We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We will not be back!!!!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Tulip Farah Marrakech

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Golden Tulip Farah Marrakech to your Saves list
Golden Tulip Farah Marrakech
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenue du President Kennedy, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #349 of 465 Hotels in Marrakech
Wiltshire
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“We will not be back!!!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Spent 3 nights here but wished it could have been spent somewhere else. The rooms were of adequate size but not particularly clean. One could write ones name on flat surfaces in the dust. The pool area was brilliant. Reception staff extremely helpful. The food - well, not very good. Advised not to drink the orange juice as it is usually watered down and it could result in upset stomachs. Plenty of people seemed to be dropping by the wayside after dining here.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

588 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    205
    185
    93
    50
See reviews for
119
230
30
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

We spent a total of 4 nights at this hotel and was fortunate to stay in a suite, standard room and bungalow during this period. Not because the hotel moved us, but we stayed at the start and end of a tour.

The location is good, but not close to the medina and I def would not call it walking distance in Moroccan weather. The taxi ride from the station cost 80dh and the driver knew the hotel. Reception was efficient and check in went quickly as we had arrived just before a big tour group. Don't expect fluent English speakers in this hotel, we were lucky that the front desk guy was moderately good and together with my broken French we got along.

We got upgraded to a suit the first night as I had booked this privately. It was spacious and offered a lounge area and double vanity as well as a guest toilet. The view was fantastic as well from room 542 looking onto the swimming pool and gardens. The toilet did not flush and aircon was dodgy, but after a long trip we were not complaining.

Second night we booked in with our tour group in a standard room. What a downgrade! It was sufficient but coming from the suite was an adjustment. There was no fridge in this room, but other travelers had one in their standard room. The view was also of a roof....and not much else. If you can afford, upgrade!

At the end of our tour we stayed two nights in the garden bungalows. It's a two level apartment type accommodation nestled in the garden area close to the pool. Stunning location! The bottom floor has two bunk beds doubling as couches, a tv and a shower and toilet. The bar fridge is also downstairs.
The top floor has a full bathroom, king bed, tv and small sitting area. It was very comfortable for my husband and I, especially the two bathrooms! Some people complained about bugs, but there were actually less mosquitoes in the bungalows than the hotel rooms! In fact.....I lie....there were none during our two nights! Ants was our biggest problem in terms of insects, but the cleaning staff sprayed everyday which kept them to a minimum. Location alone says the bungalows are best, and you don't have any rooms above you which means less noise and more privacy.

We were on half board but you can choose full board. Breakfast was continental, barely so in my opinion. Croissants, bread, boiled eggs and cheese was the order of the day. They also served a plain fruit salad and yoghurt if you were lucky to be early enough. Coffee was good though. Dinner varied from day to day in terms of quality and variety. There were always tagine and salads and dessert. Other items varied. On some nights it was great, others not so much. We opted to eat out 2 out of 4 nights. Only tip here...go as early as possible. Some items don't get refilled and you will end up eating nothing. In addition the staff struggle to keep up with setting tables and you have to hunt for cutlery etc.

Staff spoke little English and cleaning staff I met spoke only Arabic. I must say that there was a friendliness lacking in the hotel in general. We could never find a porter to help with bags as example. The currency exchange guy was not eager to help with smaller notes as 200dh notes are difficult for taxi drivers and shopkeepers to accept.

The garden and pool area was stunning, but most of the city has beautiful gardens.

It was a comfortable stay for what it was. If you need luxury, this place is not for you.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

Hotel clean and comfortable. Our room was very tired looking. New towels to replace the off white ones and new bedding needed. TV old and no remote. Putting that aside we were happy with it. Breakfast was the usual breads, cheeses, eggs, tomatoes, fruit which was perfect. Pool side was kept clean and the attendant was always there to help with beds and clean towels. The bed cushions were stained. Overall it was a nice hotel just needs a bit of an uplift.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yalova,Turkey
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

i stayed at this hotel with a group of friends.The hotel is in a very nice and clean area of Marrakesch surrounded by wide and green boulvards with luxirous hotels.it is within walking distance to the Qutubia (the old city centre) and the new town with fashionable streets.The hotel reception area is quite nice.The room size is OK,but the furnishing is old.The towels did not look very clean.One couple from our group used the towels they brought with them.The TV in the room was not working properly.The breakfast needed more variety.The hotel has a lush and large garden.The staff was very friendly.The hotel needs renovation.
Overall,i would recomend the hotel for short stays where you don't need to spend so much time in the hotel and in the room.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

April 2012,my small family and I spent 5 days in golden tulip farah,the price was really little for 5 star hotel like that,service was very good,very clean,breakfast include ,a huge buffet I enjoyed it,everything was perfect :)........

Room Tip: Bungalow was the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We moved to this hotel from a 3* so we could have a pool for last couple of days and somewhere to lounge around and have a drink wish i hadn't. The room was not ready for us and when we did get in there was no water in fridge no towels to have a shower and when i went to reception to ask the lady on reception put her hand up in my face mid way through conversation to answer the phone! The pool area is to small for the amount of guest and is very noisy with children if you want to relax by the pool there is no loungers or if relax in the garden no chance the kids will start playing football around you frequently hitting you with the ball. Breakfast good food but tables were not cleared no plates,bowls, glasses etc had to wait around and snack served in bar with drink were stale and looked mouldy. Also i came on holiday to relax have a long lie but was woken EVERY morning by cleaners coming in to make beds a 9am. I would not go back!

Room Tip: probably a bungalow as children run along corridors waking you early in morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

Good value for money, but far from a luxurious hotel. Cheaper if you book through their website. Nice staff, but typical Moroccan unreliability. Pool is nice, but full of naughty children. They seem to have a good time. Breakfast is tasty and plenty, not too versatile. Air conditioning units are temperamental. Some work fine, others not so. We stayed in a bungalow, downstairs the aircon was fantastic, upstairs was poor. Overall good experience, but do not expect too much to avoid disappointment.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Golden Tulip Farah Marrakech? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Tulip Farah Marrakech

Address: Avenue du President Kennedy, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#142 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#143 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Golden Tulip Farah Marrakech 4*
Number of rooms: 242
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Golden Tulip Farah Marrakech reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Tulip Farah Marrakech Hotel Marrakech
Golden Tulip Marrakech
Hotel Farah
Marrakech Golden Tulip

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden Tulip Farah Marrakech, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.