We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a comfortable authentic beauty” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Monika

Save Saved
You added Riad Monika to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Riad Monika
29 Hart Soura, Marrakech 40008, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #86 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Arcevia, Italy
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“a comfortable authentic beauty”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014 via mobile

we stayed a couple of nights in this beautiful riad, room Farhana.
built and restored by a french architect, the riad shows the marroccon architecture and decoration at it's best. the rooms are just what you see on the website and photos. romantic and clean. extremely friendly staff, nice breakfast and any help you need.
fresh fruit an water every day in your room and they put heating in your room when it's cold and light the open fire place in the sitting area and serve mint tea. hospitality is written in their mind set.

small minus: old TV, but probably you will not look that often when discovering marrakech.

Riad Monika is a real isle of peace in the hassle of the city. beautiful roof terrace.
it's only 15 min walk to the square El Fna.

best choice! worth the money.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    90
    10
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
14
68
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

Big riad, located in a nice building, the area is safe and located close to taxi stop. We had a suit which was very big however it was quite cold (we stayed for NYE) and generally there is no heating in Marrakesh, however we had chimney in the room. In the summer time, this riad must be perfect. The only thing that should be improved is cleaning, it was quite dirty everywhere. It could be also cheaper but I imagine the price depends on period when you are staying. I would recommend it to all couples, the place is quite romantic.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

I stayed at Riad Monika for 5 nights mid-November with my partner and we had a brilliant experience here.
The owner contacted us a week before departure to organise a taxi from the airport for 15 euros (150dh) – made arriving a much smoother process. We spotted a man carrying a Riad Monika sign at the airport and were whisked towards the old town in a spacious, clean vehicle.

Within 20 minutes we’d arrived at the walls to the city and were dropped off on the edge old town (where the streets are too narrow for cars) and met by a young man from the Riad, although he didn’t introduce himself, we realised he was from the Riad once he had led us into the Riad and didn’t ask for any tips! The journey to the Riad was windy and there is no way we would have been able to find it on our own. The entrance is just an un-noticeable door in the wall, as with all riads. There was road works going on outside the Riad which came in handy when looking for it in the dark in amongst the similar looking alleys!

Upon arrival, we were shown to our room which was on the ground floor facing the courtyard. We stayed in the chambre farhana which was spacious and had everything we needed in Moroccan flavours! The room was away from the entrance of the Riad so we weren’t too disturbed by the road works going on and although we woke the first couple of mornings from the morning call to prayer by the nearby mosque, we slept through it for the rest of the stay! The room was very comfy and they provided an electric heater to use during the night as it gets cold.

We had wardrobe space, a safe, shower toiletries, bathrobes, towels, hair dryer and they provide a large bottle of water daily as well as a bowl of fruit. There wasn’t anything we had to ask for!
The owner gave us a tour of the Riad which had a lovely roof terrace, a warm lounge with a roaring fire when it’s lit and little sitting areas dotted around – perfect if it was a little warmer!

For breakfast the owner served pancake (more like roti) with honey, boiled eggs, baguettes, butter and jam, yoghurt, chocolate muffins, pastries along with tea, coffee and orange juice! They also cook an omelette on request. I loved the breakfast although it’s too much for one to eat, it’s great if you have a long day ahead of you.

We stayed for dinner one night and the food they served was totally delicious and one of the best we had in Marrakech! We had salads for starters and a delicious 3 hour steamed lamb with cous cous for mains, dessert was a yummy chocolate cake with ice cream and cost us 300 dh each which is very good value for money.

The heart of the souks are 5-10 minutes away by foot and the Medersa Ben Youssef just a short walk away which is what we used to find our Riad after being out for the day. It’s very easy to get lost particularly at night when the souks close and the alleys look different in the dark. It’s also very easy to get intimidated by the pushy boys who offer to show you the way and claim that the route you’re taking is ‘closed’. But once we paid more attention to certain crossroads and signs we were able to figure out our way around, getting lost a little less! It’s a good location if you want to stay away from the crowds but are close enough to get to the action in a short walk.

The owner also arranged for a taxi driver to take us to the Ourika Valley in the Atlas Mountain for a day. We could choose the pick up time and the driver arranged a tour. He drove us to multiple stops where we could view carpets, Moroccan goods, a co-operative of women who made argan oil with their hands, etc. None of the places pushed for purchased. But we were taken on a trek by a guide who the taxi driver had arranged to meet us. We weren’t informed initially but it ended up costing us 100dh each and the guide wasn’t that great. We also made a stop for lunch where we felt obliged to eat, the food was okay but we only ordered a set menu for one and shared. That was the last stop and we paid the taxi driver 900dh.

Upon check out, our luggage was kept within the Riad whilst we went out for the day as our flight was in the evening. The owner knew we were heading off early to a hamman on the same day and as we were rushing to be on time, he was very relaxed about us paying later on. When it came to payment, we received a clear break down of the prices in both euros and dirhams, but if you are paying by cash, keep some by for tax which is something we forgot about.

The owner walked us back to the main roads, helping with our luggage to our taxi which he had organised to take us back to the airport after informing him of our flight time. Again it cost 150dh or 15 euros.

The service from the owner at the Riad was extremely friendly and we highly recommend this place. If you’re there for more than a few days, definitely try dinner one evening!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

We booked this Riad After seeing the reviews on trip advisor.
It is absolutely fantastic. The staff are all exceptionally friendly and helpful and nothing is too much trouble. We have had two rooms as we went trekking in the Atlas Mountains in the middle of our holiday. Both rooms were exceptional. They are done in a traditional Moroccan style with four poster beds and lots of marble. Breakfast was served downstairs By the pool. It was a very high quality.
The owner is extremely friendly and was more than happy to hold onto our baggage whilst we went tracking. The roof has a lovely area for relaxing in the sun.
Considering how frenetic Marrakesh is this Riad is an oasis of calm and tranquillity.
I cannot recommend this place highly enough.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

We looked up loads of Riads and the reviews for this looked good. Well the reviews were spot on .
We were greeted with mint tea and the a tour of the Riad by Zouhair, the room was perfect and just as in the photos . Breakfast was great and plenty of it, the roof garden is great for breakfast with views across the city. Nothing seemed too much for Zouhair and he organised a day trip to the Atlas mountains for us which was fantastic.
When you return to the Riad it is so quiet and relaxing compared to the madness of the Souks. We would recommend this Riad to anyone and when we return we come back to it. A real Moroccan experience in Luxury.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

We stumbled upon Riad Monika while searching for accom inside the Medina at Marrakech and could not have chosen a better base for our first time in Morocco. The Riad is completely charming with authentic Moroccan features, ornaments and fixtures - without being over the top. There are several cushioned lounging areas and a great, free wifi connection which came in handy. The rooftop breakfast which was incl in the price and served as you awake, was perfect - a relaxed 'moroccan-style-continental' breakfast with freshly squeezed orange juice and freshly baked bread and cakes. (I especially thought that making our bed and restocking the complimentary fruit bowl in the room while we ate breakfast was a lovely touch!)

The Riad is about a 15-20min walk from the main sq. This was perfect for us as we stumbled across a few hard-to-find restaurants along the way which were some of the best meals of the trip. (Le Jardin Restaurant - but the street vendors selling sardines, grilled meat were the best and very cheap).

Zouhair and the staff at Riad Monika could not have been more polite and helpful, putting up very well with our indecisiveness to help us arrange tours and trips at the drop of a hat. Even before arriving, Zouhair had replied speedily allowing me to booking directly via email and organise a 15euro pick up from the airport. [Please note, booking directly saved me more than £250 on the booking.com quoted price!]

Overall we had an incredible 7 days in Marrakech and having Riad Monika as our own little homely retreat every evening really made our holiday even more special.
If you are looking for accommodation in Marrakech Medina which is authentically Moroccan, well located, well staffed and has a peaceful, romantic atmosphere - I could not recommend Riad Monika enough!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucerne, Switzerland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We've stayed 2 nights in Riad Monika, at the end of a 12 day-trip in Morocco.

The Riad is a dream. We've chosen the Riad because it seemed to be good to relax. And we were right. It's an excellent choice if you sometimes like to relax after a day in this busy city. It's an oasis, there you find your peace and quiet.

The Riad looks like a oriental dream, there are places to relax and lounge everywhere. If you have a room on the ground floor, you have the pool directly in front of your door. It's so amazing that we hardly wanted to leave the Riad to visit the city (again). The terrasse is also great. With lots of plants and lounges.

The big breakfast is served on the terrasse every morning between 8 and 11.

Service is great. The staff is very very nice.

Our room was very spacious, clean and comfortable. There's also a luxury bathroom with a rain-Shower. They offer not only shower gel and shampoo as most hotels do, there's also Rhassoul in the bathroom.

Location: The Riad is located near the Mosque Ben Youssef / Medersa Ben Youssef. From there it's easy to find. When you arrive, the Riad offers you a airport transfer for 15 Euros. Book it, because a Taxi isn't really cheaper... And as the taxi can't drive you directly to the Riad, there will be boys as "guides", which show you the way to the Riad but then want (too much) money for this service. With the transfer, it's more stressless (I can tell you, because we didn't book it....) It's worth it!

To the Place Jamaa el Fna it's about a 10 / 15 minutes-walk through the souks or next to it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Monika? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Monika

Address: 29 Hart Soura, Marrakech 40008, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#74 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#128 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Prestigia and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Riad Monika reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Monika Marrakech
Riad Monika Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Monika, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.