We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A haven of peace in the medina” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palais Khum

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save Saved
You added Palais Khum to your Saves list
Palais Khum
2 Derb El Hammaria, | Dar El Bacha , Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #105 of 462 Hotels in Marrakech
Kingston upon Thames, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“A haven of peace in the medina”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is very close to the most interesting part of the medina (the non T-shirt bit), so is right in the middle of hustle and bustle. But once you get inside, you could be a million miles away.

The riad is peaceful, tastefully furnished and has good facilities, including a pool and a roof top terrace. Our room was beautiful, with steps down to a very spacious shower and a little outside balcony. The staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful to us, despite their English being limited and our French poor.

The food was good, although we didn't sample the dinners.

A great place to stay in a hectic city

Room Tip: Each room is individual and all are quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    3
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
7
20
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sonoma
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

You step out of the crowded byways of the medina into . . . a paradise. Splashing fountains, fragrant gardens, tiled courtyards. You want to amble farom space to space, savor a cold drink, and hole up fpr the day. But no . . . situated as it is on the edge of the medina, a short stroll takes you to the nicer shops on the northeast edge of the crowded souks, knowing tzhat you can retreat at aby time. Excellent food. Well trained smiling staff who take the extra step. Owner/Manager Stephan will make your stay memorable.

Sonoma Bill

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed for 3 nights and were treated like royalty - the staff always helpful and friendly! Perfect location - turn left into the souk and right into the amazing shopping area frequented by locals. The Riad is beautifully decorated, very stylish and room number 1 absolutely fantastic! The pool is very large and quite beautiful after a hot day of sightseeing. Food good.

Room Tip: We only saw room number 1, a junior suite which was fab - beautiful decor, lovely bathroom , quiet w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My husband and I stayed here for five nights. We were impressed at the level of service. The staff was always at hand and pleasant. Beautifully appointed, a perfect cross between modern and old Moroccan. My husband and I cancelled a day out just to lounge by the pool area. It was wonderful. The food was also fantastic. There are just not enough nice things I can say about this place. I would recommend it to any friend or stranger.

Room Tip: There are only 11 rooms. We stayed in a junior suite and it was a good size and had it's own se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

I and a few friends of mine stayed at the Palais Khum for 4 days in April-May 2014. The place is fantastic, very well maintained with authentic Moroccan touch and staff was extremely courteous. The rooftop restaurant was fantastic for just relaxing in the evening and the food was great. Location is ideal being close to the suks and Jemma El Fna.

Highly recommended !!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zwalm, Belgium
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

I booked a suite for 6 days at the Palais Khum.
The Palais is a beautiful riad.
Paied about 180 eur/night incl. breakfast.
Very clean rooms, nicely decorated in a kind of modern Marrocan style.
Breakfast in the courtyard or on the great roof terrace.
Continental breakfast with coffee or tea, fresh juice, croissants, etc...
Very friendly en helpfull staff.
Good location in the Dar El Basha quarter.
Good restaurant but wine is a little overpriced at 27 EUR/bottle compared with other restaurants and the same wine at 20 EUR in the Arab Café for ex.

Room Tip: If you want to spend a couple of dollars/euros more take one of the suites. They have a great privat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marrakech
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

Cafe Kremm is the public space attached to a new maison d'hote in this most up-market quartier of the Marrakech medina. Surrounded by gallery and antique shops just on the edge of the entrance to the souks and a 10 minute walk to the square. The entry vestibule on the street is a small cafe space where you can enjoy coffee and cake but through into the courtyard or up onto one of the terraces is where you would have lunch. We opted for a terrace where there was shade and the waiter turned on the mister system so we were cool on a very hot afternoon. The main reason for choosing the terrace was you can only order alcohol upstairs and we fancied a glass (or 2) of gris with lunch.

The food was freshly prepared and light and tasty. We chose to have the Italian set lunch at 95 Dhs per person and all enjoyed our selections. The wine was ice cold and though expensive, no more so than in any similar restaurant.

The only complaint is that the service was extremely slow. As we weren't in a hurry it didn't matter but you might get upset if your time was limited. Maybe it was because we were on the very top terrace and the kitchen is on the ground floor? Having said that the waiting staff were charming and friendly and I'd definately give it another chance one day.

I've only marked down the atmosphere and service as average because it was a quiet day and we were the only people on the roof and service was slow.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Palais Khum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palais Khum

Address: 2 Derb El Hammaria, | Dar El Bacha , Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #105 of 462 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Palais Khum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palais Khum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.