We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel for a few days break” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ryad Mogador Opera Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Ryad Mogador Opera Hotel to your Saves list
Ryad Mogador Opera Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Av Mohammed VI | Av Mohammed VI Marrakech Morocco, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Free room upgrade
Ranked #352 of 462 Hotels in Marrakech
Essex
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Very good hotel for a few days break”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

The hotel is right next to the station and we took a train to Casablanca for a day put. The hotel reception were very helpful and always cheerful. The rooms were basic but very clean. The rooms were made up every day with clean towels. Breakfast was continental and adequate. The bread was always fresh and very good. Would definitely recommend this hotel for a short break in Marrakech. The hotel is in a good location to get wherever you want to get to.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
khadija o, Guest Relations Manager at Ryad Mogador Opera Hotel, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
dear gerry
Thank you for your nice review of our hotel and your kind words. I am pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay so much and we hope to be able to welcome you again in the very near future. We have shared your comments with everybody at our recent staff meeting and it made us all very proud.
Again, thank you for the comments which will help us in our ongoing efforts to improve our service.

Sincerely.
Miss.khadija ELMOURABITI
Guest Relation
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    84
    79
    26
    26
See reviews for
38
95
16
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is located right next to the main train station which is a good place to instruct taxi drivers to. Walking to and from the Medina takes 20-30 minutes.

Room fine, typical European 3 star room rather than the 4 it is locally rated as. Requested a double room which for us consisted of two single beds pushed together. Room very clean but ants on the table at breakfast so marked down accordingly. Gym small with six pieces of equipment which you plug in as you want to use.

We booked a package from the UK to include flights, B&B and a half day city tour. We were told to meet the local agent at 09:00 on the first morning. When my partner asked at 09:30 whether he was coming he was shooed away by the female Receptionist with a wave of the hand and a 'yes, yes'. At 10:00 I asked that we call the agent, Medari. When I spoke with him he told me he had come to the hotel at 08:45 and told the Receptionist there was an emergency he had to attend to at the airport and if we wanted anything we should call him. I asked that we make arrangements for the tour and he said we'd be collected at 14:00. When I finished the call I asked the Receptionist if he had been into the hotel that morning already to which I received a curt 'yes'. I then asked her whether a message had been left for us and she repeated what the agent had just told me on the phone. Incredible. So she had watched us waiting infront of her for an hour and said nothing!

We returned from the Medina at 14:00 for the tour. No show. Waited until 15:00 and couldn't get hold of the agent, Medari. Eventually spoke to him that evening when he professed shock at the non-arrival. Rebooked for Sunday at 09:00. It is now 09:59 on Sunday morning and still no show. Have tried calling Medari many many times and no answer although at other times the line is engaged. Unfortunately for us it is the same female Receptionist who is on duty this morning and all I get from her is big huffs and sighs. She will look past me to serve anyone else before coming to me, the number for the phone has to be dialled from her side of the counter and it's as if you've asked her for the moon if you ask her to redial.

The other reception staff and bell boys couldn't be nicer. This hotel is seriously let down by this one member of staff and the agent, Medari. Hold no hope if you have to liaise with either!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
khadija o, Guest Relations Manager at Ryad Mogador Opera Hotel, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and taking time to post your comments.

We reviewed your comments regarding your stay with us at Ryad Mogador Opera. We do take all comments seriously and really appreciate in details all the feedback we can get. We really apologise for the misunderstanding with problems you had encountered.
Your comment is very important to us and we will make sure to share it with our teams.
Again, thank you for the comments which will help us in our ongoing efforts to improve our service
sincerly
Miss.khadija ELMOURABITI
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

I stayed here in April 2012 with 2 other family members, booking 2 rooms. The receptionists downstairs were friendly and were able to check us in straight away unlike some of the larger 5 star hotels in marrakech. The good points of this hotel is it is good value for money as we managed to book 2 rooms for a good price. The rooms are very clean and was welcomed with a plate of Moroccan sweets/pastries and complimentary water which was a very nice touch. However there were no complimentary toiletries included unlike other hotels. The location i found was excellent for us as we were looking for a hotel in the modern part of town away from the medina and main square but close enough to walk to (about 20-25 mins walk away or short taxi ride). There are good restaurants within walking distance. On the downside since the hotel is on the main road this could be very noisy at times. The breakfast was not good and the tv in the rooms have poor signal. The rooms are large and clean however 1 of the rooms we booked had a smell of the sewers in the bathroom. The housekeeping cannot speak english so was difficult asking for anything we needed. However the language barrier should not be mistaken for rudeness as the housekeepers were very polite. This hotel is good for people who are looking for a clean place to rest their head. Good for the price and traditional Moroccan decor.

Room Tip: Look out for the cars while crossing the road as the roads are crazy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
khadija o, Guest Relations Manager at Ryad Mogador Opera Hotel, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a comment about your experience at Ryad Mogador Opera. We are delighted to read that you appreciated the service, the food .
We apologies for the smell in the bathroom
When you will return you'll find many of the changes for the breakfast&signal
We hope to see you again on your next visit to Marrakech.
Sincerely,
Miss.khadija ELMOURABITI
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Also booked though travelzoo,no complaints whatsoever. Brilliant location, superb staff, ok food, restaurant manager very attentive, reception staff very helpful, even if they look unapproachable. Everything in walking distance, but nice to do the redbus tour to seethe city and get your bearings. Then you will realise how near everything is. Definately advise get the number 19 bus right outside the airport, it costs 50 dirram for return trip and the bus driver will drop you right outside your hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
khadija o, Guest Relations Manager at Ryad Mogador Opera Hotel, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Whole team of Ryad mogador opera thanks you for your comments following your stay .
thank you for your comment after your stay at theR yad mogador opera.
opera staff are willing to offer you the best service quality for your stay; therefore your opinion is very valuable for us.
We thank you again for your comment and hope to welcoming you very soon in ryad mogador opera
Accept, Sir, the assurance of our best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Stayed here with a friend from 8th-12th Jan 2013. We booked as part of a Travelzoo deal but I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel to someone booking themselves. Staff were extremely professional, courteous and helpful. We had a room at the back of the hotel, which was fine. The room was big, light, with a balcony overlooking the pool. Kept very clean by the maids. The only thing missing was a kettle but that's such a minor thing! The rooms have TV, you can often still connect to the lobby wi-fi (we were on the fourth floor and managed), there is a fridge, hairdryer...
The location is good. It is in the newer part of Marrakesh but we often walked into the medina, or jumped in a taxi (you can easily barter them down to 15 dirhams). One tip is not to tell them you want to go to the hotel (as they will think you have money!) but to the train station, which is pretty much next door.
Great breakfast with lots of choice. Even as a vegan I was able to get bread, jam, juice, fruit, salads...
Lots of lovely cafes nearby to sit and people watch and enjoy a coffee or traditional mint tea.
I would definitely stay here again if I returned to Marrakesh.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
khadija o, Public Relations Manager at Ryad Mogador Opera Hotel, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Thank you for sharing your comments on Tripadvisor,
It was a real pleasure to welcome you at the Ryad mogador opera ; and we are thrilled that you enjoyed staying with us.
We would like to thank you for these wonderful comments.
We are looking forward to welcome you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

I have just returned from a short break 8th Jan - 12th Jan. This break was booked via Travelzoo and I was a little apprehensive prior to departing, as I had some very negative reviews on here. However, I can honestly say that there was absolutely no need to be apprehensive at all. The hotel was great, the staff were very helpful, polite and welcoming at all times. The room was fine, it had everything we needed...well maybe a kettle would have completed it.
The hotel and our room was very clean and the cleaners need to be commended as they were very thorough in their cleaning of our room.
The location was great, not completeley in the centre but not too far from the hustle and bustle. The medina was a short taxi ride away and cost 20MDH each way (30 MDH during the evening) or you could walk and it would take about 20 mins.
The train station was very near to the hotel and had McDonalds, KFC and other restaurants within the station, which we found very handy. There are also lots of coffee shops and eating places nearby that are quite trendy. There is a bowling alley in between the hotel and the train station.
All I can say is this hotel and location was great and I would definately stay here again. It was amazing value for money.

Room Tip: Our room was facing the main road and we were happy with this as we like to people watch. The noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
khadija o, Guest Relations Manager at Ryad Mogador Opera Hotel, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear Mister yousef
Following your stay at our hotel, you were kind enough to share your experience and we would like to thank you. Your comments are extremely important, as they provide a motive for a continuous improvement.
I am looking forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you again
with sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nomansland, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
153 helpful votes 153 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

This was booked as part of a Groupon deal, for 3 nights, bed breakfast, and evening meal.

Location

The hotel is about 10 mins (if that) from the airport and cost us 150 MDH (approx £11). This was probably too much but a bus for 4 of us would have totalled 120 MDH.

Jemaa el Fna (the main square with food stalls, street entertainment, souks, restaurants etc) was under 10 minutes away and we paid 50 MDH (£3.70)

Within a 5 minute walk is a small selection of restaurants, coffee shop, shops, pharmacy McDonalds

Hotel

Reception very welcoming, colourful, organised and clean. Staff very friendly and helpful. Check in in very swift and bellhop very efficient.

Our party had 2 rooms - one on the road side (210), with mountains in distance, the other (209) on the court yard style pool side. The roadside can be noisy so if you really hate traffic, ask for an inside pool view in advance by email

Both rooms were very clean, with twin beds, air con, ample wardrobe space, dressing table, coffee table, a chair, comfortable beds, uncomfortable pillows and good lighting.

Th soft furnishings were neutral in colour and clean.

The bathroom had a bath, with half height shower and no plug (Moroccans don't bath like westerners), hair dryer, bidet and loo, hot water plentiful, towels clean as was the bathroom.

Food

Buffet style breakfast including local food, meats, fruit, orange juice, croissants, eggs,, sweet bread etc

Dinner was 3 courses set menu, I dont know i there was another menu for people without dinner included.

Starters were typically varieties of - a soup, vegetarian option, salads
Main courses again different variants of - chicken, beef, vegetarian and fish
Dessert - fruit, gateaus or a tart
Bread was plentiful and offered throughout the meal, no drinks were not included with dinner but were not extortionate for a hotel. £ 5.00 for 2 cokes and a large bottled water.
On our 3rd night it was a buffet, not set menu and had chicken, beef, vegetarian, fish, rice, pasta, vegetables, salad, cheese, desserts - all sorts.
The food was not excessive in spices, the sauces the meat came in were suitable for most people. It was an average meal, not spectacular but good.
Service was quick and friendly.

Staff

All excellent, friendly. helpful and accommodating with requests. Doorman, bellhop receptionists, maids, waiters and chef - were all very pleasant.

Facilities

We did not use the spa or pool.

This trip cost us £169 pp with flights. That is a bargain for what we had. I would have considered it a bargain for £300 to be honest considering we were well fed and in a good location.

Room Tip: We had room 210, roadside with no balcony and 209 pool view with balcony and we had no complaints ab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
khadija o, Guest Relations Manager at Ryad Mogador Opera Hotel, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear guest
Thank you for your nice review of ourHotel Ryad Mogador Opera, staff and accommodations. We are very proud to have such a nice resort with amazing staff that is working hard every day to create lasting memories for our guests.
Thank you again for your review and we hope to have you come back in the very near future
sincerley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ryad Mogador Opera Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ryad Mogador Opera Hotel

Address: Av Mohammed VI | Av Mohammed VI Marrakech Morocco, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#141 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#142 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ryad Mogador Opera Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located opposite Marrakech Train Station, the Ryad Mogador Opera is near the Royal Theatre. This hotel has outdoor swimming pools and a spa with a heated indoor pool, sauna and a traditional Hammam. Ryad's air-conditioned rooms are equipped with satellite TV and a private bathroom. Free Wi-Fi in the public areas and free parking are available. Ryad Mogador Opera has 2 restaurants, Le Bahia and Le Badii, that serve traditional Moroccan and international cuisine. Guests can also relax in Ryad's tea room. Services on offer include meeting facilities, hairdressing salon, baby-sitting, currency exchange and car rental. The hotel is easily accessible from the Marrakech Menara Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Venere, HostelBookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Ryad Mogador Opera Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ryad Mogador Opera Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ryad Mogador Opera Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.