We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful riad and great Hammam” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Les Couleurs de l'Orient

Save Saved
You added Les Couleurs de l'Orient to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Les Couleurs de l'Orient
22 Derb Lakhdar | Riad Zitoun Lakhdim, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #480 of 1,031 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Varkala, India
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“wonderful riad and great Hammam”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

This place is tucked away in a quiet place in the Medina of Marrakesh, All the staff are very friendly, The rooms are great, its very clean, the Hammam is small and intimate and the girls give a very nice massage. The whole experience is peaceful, good to go after shopping in the souks.

Room Tip: all rooms are quiet, they also have dorms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    29
    15
    5
    2
    2
See reviews for
7
20
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sliema, Malta
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

Nice hostel,very authentic. Breakfast although simple, was lovely. The only thing which made me feel a little bit uncomfortable was that our (private, en suite) room had no lock on it at all. So every time we left our room we had to leave our things inside the room without any sense of security. Otherwise, the location was excellent, the staff were, on the whole, nice. They always prepared a lovely pot of fresh mint tea whenever we sat in the common area which was lovely. One last thing I forgot to mention was that the sheets were quite torn and old. I would recommend this Riad to any one who wants a really authentic experience of Morocco.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
davewavehm, Public Relations Manager at Les Couleurs de l'Orient, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear Jessica,

Sorry for the delay answering your evaluation. I don't want to be negative, but as far as our staff remembers, you choosed not to stay in the room with lockers, but in one of the first floor room with no lock. It seemed to us that it was your choice.

Regarding the cleanliness of the room and sheets, sorry with all our heart if you feeled that. Our Riad manager, Mohamed, is crazy about this and checks sheets and all very often, on top of the job our maids are doing.

I really hope we can offer you a tea again if you pass by. And yes, people visiting us love the authenticity of the riad, that is 200 years old, by the way :)

Cheers from all our team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ourense, Spain
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

I really enjoyed my stay here :) The rooms are so spacious and comfy, and the decoration is perfect! The breakfast is quite good, but the best thing about it is that you can enjoy in the beautiful main patio.
The location is great! It is a stone's through Djema el Fnaa Square :)

As a bad point I would like to say that the owner is quite serious and didn't seem very friendly, but at least he was very efficient.

Oh! And do not order any nail treatment or massage there. They are a rip-off!

Room Tip: The rooms at the ground floor are the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2012

We did not book in advance, a man on the street took us to it, we stayed 4 nights 27th-30th December 2011 and on 7th Jan 2012. It is an old Riad which has signs of ware. This does give it an authentic charm. The room has a double bed and a bunk bed, the rooms are big, with shower and sink. There was a seperate bathroom with showers and a toilet on the same floor. The room had ornate panels in the roof, throw pillows and authentic lights. The rooms have high cellings and large door and windows. There is a central court for chilling and breakfast and access to the terrace roof. We found the staff to be helpful, the breakfast is at a set time and they will not move it for early departures. The breakfast was really good. If you are security minded it is hard here, they gave us a paddlock for the door but the windows dont lock so its fairly pointless, there is a metal cabinet large enough for suitcases which you can lock with the paddlock. The room was clean allthough the water in the shower was not extensive but hot. I lived in Morocco for 3 months and in comparison to most morrocon accomodation in this price range this place is at higher standard than others.

We paid 300dhm per night for the room (between 2 of us that was fine). If I return to Marrakech I would stay here again we thought it was great for the price.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2011

The three of us booked beds in a four-bed dorm. No fourth person ever showed up, so we had a room to ourselves on the first floor overlooking the patio with floods of sunlight and a shower and sink in the room. We actually appreciated that the toilet was separate. The tile work, lanterns, throw pillows, drapery, and elegantly carved wooden table made our room cosy and fun! We were greeted at the Riad with Mint Tea. Breakfast included the same, freshly squeezed orange juice, lots of bread with butter and natural jam. There was no set cut-off time for breakfast, it was simply "when you wake up", which was a definite plus! The center patio is lovely and they have huge table umbrellas for when it rains. There is an awesome balcony where you can sunbathe and have picnics. When we decided to stay a few extra nights, there was no problem at all. Our stay was peaceful and altogether enjoyable. The location is excellent, extremely close to the main square and several museum spots. The staff was friendly and helpful, despite the occasional language barriers (the three of us only had basic French, the staff basic English). And they have a turtle!
Things to consider:
1) Like most riads in the Medina, this one is found in a little dark alleyway. Expect to pay a local to show you the way.
2) This is a very pretty hostel, but it is not luxurious. Just right for students and young people bursting with energy!
3) There was always a slightly dank smell in the room of wet clay (due to the shower, and the fact of it being an older building). We enjoyed the "naturalness" of everything in Marrakesh and simply threw open the windows and curtains letting the fresh air in.
4) Security - there aren't proper locks on the doors and windows, although their are lockers inside the rooms, so be sure to bring little luggage locks and a padlock of your own. That said, we felt perfectly safe in this Riad, without putting aside a general sense of awareness that is necessary at all times in Marrakesh.
5) I can't comment on the spa options because we didn't use them.
6) No computers, just free WiFi that sometimes works and more often doesn't.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vanessaeric, Gérant at Les Couleurs de l'Orient, responded to this review, September 11, 2011
Google Translation
thanks so much regards Vanessa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santander, Spain
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2011

I would highly, highly, recommend this place to anybody looking to enjoy their time in Marrakech, Morocco. This place was exactly perfect for what myself and friends were looking for (cheap, easy, and clean) and we couldn't have better things to say about it. When entering, they sat us down to give us Morocco's amazing mint tea while we signed the paperwork for our stay. This is certainly a hostel and not a luxurious hotel, but our rooms (stayed in an 8 bed room as 5 travelers) were huge and decorated like crazy with cool Moroccan art...the whole place was. For breakfast, I looked down from the second floor to see a table set for us 5 in the center of the hostel. Our breakfast was incredibly good and we were able to ask for seconds just fine if we needed it. I don't like to spoil everything but I definitely recommend this hostel. *Oh I forgot to mention there is a very cool terrace up on the roof where my friends and I hung out late into the night as we looked over the city of Marrakech.

-Terrill Petersen

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2011

The man owner of the Riad tried to cheat us just inmediately after arrival. They gave us an invoice with a different price from our reservation in hostelbookers.com saying that the moroccian currency (dirhams) rates were different from the day of our reservation. Also he added 50€ for a kind of weird Marrakech security tax and also forced us to pay again the 10% that we already paid through hostelbookers.com. After 15 minutes arguing with the owner he finally removed all those extra fees. We noticed later on that other travellers that didn't complain were cheated by the owner and paid the extra fees.

Also we didn't like the hammam. It was said to be "au feux de bois" but it was false because the one heated by wood was a different room so old that they don't use it anymore. Finally we decided to go to a different hammam, because Marrakech is full of them and there are definitely much better and beautiful hammams than the one from le couleurs d'lorient.

Bathrooms were also very bad, showers broken during the week we stayed in the riad :(

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vanessaeric, Gérant at Les Couleurs de l'Orient, responded to this review, September 8, 2011
Hello Sir, I remember very well of you, you refused to pay the royal taxe (which is indicated when you make your reservation !!!!!! hostel booker). For information we have settled the tax for you because if we had complained to the authorities if you would have stopped those customs, so instead of crying THIEF, say THANKS.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Les Couleurs de l'Orient? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Couleurs de l'Orient

Also Known As:
Les Couleurs De l`Orient Hotel
Les Couleurs De l`Orient Hotel Marrakech
Address: 22 Derb Lakhdar | Riad Zitoun Lakhdim, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #480 of 1,031 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Colors de l'Orientt", authentic Riad, opens its doors on an original and rare place in the Marrakech Medina. This traditional house, full of flavors, scents and diversity of Morocco is an invitation to travel between the heptic Jemaa El Fna and calm bewitching Derb where lies the Riad. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Budget Places and HostelBookers so you can book your Les Couleurs de l'Orient reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Les Couleurs de l'Orient, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.