We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A corner of Paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Monika

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Monika to your Saves list
Riad Monika
29 Hart Soura, Marrakech 40008, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #112 of 481 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
bagshot surrey
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A corner of Paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights in the Najama suite at the end of May
We had a pick up from the airport for 15 euros by Mr Jamal in an air conditioned taxi/van. We used him for the next two days for various tours. The mountains are a must.
Room at the Riad very comfortable, the manager is extremely helpful and the breakfast is plentiful.
Could not fault it, hardly saw another soul and it was like living in your own palace!! Chilling out on the roof after a long day in the medina,watchin the world go by in the streets below.
The cat habibi is the most playful kitten ever and we enjoyed her company in the evenings when we got back. Fondue restaurant, they serve alcohol and the food is good!!

Room Tip: There are only 6 rooms, all different and quirky.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    10
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
17
76
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vilnius, Lithuania
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

Few days ago landed here. Riad organised a pick up for 15 euro. Nice big Vaneo took us from the airport to riad monika. If you are first time traveller, recommended to take the taxi or somebody to take you to the place. Because difficult to find. Mr Zohair welcomed as near the house. Very friendly family running the house. Inside there are only 6rooms. So you will feel like at home, with few people. It was fully ocupied. Even though we did not meet many of them. Just one couple during the breakfast, which was served on the roof terrace. Very many chill sofas and areas inside where you could hide and read a book in the shadow. Wifi is also through all the floors so you can take your ipad without any problems. Breakfast is continental. Nice lounge seating and many sofas on the roof. Rooms clean. Bathroom had shampoo, showergel, bath flowers, toothpaste and everything else you could need. guests are mainly mature couples from france and uk. Bird sounds during the night. Wife of the manager has just prepared mint tea pot, so i am going back to the lounge to read my book

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Having had a friend to show us around and snoop around his favourite 10 riads in the Medina, we picked this riad as it felt - and was - the one with the most serene and peaceful feeling combined with amazing decor and charming owners who make sure your stay is perfect.
All the personnel is great and we moved rooms as it was full when we booked but were glad to see 2 different but stunning bedrooms. Breakfast on the terrace was fantastic, and absolutely delicious. The riad is perfect for visiting the rest of the medina and the souk, and with the owners help we bought 2 morroccan carpets. The pool at the centre of the patio is lovely and we shall certainly come back if we come to the medina again!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I have been to lots of places but in all objectivity this place is truly great. serene; luxurious and more importantly, extremely kind people. Zouhail (and his family) and Khalid; (and let's not forget, the owner Pierre! and the cat Habibi (As one can see I remember everything and I will not soon forget!). I certainly vouchsafe for this place. Food wise - We tried Fassia; Foundounk..all decent restaurants - But honestly try eating in this place - unpretentious but exquisite to say the least.
One word of advice - book direct with them and not through intermediaries - you can save yourself a booking fee.
Back to reality...Sadly.

Room Tip: You need not worry if you are a family as the extra bed come at no extra charge - We stayed in suit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

The Riad is delightful with charming rooms and open air courtyards that let the place breathe naturally. The pool is charming, the roof deck is an ideal place to enjoy morning coffee and breakfast. The nearby mosque can be quite loud for the call to morning prayer.
The staff was friendly and helpful.
Very good restaurants are nearby and it's location in the medina is good for sight seeing.
The toilet plumbing in our lower courtyard room was awful. This issue had to be resolved by calling the service people to flush with buckets daily.
The Riad is a nice retreat to return to from a day of touring busy Marrakech.

Room Tip: All the rooms appear unique and charming. The upper suites are superb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

We stayed at the Riad Monika for 3 nights in February and had a wonderful time.

They kindly arranged a taxi to pick us up from the airport, and we were then met at the post office by one of the staff (I'm so sorry, I can't for the life of me remember his name, but he was a joy throughout our stay, NOTHING was too much trouble and despite a language barrier, he was always chatty) and escorted for our first foray into the medina. The hustle, bustle and general madness was overwhelming, but th moment we stepped into the Riad it was as though we were transported to a different world.

We ate there that evening (pre-arranged), a meal cooked by Zouhair's wife, and it was a FEAST if ever there was one. Delicious, served in beautiful, tranquil surroundings, and we felt utterly spoilt. Breakfast is also so generous one would think it was for double the numbe of people.

I can't recommend the Riad Monika enough, and just wish we'd had more time there. Please go, you'll love it!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

My wife and I spent a lovely 6 nights at Riad Monika in February 2013. The riad has been converted from 4 houses, has about 6 rooms and is very charming with lots of nooks & crannies and arabic rugs and lanterns. Our room - which was upgraded 'cos there was no else around - had a fire, sunken bath and four poster bed. All the rooms have that lived in homely feel and was a good alternative to a standard hotel with standard furnishings. The staff were great and very helpful and it was fun tracking them down in the warren of corridors and squares that make up the riad. The location is good - 5 mins from Mederassa, the souks and some good local restaurants and museums - and I loved the fact that we arrived by foot as the alley isn't wide enough to take a taxi so we had to be walked in. Breakfast was continental and a bit uninspiring after 6 days however the location on the sprawling roof terrace was a good way to start the day and the manager's wife made us two meals on request that were fantastic.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.6 mi away
La Maison Arabe
La Maison Arabe
#5 of 481 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,337 reviews
0.9 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#4 of 481 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 669 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Kheirredine
Riad Kheirredine
#1 of 481 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,073 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Riad Noir d'Ivoire
Riad Noir d'Ivoire
#2 of 481 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,076 reviews
3.7 mi away
Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa
0.8 mi away
Riad Melhoun
Riad Melhoun
#63 of 481 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Monika? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Monika

Address: 29 Hart Soura, Marrakech 40008, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#97 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#122 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and Splendia so you can book your Riad Monika reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Monika Marrakech
Riad Monika Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Monika, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.