fetch the manager from somewhere who appeared ten minutes later.

We had lamb brochette on plain boiled rice with what seemed to be a spoon of thickened tomato juice seeping into it at the side of the plate. I suppose this was meant to be the spicy tomato sauce normally served. Lamb tajiine was a slow cooked piece of lamb on the bone which although OK had no seasong and lacked flavour. As in common with most food we had in Marrakesh Bland Bland Bland.

The Italian restuarant never opened as far as we could tell.

Generally, the staff were helpful and friendly, the pool area and bar is very good with an excellent selection of meals available. Cushions and towels are gratis.

Lifts seemed to operated at the will of God and would not come when called, would not stop at floors (except once when half way between it stopped and opened the doors)!

The safe in the room would not work, you have to buy a card from reception but nowhere does it tell you this. When I had done this, it worked once then would not lock. After the guy from reception had given up, he got an engineer that evening who struggled for half an hour and got it (seemingl) working. Broke down next day. I got my money back.

My main comment is that there is NO information about anything in the hotel or in the room. The only info sheet was about using the telephone which was completely wrong. Trying to gat an outside line I had to give a number and go through an interrogation as to what country I was ringing (it was a local Marrakesh number) and hang up waiting to be connected. AKA 'Put the machine wait'.

There is an in house hammam and massage facility and a couple of tat shops.

If you want a fairly quiet place with a very good pool and pool service for the warmer weather this is OK. Romantic break with lovely food, definitely not.

Near the hotel there is nothing at all, apart from the Extrablatt cafe/nightclub whatever it is (see other review).

Stay again? No.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back overlook the lower roofs of the kitchens and restuarants. Ugly and polluted bu a/c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brno
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Very good kitchen, little bit old equipment of rooms, but clean. Nice pool. Heplful staff in restaurant and by the pool. They are giving Maroco Mint tee for free. Towels, mattress and pool-beds are free. Taxi is for 30DH to city centre.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Spent 3 nights here but wished it could have been spent somewhere else. The rooms were of adequate size but not particularly clean. One could write ones name on flat surfaces in the dust. The pool area was brilliant. Reception staff extremely helpful. The food - well, not very good. Advised not to drink the orange juice as it is usually watered down and it could result in upset stomachs. Plenty of people seemed to be dropping by the wayside after dining here.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

We spent a total of 4 nights at this hotel and was fortunate to stay in a suite, standard room and bungalow during this period. Not because the hotel moved us, but we stayed at the start and end of a tour.

The location is good, but not close to the medina and I def would not call it walking distance in Moroccan weather. The taxi ride from the station cost 80dh and the driver knew the hotel. Reception was efficient and check in went quickly as we had arrived just before a big tour group. Don't expect fluent English speakers in this hotel, we were lucky that the front desk guy was moderately good and together with my broken French we got along.

We got upgraded to a suit the first night as I had booked this privately. It was spacious and offered a lounge area and double vanity as well as a guest toilet. The view was fantastic as well from room 542 looking onto the swimming pool and gardens. The toilet did not flush and aircon was dodgy, but after a long trip we were not complaining.

Second night we booked in with our tour group in a standard room. What a downgrade! It was sufficient but coming from the suite was an adjustment. There was no fridge in this room, but other travelers had one in their standard room. The view was also of a roof....and not much else. If you can afford, upgrade!

At the end of our tour we stayed two nights in the garden bungalows. It's a two level apartment type accommodation nestled in the garden area close to the pool. Stunning location! The bottom floor has two bunk beds doubling as couches, a tv and a shower and toilet. The bar fridge is also downstairs.
The top floor has a full bathroom, king bed, tv and small sitting area. It was very comfortable for my husband and I, especially the two bathrooms! Some people complained about bugs, but there were actually less mosquitoes in the bungalows than the hotel rooms! In fact.....I lie....there were none during our two nights! Ants was our biggest problem in terms of insects, but the cleaning staff sprayed everyday which kept them to a minimum. Location alone says the bungalows are best, and you don't have any rooms above you which means less noise and more privacy.

We were on half board but you can choose full board. Breakfast was continental, barely so in my opinion. Croissants, bread, boiled eggs and cheese was the order of the day. They also served a plain fruit salad and yoghurt if you were lucky to be early enough. Coffee was good though. Dinner varied from day to day in terms of quality and variety. There were always tagine and salads and dessert. Other items varied. On some nights it was great, others not so much. We opted to eat out 2 out of 4 nights. Only tip here...go as early as possible. Some items don't get refilled and you will end up eating nothing. In addition the staff struggle to keep up with setting tables and you have to hunt for cutlery etc.

Staff spoke little English and cleaning staff I met spoke only Arabic. I must say that there was a friendliness lacking in the hotel in general. We could never find a porter to help with bags as example. The currency exchange guy was not eager to help with smaller notes as 200dh notes are difficult for taxi drivers and shopkeepers to accept.

The garden and pool area was stunning, but most of the city has beautiful gardens.

It was a comfortable stay for what it was. If you need luxury, this place is not for you.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

Hotel clean and comfortable. Our room was very tired looking. New towels to replace the off white ones and new bedding needed. TV old and no remote. Putting that aside we were happy with it. Breakfast was the usual breads, cheeses, eggs, tomatoes, fruit which was perfect. Pool side was kept clean and the attendant was always there to help with beds and clean towels. The bed cushions were stained. Overall it was a nice hotel just needs a bit of an uplift.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yalova,Turkey
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

i stayed at this hotel with a group of friends.The hotel is in a very nice and clean area of Marrakesch surrounded by wide and green boulvards with luxirous hotels.it is within walking distance to the Qutubia (the old city centre) and the new town with fashionable streets.The hotel reception area is quite nice.The room size is OK,but the furnishing is old.The towels did not look very clean.One couple from our group used the towels they brought with them.The TV in the room was not working properly.The breakfast needed more variety.The hotel has a lush and large garden.The staff was very friendly.The hotel needs renovation.
Overall,i would recomend the hotel for short stays where you don't need to spend so much time in the hotel and in the room.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Golden Tulip Farah Marrakech? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Tulip Farah Marrakech

Address: Avenue du President Kennedy, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#138 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#138 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Golden Tulip Farah Marrakech 4*
Number of rooms: 242
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Golden Tulip Farah Marrakech reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Tulip Farah Marrakech Hotel Marrakech
Golden Tulip Marrakech
Hotel Farah
Marrakech Golden Tulip

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden Tulip Farah Marrakech, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.