We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing time in Marrakech” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Les Couleurs de l'Orient

Save Saved
You added Les Couleurs de l'Orient to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Les Couleurs de l'Orient
22 Derb Lakhdar | Riad Zitoun Lakhdim, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #476 of 1,041 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Santander, Spain
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing time in Marrakech”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2011

I would highly, highly, recommend this place to anybody looking to enjoy their time in Marrakech, Morocco. This place was exactly perfect for what myself and friends were looking for (cheap, easy, and clean) and we couldn't have better things to say about it. When entering, they sat us down to give us Morocco's amazing mint tea while we signed the paperwork for our stay. This is certainly a hostel and not a luxurious hotel, but our rooms (stayed in an 8 bed room as 5 travelers) were huge and decorated like crazy with cool Moroccan art...the whole place was. For breakfast, I looked down from the second floor to see a table set for us 5 in the center of the hostel. Our breakfast was incredibly good and we were able to ask for seconds just fine if we needed it. I don't like to spoil everything but I definitely recommend this hostel. *Oh I forgot to mention there is a very cool terrace up on the roof where my friends and I hung out late into the night as we looked over the city of Marrakech.

-Terrill Petersen

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    32
    15
    5
    2
    2
See reviews for
8
20
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2011

The man owner of the Riad tried to cheat us just inmediately after arrival. They gave us an invoice with a different price from our reservation in hostelbookers.com saying that the moroccian currency (dirhams) rates were different from the day of our reservation. Also he added 50€ for a kind of weird Marrakech security tax and also forced us to pay again the 10% that we already paid through hostelbookers.com. After 15 minutes arguing with the owner he finally removed all those extra fees. We noticed later on that other travellers that didn't complain were cheated by the owner and paid the extra fees.

Also we didn't like the hammam. It was said to be "au feux de bois" but it was false because the one heated by wood was a different room so old that they don't use it anymore. Finally we decided to go to a different hammam, because Marrakech is full of them and there are definitely much better and beautiful hammams than the one from le couleurs d'lorient.

Bathrooms were also very bad, showers broken during the week we stayed in the riad :(

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vanessaeric, Gérant at Les Couleurs de l'Orient, responded to this review, September 8, 2011
Hello Sir, I remember very well of you, you refused to pay the royal taxe (which is indicated when you make your reservation !!!!!! hostel booker). For information we have settled the tax for you because if we had complained to the authorities if you would have stopped those customs, so instead of crying THIEF, say THANKS.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Island of Malta, Malta
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2010

This Riad in the heart of the Medina is really charming, pity though about the management. I had booked an ensuit and was given a bedroom with a bathroom on the same floor but not ensuit, which ended up being used by everyone. when i complained i just got a shrug from the manager. the shower did not work well, and although the rooms downstairs by the courtyard are very nice, people chatting in the courtyard at nite can be very noisey.
if you're leaving early to go for a trip, there is no way you ll get some breakfast as it is served after 8.30.
Management and service leave a lot to be expected.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vanessaeric, Gérant at Les Couleurs de l'Orient, responded to this review, September 8, 2011
Thank you for all the information that allowed us to see that we had a problem with our manager, which has since been replaced, sorry for all its problems
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Les Couleurs de l'Orient? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Couleurs de l'Orient

Address: 22 Derb Lakhdar | Riad Zitoun Lakhdim, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #476 of 1,041 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Colors de l'Orientt", authentic Riad, opens its doors on an original and rare place in the Marrakech Medina. This traditional house, full of flavors, scents and diversity of Morocco is an invitation to travel between the heptic Jemaa El Fna and calm bewitching Derb where lies the Riad. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Budget Places, Priceline and HostelBookers so you can book your Les Couleurs de l'Orient reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Les Couleurs De l`Orient Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Les Couleurs de l'Orient, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.