We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Riad Yasmine” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Yasmine

Save Saved
You added Riad Yasmine to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Riad Yasmine
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   209 Diour Saboune | Bab Taghzout, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #224 of 461 Hotels in Marrakech
Kent
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Riad Yasmine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

We (an older couple ) stayed here mid Dec.
Thought the location was good - enjoyed the challenge of the walk via the Souks to 'the' square.
So much better than staying in one of the 'outside town' Hotels.
Loved the traditional Riad and our first floor room was good. If visiting when the air conditioners (on roof terrace) are on then it may be that you would hear the noise from them on the first floor which is under the roof terrace.
But for us Riad Yasmine WAS the proverbial 'Oasis of Calm'. The staff were good - only had the included 'continental' breakfast which was spot on !

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    29
    15
    5
    2
See reviews for
16
71
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Farnham Common, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2011

We stayed at Raid Yasmine for 3 nights. It is in the north section of the Medina, so a bit of a walk to the souk, but near the Medersa. Really nice place, clean, stylish - big rooms. The staff were all friendly and helpful. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lannux
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2011

We stayed for two nights in October order to be with friends who were on a tour. Our room was quite spacious, everything was clean, the outlook onto the courtyard was pleasant.

However, we were very disappointed that the roof terrace (mentioned on the hotel website) was not in a state where one could sit - the furniture was rusty, there were no cushions, no lights.

The food was expensive and average - 25 euros each for a mediocre and small 3 course evening meal. When we checked out the receptionist tried to give us a very poor rate on the dirham/euro exchange, not a problem we encountered elsewhere.

We were astonished when we went to another riad in Marrrakesh later in the week to find it superior in every way - for the same price per night!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2011

Our group had this hotel to ourselves when we stayed here in July, so each day it was like coming home from hectic sightseeing to a tranquil place with plants and the oh-so inviting plunge pool. It was crystal clean and just the right temperature, so several times I jumped in and after a bit walked up the several flights of stairs to the roof loungers to lie in the sun (which entailed passing the very modestly dressed woman at the front desk!) - but it was all good. We also ate our breakfasts up there, meaning the staff had to carry heavy trays of juice and coffee and plates up to us. But they were good natured about everything, including producing a dinner for us after 10pm when we got delayed in the souk. One of the young men tried to help us when we had a problem with the in-room safe, but his solution was to carry it off and bring us a different one, which I thought rather negated the security aspect! But the building felt very safe, our room was big with a new tv, big bathtub and good a/c - we had a very pleasant time there.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2011

We were there in April 2011 but did not have time to review it till now.In a nutshell we will go back to this friendly hotel but NOT Marrakech.You either love or hate Marrakech and I am the latter.However please do not let me put you off going there,since the mountain areas are breath taking.
About the hotel it tucked away in a side street not far from the Souk and the main square,and you can walk there within 15 minutes(provided you don't get lost).We were warmly welcomed on arrival(on the day when the bomb went off in main square restaurant).Room was spacoius & clean.It was so beautifully decorated and you get what you see in hotel photos on websites.Bed was comfortable,bathroom was clean but water was either too hot or cold at times.Breakfast was good and sufficient.We had our first evening meal there,it cost £32 for two but I must confess we were not that impressed.We found eating out costs were quite similar to UK prices(for Morocco standards very expensive).Food was nice and we did enjoy every meal we had.On the rooftop gave a lovely view of surrounding ares,a must go place in the hotel.In conclusion we had a nicely stay in Riad Yasmine.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

Stayed here for 4 nights, staff were very warm and welcoming. The young men who served the breakfast loved to joke around with the guests. The riad was a nice size, about 8 rooms. Our room was named "Suite Yasmine", and took up one whole side of the second floor. It was a large suite, very comfortable. Large glass doors with sheer curtains, and several shuttered windows made up the front wall of the room.

Breakfast was typical Moroccan fare, fresh orange juice, good coffee, yogurt, cheese, variety of breads, and one morning, a giant crepe.

The riad was very quiet - I felt like whispering whenever I was in the public areas. Nights were blissfully quiet (except for the 5 a.m. call to prayer - it sounded like it was coming from the courtyard) - turns out, there was a mosque nearby.

There was a small plunge pool, which nobody ever used, but it was pretty. Sitting areas were nice, and the wifi signal was strong in the lounge

The area the riad was in looks sketchy to the uninformed - look around! It's just ordinary people going about their daily business.

Room Tip: Look on booking site for names of rooms to request
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LONDON
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2011

Recently stayed here for a week and would recommend to everyone. I usually only book hotels as a base, but this riad was so relaxing and welcoming, it felt like home. It was our first time in Marrakech, so our time was used up by sightseeing, but had i been before, i would have happily spent more time using the sun loungers on the terrace. There is also a small pool, but not big enough to swim in.

Our room was large enough and comfortable. Very traditional Moroccan style so it made our stay unique from standard hotels. Only slight improvment would have been a small fridge, but the general room temp was fine and aircon was there if needed.

The location is very good, but as with anywhere in Marrakech, you will get lost! Maps are of little use for the medina. Once we knew the route, it's about 15 mins from riad to Jemma el fna. You can take a taxi and should not pay more than 30MAD. The location is actually very good because you need to walk though the souks to get to your destinations, a good opportunity to find some bargins.

Breakfast was billed on my booking confirmation as 'buffet', which is slightly misleading. It is basically a selection of pastries, bread and sponge cake on a plate, which were fine and i'm sure we could have asked for more if needed, but it's not a buffet in the true, 'help yourself' sense of the word.

All the staff are lovely, very helpful with directions, day trips and general advice. They spoke Arabic, French and some English. Thanks to all at Riad Yasmine for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Yasmine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Yasmine

Address: 209 Diour Saboune | Bab Taghzout, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#89 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#178 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Yasmine 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Marrakech's lively medina, Riad Yasmine offers genuine Moroccan hospitality in an elegant and fully-renovated two- storey wealthy home. Ideally located, the Riad is easily accessible by car, right next to a taxi station, and a 5 minute walk from the souks (market stalls). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Odigeo, Otel and Venere so you can book your Riad Yasmine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Yasmine Marrakech
Riad Yasmine Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Yasmine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.