We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel, peaceful location just outside the city” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ryad Mogador Opera Hotel

Save Saved
You added Ryad Mogador Opera Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ryad Mogador Opera Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Av Mohammed VI | Av Mohammed VI Marrakech Morocco, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #354 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel, peaceful location just outside the city”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

We spent three nights in this hotel on mini holiday witfh my boyfriend. Room was spacious, beautiful with marble floors and bathroom, clean and had amazing view over the city from our French balcony. Night time it was a bit cold, as in December, but blankets were warm.
We had half board breakfast being good and big enough. Dinner was slightly repetitive but food was still good and fresh.
When entering the hotel we got impressed of the huge, five floors high chandelier in the middle of the lobby where stair case has opening up to the fifth floor.
Location was good, hop in-hop off tourist bus stop just outside the hotel and just about 10 minutes drive from the main square and Menara gardens full of olive trees just close by. There is also a big super market about 10 minutes walk away if you want to skip souk markets and buy spices and tea without haggling of the price. And a pharmacy half-way to the super market if you get a cold as we did on the last day of our visit.

Room Tip: Try to get room on the higher floors on the opera house side for a nice view over the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    35
    82
    72
    23
    24
See reviews for
34
88
14
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

We spent two nights here prior to travelling to the south-east of Morocco and the Sahara, so it was convenient. It is quite close to the airport and close enough to visit the city centre, but we would stay nearer the centre and at a better quality hotel if visiting for longer. Our room was large and quite comfortable, although we overlooked the main street. Yes, it was noisy, but it did allow us to watch people come and go about their business; good double-glazing prevented noise at night. Service was rather perfunctory, some being helpful, but most seemed rather bored with the whole process of running a hotel. We did eat at the hotel - a mistake. The restaurant was a large, bleak room with a buffet. Cold starters were indifferent, apart from a lovely aubergine dish, and the main courses overcooked and tough, having sat around for rather too long. Very sweet puddings were interesting. Breakfast was a disaster area - boring cereals, processed meats, strange-looking scrambled eggs and hard-boiled eggs. Even the coffee was not very nice. We made no use of the limited facilities. It was OK for a short time, but we would not stay there again.

Room Tip: If you must stay, get a room overlooking the swimming pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We were greeted warmly and shown to a comfortable room. The air conditioning was off and even after 2 days the room never became cool even though the control was set as low as it would go. This made sleeping difficult. We got massages in the spa and they were well done and reasonably priced. The dinner meal that was part of the package was disappointing. Had heard about the explosion of taste in Moroccan food but this was boring and seemed to have been "westernized" for tour groups. Also had to pay extra for water with the meal. Breakfast was a little better with a good selection of pastry and juices.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Namur, Belgium
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Personally if you are in Marrakech you should try to find a traditional Ryad in the city centre but not this kind of "tourist" international hotel in fact....

If you really want a top class hotel this is not for you choose rather the Plaza next door which is real 4 star hotel....

Mogador opera hotel breakfast is really poor, building is only nice at the pool or in the lobby but not really in the rooms....if you check the "finitions" on walls and plumbing you will be very disappointed....TV is no flat screen and there is mist on the screen for all channels....

Towels are clean and numerous, room is clean but if you dig into details this is NO 3 star hotel....I did not eat there and went to Djemaa el Fnaa square where it is touristic but also typical...check tables were moroccan eat and you will not be disappointed, try the snails in pepper soup too....

Room Tip: I had room 105 spacious but not the best I think although I did not see the other rooms.....Would no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

The room was good. The pool was nice but often the loungers were full. We didnt eat in the hotel. The customer service from start to finish was awful. The girl on reception was rude. The pool boy ignored everyone. At one point a lady was moving her lounger and her things nearly tipped into the pool. He didnt move an inch to help. It was 40 degrees and there was no drinks on offer. I had to ask at reception for a coke. I was sent into the restaurant. I had to sit and wait for someone to come out. It wasnt service with a smile. I was given and can and straw.
Hotel is a long walk to the square but very close to Macdonalds and the train station.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

We stayed at this property as part of our 5 night tour so it wasn't our choice. The room was fine. Just your basic hotel room and nothing special. Our toilet was dripping when we arrived and no one ever came to fix it.

The outside pool was nice to cool off in after the hot days in the city. We called down to ask about towels for the pool and were told they were out at the pool area but they weren't and we had to make two trips in to finally get someone to find them for us.

Dinner in the hotel was awful. It was served buffet style and everything was over cooked and cold. Our second night we didn't stay at the hotel for dinner - but went out to find a restaurant instead.

The front desk staff was not helpful - in particular Mlle Karima. She seemed annoyed to be asked questions and when we asked for a restaurant suggestion she wouldn't tell us anything. Likewise the staff in the dining room were also unfriendly and basically ignored us.

The hotel was fine for our purposes - a little far away from the main square but we did enjoy a horse and carriage ride back from the square the evening we went there.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

We booked this hotel due to its location next to Marrakech train station. It is handily located for this but it is quite a trek 2 get to the medina. This is an average hotel which claims to be something better than it is. The customer service was appalling in every way. The receptionist was rude, the pool aid was reluctant to get towels & the breakfast staff were lazy. The breakfast was the worst we had in Morocco (& we stayed in some budget hotels). It is a buffet style breakfast but everything was stale, the bread, the cereal & the pastries. The juice was just squash & the jugs of hot water for tea had obviously been sat there from the beginning of service as they were no longer hot. There were plenty of staff to assist at breakfast, although none of them could be bothered 2 help. The room was ok, large & nicely decorated & had a shower & bath. Although the bath had no plug & the shower went from freezing to burning in seconds. The pool is also depressing as it is small & overlooked, boxed in by the walls of the hotel. Overall, this place was adequate for a night but it's nothing special & I would not want to pay full price or spend more than a couple of nights here.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ryad Mogador Opera Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ryad Mogador Opera Hotel

Address: Av Mohammed VI | Av Mohammed VI Marrakech Morocco, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#139 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#143 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ryad Mogador Opera Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelBookers, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Ryad Mogador Opera Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ryad Mogador Opera Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ryad Mogador Opera Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;