We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A rainbow in stormy Marrakech” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palais Khum

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Palais Khum to your Saves list
Palais Khum
2 Derb El Hammaria, | Dar El Bacha , Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #60 of 467 Hotels in Marrakech
singapore
1 review
“A rainbow in stormy Marrakech”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Palais Khum is an absolute treasure in the medina of Marrakech. Not only is this riad tastefully decorated, well-positioned and well-managed, the owner Stefano is so attentive to guests that he even found me a pair of rain boots so I could keep exploring the slushy alleys of the Medina after a thunderstorm. I would highly recommend this to anyone seeking a stylish Moroccan getaway.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    4
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
12
32
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
DC
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The city of Marrakech is vibrant, approaching chaotic and there is no better reprieve from the intensity of this city than the Palais Khum. Upon arrival you are met by a staff of kind, warm people who offer you tea and pastries. Then you are given a tour of this magnificently recreated riad by the owner, Laura. This riad has the calm and flavor of a home restored by lovers of art and comfort. The rooms are beautifully appointed and the public areas are filled with plants and more artwork. There is no better place to stay in all of Morocco.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Marrakech is a busy, alive, vibrant but tiring city. After walking in circles in the medina for hours coming back to the Palais Khum was an oasis. We could always count on a friendly face upon return. The staff was very attentive but not invasive. The food was reliable and reasonable. The owners were very charming and engaging.

My husband and I went to their spa and had the traditional Moroccan spa and massage (hammom) together, it was heaven. I don't think I would have enjoyed the souks or the hectic bustle of Marrakech as much without the the escape into the Palais Khum.
I would most definitely go back.
Thank you Lara, Stephano and your wonderful staff.

Room Tip: We stayed in 3 different rooms during our stays and I would say my favorite room we had was the Mand...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appledore, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Enjoyed a lovely week over Christmas staying at Palais Khum. Very convenient from the airport and yet within easy reach of everywhere you might want to go within the medina. The riad is a peaceful escape from all the hustle and bustle of the souks. Lots of care and attention has been put into the look and feel of Palais Khum and Le Grand Suite in particular is amazing - a palace within a palace. We spent many happy hours on the suite's own private terrace as well as on the riad's main roof terrace. Lots of sun, even in December!

There are plenty of eating options within easy walking distance - Terrace des Epices, Cafe Arabe, Bazaar Cafe, Maison MK, Maison Arabe and Dar Moha to name but a few. If you don't fancy venturing out, the food at Palais Khum is delicious!

What all the photos in the world can't show you is that the real strength of Palais Khum is in its staff. Everyone - and I mean everyone - was a delight to deal with. After a week, we found it quite hard to leave. Many thanks (grazie mille!) to Madame La Proprietaire for looking after us so well during our stay and special mention to Wafa and Hajj (miss you!).

Would recommend Palais Khum without hesitation.

Room Tip: Le Grand Suite is amazing and the Junior Suite La Berbere is also very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2014

We stayed at about six different riads,dhars on our trip to Morocco. This palais was in my opinion the best of them all. The owner and staff went out of their way to make up feel comfortable and even gave us Arabic lessons in the evening. The location is convenient to the souks but located just on the outskirts. If you are traveling to Marrakech you should definately make this your destination point. Insha allah.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Londonderry, New Hampshire, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2014

This hotel is a must for all travelers. This hotel is conveniently located right next to the hustle and bustle of all your shopping needs, but while inside it makes you feel like your in paradise. You cannot hear all the commotion going on outside and provides the perfect environment for R&R. Servers and staff were absolutely amazing, cannot say I didn't leave the hotel without feeling I was leaving family behind. Food was very good as well, went to the majority of hotels around it and they couldn't compete. Rooms were open and very big, overall favorite was the over-sized tiled shower. Overall 5 Stars and I would find it hard to stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucestershire
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2014 via mobile

We spent four nights at Palais Khum at the beginning of our two week trip to Morocco and one night at the end. When we returned for our last night we were treated like long lost friends and throughout both of our stays we were incredibly well looked after by Stefano and his wife and their staff. The riad is very graciously built and furnished and felt like a very special place to be. It was so nice to be able to return from the souks to the peace and quiet of Palais Khum and to Stefano's helpful tips about where to eat and what to do. He personally ensured that there were gluten free options for my husband for breakfast which was great. The courtyard is a lovely place to have breakfast and lunch if the weather is warm enough, otherwise the snug salon with its open fire was very cosy. The roof terrace is a great place to while away a couple of hours. A fantastic hotel, definitely worth a visit.

Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Palais Khum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palais Khum

Address: 2 Derb El Hammaria, | Dar El Bacha , Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 467 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Palais Khum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palais Khum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.