We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but a bit impersonal” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ryad Mogador Opera Hotel

Save Saved
You added Ryad Mogador Opera Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ryad Mogador Opera Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Av Mohammed VI | Av Mohammed VI Marrakech Morocco, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #353 of 460 hotels in Marrakech
Oxford
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Good but a bit impersonal”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Stayed for 4 nights in Feb. Had a good time and the hotel was OK. It is in a relatively good position - less than £2 to get into the centre by taxi (every other car seems to be a taxi, so not hard to get one), and in retrospect we were pleased to escape the manic centre at night. Rooms are big and the outdoor pool is nice, but too cold to swim in when we were there. I tried and lasted less than a length. Shame you cannot use the indoor pool and sauna without paying (£10 or so) - my one real gripe. Gym was OK.

Room Tip: Noisy if you look out onto the main road/.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
khadija o, Public Relations Manager at Ryad Mogador Opera Hotel, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and taking time to post your comment.
We reviewed your comment regarding your stay with us at ryad Mogador opera. We do take all comments seriously and really appreciate in details all the feedback we can get. I am saddened to see that you feel that your stay was not satisfactory . about the Sona as far as I know is cheap you can t grumbling on the price cause when you was booking you just pay the room and the meal not the souna
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
sincerley
ELMOURABITI KHADIJA
Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    37
    90
    75
    24
    25
See reviews for
34
87
14
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stamford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Really enjoyed mid Feb 2013 stay here with partner and another couple. Staff courteous and helpful. rooms nice, good size and very clean, breakfast adequate.Used to staying in 4 star, would describe this hotel as very good 3 star as a bit faded. Didn't use pool as weather still a bit cool but looked good from our room balcony. Amazing chandalier down centre of hotel. Nice lobby to sit in, Cafe downstairs good for sitting and watching world go by, Mohamed (according to him only one legged taxi driver in Marrakech!) waits outside this hotel in Grand yellow Mercedies is very helpful not pushy and doesn't overcharge. Lovley guy, miss him already! Go to the Atlas Mountains with him for a fantastic day out. Would recomend this hotel and Mohamed. Would stay here again,.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
khadija o, Guest Relations Manager at Ryad Mogador Opera Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear gill
Iwe would like to thank you for having chosen ryad Mogador opera Marrakech for your stay .There are a lot of choices around the World and in Marrakech to spend your vacation and we are glad you chose us.
We are happy to know that you enjoyed your time during your stay. We also thank you for the positive review of our hotel. We share all the feedback with the management and staff and such feedbacks help in staff motivation and recognition.
We hope to see you again in the near future.
Sincerely,
ELMOURABITI KHADIJA
PUBLIC RELATIONS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Hotel is beautiful.

It's located in the new town right next to the Gare de Marrakesh (train station) with a handful of cafes/restaurants etc. The tourist bus stops right outside. We got a 2 day pass (170 dhs) which would let us get and off throughout the city.

The interior of the hotel is just wonderful and you are greeted by a ceiling to floor length chandelier. I loved the pretty design on the doors. The rooms were lovely - beds, floor and bathroom very clean.

The breakfast was served from 6.30-10.30 and gave a good selection.

Staff were very friendly.

I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
khadija o, Guest Relations Manager at Ryad Mogador Opera Hotel, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
dear sara
Thank you for choosing Ryad Mogador Opera and Spa on your visit to Marrakech. We are happy to know that you enjoyed your time during your stay. We also thank you for the positive review of our hotel. We share all the feedback with the management and staff and such feedbacks help in staff motivation and recognition.
I am looking forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you again
sincerly
Miss.khadija Elmourabiti
Guest Relation
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

The hotel is right next to the station and we took a train to Casablanca for a day put. The hotel reception were very helpful and always cheerful. The rooms were basic but very clean. The rooms were made up every day with clean towels. Breakfast was continental and adequate. The bread was always fresh and very good. Would definitely recommend this hotel for a short break in Marrakech. The hotel is in a good location to get wherever you want to get to.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
khadija o, Guest Relations Manager at Ryad Mogador Opera Hotel, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
dear gerry
Thank you for your nice review of our hotel and your kind words. I am pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay so much and we hope to be able to welcome you again in the very near future. We have shared your comments with everybody at our recent staff meeting and it made us all very proud.
Again, thank you for the comments which will help us in our ongoing efforts to improve our service.

Sincerely.
Miss.khadija ELMOURABITI
Guest Relation
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is located right next to the main train station which is a good place to instruct taxi drivers to. Walking to and from the Medina takes 20-30 minutes.

Room fine, typical European 3 star room rather than the 4 it is locally rated as. Requested a double room which for us consisted of two single beds pushed together. Room very clean but ants on the table at breakfast so marked down accordingly. Gym small with six pieces of equipment which you plug in as you want to use.

We booked a package from the UK to include flights, B&B and a half day city tour. We were told to meet the local agent at 09:00 on the first morning. When my partner asked at 09:30 whether he was coming he was shooed away by the female Receptionist with a wave of the hand and a 'yes, yes'. At 10:00 I asked that we call the agent, Medari. When I spoke with him he told me he had come to the hotel at 08:45 and told the Receptionist there was an emergency he had to attend to at the airport and if we wanted anything we should call him. I asked that we make arrangements for the tour and he said we'd be collected at 14:00. When I finished the call I asked the Receptionist if he had been into the hotel that morning already to which I received a curt 'yes'. I then asked her whether a message had been left for us and she repeated what the agent had just told me on the phone. Incredible. So she had watched us waiting infront of her for an hour and said nothing!

We returned from the Medina at 14:00 for the tour. No show. Waited until 15:00 and couldn't get hold of the agent, Medari. Eventually spoke to him that evening when he professed shock at the non-arrival. Rebooked for Sunday at 09:00. It is now 09:59 on Sunday morning and still no show. Have tried calling Medari many many times and no answer although at other times the line is engaged. Unfortunately for us it is the same female Receptionist who is on duty this morning and all I get from her is big huffs and sighs. She will look past me to serve anyone else before coming to me, the number for the phone has to be dialled from her side of the counter and it's as if you've asked her for the moon if you ask her to redial.

The other reception staff and bell boys couldn't be nicer. This hotel is seriously let down by this one member of staff and the agent, Medari. Hold no hope if you have to liaise with either!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
khadija o, Guest Relations Manager at Ryad Mogador Opera Hotel, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and taking time to post your comments.

We reviewed your comments regarding your stay with us at Ryad Mogador Opera. We do take all comments seriously and really appreciate in details all the feedback we can get. We really apologise for the misunderstanding with problems you had encountered.
Your comment is very important to us and we will make sure to share it with our teams.
Again, thank you for the comments which will help us in our ongoing efforts to improve our service
sincerly
Miss.khadija ELMOURABITI
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

I stayed here in April 2012 with 2 other family members, booking 2 rooms. The receptionists downstairs were friendly and were able to check us in straight away unlike some of the larger 5 star hotels in marrakech. The good points of this hotel is it is good value for money as we managed to book 2 rooms for a good price. The rooms are very clean and was welcomed with a plate of Moroccan sweets/pastries and complimentary water which was a very nice touch. However there were no complimentary toiletries included unlike other hotels. The location i found was excellent for us as we were looking for a hotel in the modern part of town away from the medina and main square but close enough to walk to (about 20-25 mins walk away or short taxi ride). There are good restaurants within walking distance. On the downside since the hotel is on the main road this could be very noisy at times. The breakfast was not good and the tv in the rooms have poor signal. The rooms are large and clean however 1 of the rooms we booked had a smell of the sewers in the bathroom. The housekeeping cannot speak english so was difficult asking for anything we needed. However the language barrier should not be mistaken for rudeness as the housekeepers were very polite. This hotel is good for people who are looking for a clean place to rest their head. Good for the price and traditional Moroccan decor.

Room Tip: Look out for the cars while crossing the road as the roads are crazy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
khadija o, Guest Relations Manager at Ryad Mogador Opera Hotel, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a comment about your experience at Ryad Mogador Opera. We are delighted to read that you appreciated the service, the food .
We apologies for the smell in the bathroom
When you will return you'll find many of the changes for the breakfast&signal
We hope to see you again on your next visit to Marrakech.
Sincerely,
Miss.khadija ELMOURABITI
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Also booked though travelzoo,no complaints whatsoever. Brilliant location, superb staff, ok food, restaurant manager very attentive, reception staff very helpful, even if they look unapproachable. Everything in walking distance, but nice to do the redbus tour to seethe city and get your bearings. Then you will realise how near everything is. Definately advise get the number 19 bus right outside the airport, it costs 50 dirram for return trip and the bus driver will drop you right outside your hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
khadija o, Guest Relations Manager at Ryad Mogador Opera Hotel, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Whole team of Ryad mogador opera thanks you for your comments following your stay .
thank you for your comment after your stay at theR yad mogador opera.
opera staff are willing to offer you the best service quality for your stay; therefore your opinion is very valuable for us.
We thank you again for your comment and hope to welcoming you very soon in ryad mogador opera
Accept, Sir, the assurance of our best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ryad Mogador Opera Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ryad Mogador Opera Hotel

Address: Av Mohammed VI | Av Mohammed VI Marrakech Morocco, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#134 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#140 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ryad Mogador Opera Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelBookers and Venere so you can book your Ryad Mogador Opera Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ryad Mogador Opera Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ryad Mogador Opera Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.