We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ryad Mogador Opera Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Ryad Mogador Opera Hotel to your Saves list
Ryad Mogador Opera Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Av Mohammed VI | Av Mohammed VI Marrakech Morocco, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #372 of 480 Hotels in Marrakech
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good value for money”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2011

The hotel is located 15 minutes walking distance from the main restaurants and shops of Gueliz, and 35min walking distance from the main square of Medina. The room was spacious, clean and fully equipped (aircon, minifridge, TV, etc.). The pool was nice and clean but very cold. The hotel is okay but it needs some maintenance. Should be rated 3 stars instead of 4.

Regarding the city, visit Bahia Palace, Medersa Ben Youssef and Marrakesh Musseum; try the horse carriage, ride a camel outside the city, loved the food at restaurants next to the Jemaa el Fna; visit the souks and get a bargain playing their game trying to decrease the price as low as possible... you'll love it!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    99
    97
    33
    29
See reviews for
49
109
21
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
glasgow
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

Was a bit wary due to some dodgy reviews, My wife and I had originally booked the mogador gueliz but on arrival we were met by the rep who told us it was shut and we would be given alternative accomodation. After some initial worrying we were please with the hotel. It is listed as a four star hotel, which is obviously graded using the morrocan grading system, 3 stars is probably more accurate. The hotel in general was clean but could probably do with a spruce up. The pool was nice and clean and well maintained as were the resteraunt and outside area. The actual rooms were in good order and the aircon " which you really need " worked well. Most of the staff werent very fluent in english and if you speak french you will find this of great value. Breakfast was very Moroccan with cold meat, tomatoes and various breads being order of the day.

Tips on Marrakesh:

Do visit the square and souks but dont over do it as it is quite exhausting.
Dont take the pushyness of the locals personally, remember they have an entirely different culture.
Dont let the henna tattoo ladies take your hand as they will draw on it without asking and you will then have to either go home with a daft black mark on your hand or pay them to finish it.
Do eat in the square in the evening, loads of tasty local food at approx 70 dirhams each ( £6)
Be strong as the locals will chance it . We were asked for anything between 30 dirhams and 100 dirhams for a taxi ride.
Do go to the tanneries but again be strong as they will try to strongarm you into buying things you dont want.
Do go on an organised trip to the Atlas mountains, see the market (Mondays), and visit a Berber house.
Do go to chez Ali's for a traditional moroccan evening and meal.
Do go for a hammam and massage
Dont make eye contact if your not interested as you may end up with dancing men wanting paid for a photo or a monkey on your shoulder.
Do try fresh orange in the square about 30 p per half pint
Dont bare to much cleavage, remember this is a muslim country.
Do stop of at cafe france in the square for a rest and a coffee and spend a while watching the world go by

One of the biggest problems we had was our inability to assess how much we should be paying for something, after a week we came to the following conclusions:

Taxi ( most places in city ) 30 dirhams during day 50 during night
Calleche ( horse drawn carriage ) 120 dirhams
Traditional moroccan gown (forgotton name ) 70 dirhams
Leather Moroccan slippers 100 dirhams

DONT BE INTIMIDATED Marrakech offers a fantastic opportunity to experience a very colourfull and culturally different way of life. For many a 4 day break may be enough, dont book a fortnight.
An excellent and romantic destination for couples, probably too much for kids and too tiring for over 60's

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

Rooms came fully equipped with a drudge and air con. Beds amazingly comfortable. Staff very friendly and helpful. Pool was clean and in a nice little sun trap. We didn't try the food apart from breakfast which was basic but fresh

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skarnes
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2011

The hotel is situated 20 minutes walking distance from the market and kasbahs, which was ok by us. We lived in the quiet part of town, and we also like to walk.

Our room was spacious, but not very much more than you should expect of a four star hotel. The bathroom was clean and held a decent standard.

The breakfast was pretty awful. A couple of toasts, and we had to eat jam or ham. That was all they had to offer...

But the great think about the hotel, was the spa. We got massages, went in the pool a couple of times, and got a nice bodyscrub. Definitly worth the money!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2011

We were here for five days and were happy with our experience. The staff were friendly and spoke excellent English, and the room was of an excellent size and very clean. The breakfast was decent enough and of a better quality than those of other places where we stayed. The air conditioning disappointed as it did not make the room as cool as we would have liked, but at least it worked, something we cannot say about some other places we stayed in Morocco. The location was fairly good - some good attractions nearby and right next to the main Marrakech train station, which was particularly helpful for us as we had to catch a train to Fez at the end of our stay. The price was pretty good, possibly because we booked very early. The pool was of a decent size and offered plenty of umbrellas and shady areas. If you're looking for somewhere pleasant but not totally luxurious, this would be a very good bet.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2011

I stayed here with my wife from June 9th - 14th 2011 on holiday. I contacted the hotel 6 months before our visit when we booked the package holiday through Easyjet and requested an pool side view room and our requests were met. They were very friendly staff, most of the spoke English but it was mainly French they spoke (because of Morroco's French connection).

We had an excellent stay, very clean throughout, clean towels provided daily, even access to a safe (free of charge). Breakfast was good, a variety of hot drinks, bread, freshly made pan cakes, juices, scrumbled eggs and hard boils, salami, cereals and lots more.

The pool closes at sunset but they were more than happy to leave it open with pool lighting as long as you keep the noise down. The caretaker was suggested one night on allowing me and my wife go for a dip after dark because my wife wears hijab (Muslim headscarfe and covers her body) so we went in with her body covered. I think that was very nice of them although its against the swimming pool rules but they did not mind. No one could see us from the rooms.

The distance to the main square was about max 30min walk but 10 mins by taxi costing around 20 dirhams, sometime 10 or 15 (£1.00-£1.50 ) but take the petit taxis not the old Mercedes because they charge more.

Overall it was a good hotel but the problem was the distance to the Jema de fna but there are some restaurants around, particular on the side of the hotel which is cheap traditional full of men, didn't look that hygienic though.

McDonald's and KFC was 5mins walk although it does not taste anything like the UK but its halal so its good to try it out in a Muslim country.

We did not try the hotel food. Its a buffet menu if they have more than 10 - 14 confirmed guests otherwise its the normal menu. If you do intend to eat then its cheaper to book it online rather than paying for it when u get there otherwise it will cost around 90 dirhams each.

From the airport its about 15 min drive. There are petit taxi available, we manage to haggle the price down to 180 dirhams but obviously they wanted more. You can also get a bus which stops near by to the hotel cost 20 dirhams. The bus station being close by is a bonus. We travelled to Agadir for 2 nights and stayed at Ryad Mogador Medina (on of its sister hotels) which was also very nice. Make sure you take your passports with you or at least the boarder entry number on your passport which is stamped on your passport when you enter Morroco. We left our passports in out safe in marrakech opera but they were happy to get the number the other branch.

Anyway, hope this information helps, it was a good hotel, would use again, highly recommend it because we had a good experience and a pleasent stay.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2011

This is the hotel for you if you want European standards just a short walk from the rail / bus station and of course the exotic delights of Marrakesh. We stayed three nights before heading off to Essousira on the Supratours coach - the stop for this is just round the corner near the very lavish and modern train station.

The breakfast buffet didn't disappoint, but the evening meal - though adequate - was nothing special. There is a nice outdoor pool suitable for a quick dip. The staff were most courteous and spoke good English. The bedroom was very clean and of a good size.

Outside the hotel and facing the main road is a pavement cafe serving light meals and drinks - very good for people watching.

All in all highly recommended to anyone who like us wants a few days in th Marrakesh.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
2.7 mi away
Ryad Mogador Kasbah
Ryad Mogador Kasbah
#301 of 480 in Marrakech
3.5 of 5 stars 393 reviews
2.0 mi away
Ryad Mogador Menzah
Ryad Mogador Menzah
#395 of 480 in Marrakech
3.0 of 5 stars 221 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ryad Mogador Menara
Ryad Mogador Menara
#359 of 480 in Marrakech
3.5 of 5 stars 346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Ryad Mogador Agdal
Ryad Mogador Agdal
#370 of 480 in Marrakech
3.0 of 5 stars 423 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ryad Mogador Hotel
Ryad Mogador Hotel
#418 of 480 in Marrakech
3.0 of 5 stars 494 reviews
0.0 mi away
Opera Plaza Hotel
Opera Plaza Hotel
#257 of 480 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ryad Mogador Opera Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ryad Mogador Opera Hotel

Address: Av Mohammed VI | Av Mohammed VI Marrakech Morocco, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#148 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#186 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ryad Mogador Opera Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located opposite Marrakech Train Station, the Ryad Mogador Opera is near the Royal Theatre. This hotel has outdoor swimming pools and a spa with a heated indoor pool, sauna and a traditional Hammam. Ryad's air-conditioned rooms are equipped with satellite TV and a private bathroom. Free Wi-Fi in the public areas and free parking are available. Ryad Mogador Opera has 2 restaurants, Le Bahia and Le Badii, that serve traditional Moroccan and international cuisine. Guests can also relax in Ryad's tea room. Services on offer include meeting facilities, hairdressing salon, baby-sitting, currency exchange and car rental. The hotel is easily accessible from the Marrakech Menara Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Expedia, Travelocity, EasyToBook, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, HostelBookers and Hotels.com so you can book your Ryad Mogador Opera Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ryad Mogador Opera Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ryad Mogador Opera Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.