We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect 1st Experience Of Morocco” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Monika

Save Saved
You added Riad Monika to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Riad Monika
29 Hart Soura, Marrakech 40008, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #86 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect 1st Experience Of Morocco”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

We stumbled upon Riad Monika while searching for accom inside the Medina at Marrakech and could not have chosen a better base for our first time in Morocco. The Riad is completely charming with authentic Moroccan features, ornaments and fixtures - without being over the top. There are several cushioned lounging areas and a great, free wifi connection which came in handy. The rooftop breakfast which was incl in the price and served as you awake, was perfect - a relaxed 'moroccan-style-continental' breakfast with freshly squeezed orange juice and freshly baked bread and cakes. (I especially thought that making our bed and restocking the complimentary fruit bowl in the room while we ate breakfast was a lovely touch!)

The Riad is about a 15-20min walk from the main sq. This was perfect for us as we stumbled across a few hard-to-find restaurants along the way which were some of the best meals of the trip. (Le Jardin Restaurant - but the street vendors selling sardines, grilled meat were the best and very cheap).

Zouhair and the staff at Riad Monika could not have been more polite and helpful, putting up very well with our indecisiveness to help us arrange tours and trips at the drop of a hat. Even before arriving, Zouhair had replied speedily allowing me to booking directly via email and organise a 15euro pick up from the airport. [Please note, booking directly saved me more than £250 on the booking.com quoted price!]

Overall we had an incredible 7 days in Marrakech and having Riad Monika as our own little homely retreat every evening really made our holiday even more special.
If you are looking for accommodation in Marrakech Medina which is authentically Moroccan, well located, well staffed and has a peaceful, romantic atmosphere - I could not recommend Riad Monika enough!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    90
    10
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
14
68
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lucerne, Switzerland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We've stayed 2 nights in Riad Monika, at the end of a 12 day-trip in Morocco.

The Riad is a dream. We've chosen the Riad because it seemed to be good to relax. And we were right. It's an excellent choice if you sometimes like to relax after a day in this busy city. It's an oasis, there you find your peace and quiet.

The Riad looks like a oriental dream, there are places to relax and lounge everywhere. If you have a room on the ground floor, you have the pool directly in front of your door. It's so amazing that we hardly wanted to leave the Riad to visit the city (again). The terrasse is also great. With lots of plants and lounges.

The big breakfast is served on the terrasse every morning between 8 and 11.

Service is great. The staff is very very nice.

Our room was very spacious, clean and comfortable. There's also a luxury bathroom with a rain-Shower. They offer not only shower gel and shampoo as most hotels do, there's also Rhassoul in the bathroom.

Location: The Riad is located near the Mosque Ben Youssef / Medersa Ben Youssef. From there it's easy to find. When you arrive, the Riad offers you a airport transfer for 15 Euros. Book it, because a Taxi isn't really cheaper... And as the taxi can't drive you directly to the Riad, there will be boys as "guides", which show you the way to the Riad but then want (too much) money for this service. With the transfer, it's more stressless (I can tell you, because we didn't book it....) It's worth it!

To the Place Jamaa el Fna it's about a 10 / 15 minutes-walk through the souks or next to it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We were met by taxi at the airport and traveled into central Marrakech through the chaos, even scraping a police car as we drove up a narrow street. As soon as we stepped inside Riad Monika, all of the hubbub and heat disappeared as Zouhair, the manager, fetched us a mint tea and let us relax.
Our suite, Hayat, was decorated with rose petals on the bed as well as in the huge bath as we were on Honeymoon and friends who had wanted to leave Champagne in the room for us had not met the kind of problems you can encounter in Muslim countries. The manager also arranged a massage for us both in the suite.
The rest of the Riad was a delight, areas for reading and relaxing with the sound of running water never far away as the pool is central. The roof terrace was perfect for both the copious breakfasts and more hideaways to relax. Although there were other guests at the Riad, we couldn't really see or hear them as the breakfasting tables are set out such that you aren't really in line of sight.
We stayed in one evening and ate at the Riad and that was spectacular. 13 different dishes as a starter followed by main courses about which my wife and I had been consulted earlier on. We had a candlelit, rose petal covered table next to the candle lantern lit pool, all of which had been prepared just for us as the Riad is only a restaurant when the guests request it.
The location was perfect too in the we were far enough away from the médina but close enough to the souks not to have to walk too far. The call to prayer did wake us up very early most days but that is city wide so location would not really help. We managed to go straight back to sleep until a reasonable hour. I would thoroughly recommend this Riad to anyone staying in Marrakech: a genuine experience with luxury.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bagshot surrey
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights in the Najama suite at the end of May
We had a pick up from the airport for 15 euros by Mr Jamal in an air conditioned taxi/van. We used him for the next two days for various tours. The mountains are a must.
Room at the Riad very comfortable, the manager is extremely helpful and the breakfast is plentiful.
Could not fault it, hardly saw another soul and it was like living in your own palace!! Chilling out on the roof after a long day in the medina,watchin the world go by in the streets below.
The cat habibi is the most playful kitten ever and we enjoyed her company in the evenings when we got back. Fondue restaurant, they serve alcohol and the food is good!!

Room Tip: There are only 6 rooms, all different and quirky.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vilnius, Lithuania
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

Few days ago landed here. Riad organised a pick up for 15 euro. Nice big Vaneo took us from the airport to riad monika. If you are first time traveller, recommended to take the taxi or somebody to take you to the place. Because difficult to find. Mr Zohair welcomed as near the house. Very friendly family running the house. Inside there are only 6rooms. So you will feel like at home, with few people. It was fully ocupied. Even though we did not meet many of them. Just one couple during the breakfast, which was served on the roof terrace. Very many chill sofas and areas inside where you could hide and read a book in the shadow. Wifi is also through all the floors so you can take your ipad without any problems. Breakfast is continental. Nice lounge seating and many sofas on the roof. Rooms clean. Bathroom had shampoo, showergel, bath flowers, toothpaste and everything else you could need. guests are mainly mature couples from france and uk. Bird sounds during the night. Wife of the manager has just prepared mint tea pot, so i am going back to the lounge to read my book

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
UK
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Having had a friend to show us around and snoop around his favourite 10 riads in the Medina, we picked this riad as it felt - and was - the one with the most serene and peaceful feeling combined with amazing decor and charming owners who make sure your stay is perfect.
All the personnel is great and we moved rooms as it was full when we booked but were glad to see 2 different but stunning bedrooms. Breakfast on the terrace was fantastic, and absolutely delicious. The riad is perfect for visiting the rest of the medina and the souk, and with the owners help we bought 2 morroccan carpets. The pool at the centre of the patio is lovely and we shall certainly come back if we come to the medina again!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I have been to lots of places but in all objectivity this place is truly great. serene; luxurious and more importantly, extremely kind people. Zouhail (and his family) and Khalid; (and let's not forget, the owner Pierre! and the cat Habibi (As one can see I remember everything and I will not soon forget!). I certainly vouchsafe for this place. Food wise - We tried Fassia; Foundounk..all decent restaurants - But honestly try eating in this place - unpretentious but exquisite to say the least.
One word of advice - book direct with them and not through intermediaries - you can save yourself a booking fee.
Back to reality...Sadly.

Room Tip: You need not worry if you are a family as the extra bed come at no extra charge - We stayed in suit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Monika? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Monika

Address: 29 Hart Soura, Marrakech 40008, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#74 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#131 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Prestigia and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Riad Monika reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Monika Marrakech
Riad Monika Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Monika, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.