We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing Riad” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Monika

Save Saved
You added Riad Monika to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Riad Monika
29 Hart Soura, Marrakech 40008, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #84 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Brooklyn, New York
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Relaxing Riad”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

The Riad is delightful with charming rooms and open air courtyards that let the place breathe naturally. The pool is charming, the roof deck is an ideal place to enjoy morning coffee and breakfast. The nearby mosque can be quite loud for the call to morning prayer.
The staff was friendly and helpful.
Very good restaurants are nearby and it's location in the medina is good for sight seeing.
The toilet plumbing in our lower courtyard room was awful. This issue had to be resolved by calling the service people to flush with buckets daily.
The Riad is a nice retreat to return to from a day of touring busy Marrakech.

Room Tip: All the rooms appear unique and charming. The upper suites are superb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    90
    10
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
14
68
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

We stayed at the Riad Monika for 3 nights in February and had a wonderful time.

They kindly arranged a taxi to pick us up from the airport, and we were then met at the post office by one of the staff (I'm so sorry, I can't for the life of me remember his name, but he was a joy throughout our stay, NOTHING was too much trouble and despite a language barrier, he was always chatty) and escorted for our first foray into the medina. The hustle, bustle and general madness was overwhelming, but th moment we stepped into the Riad it was as though we were transported to a different world.

We ate there that evening (pre-arranged), a meal cooked by Zouhair's wife, and it was a FEAST if ever there was one. Delicious, served in beautiful, tranquil surroundings, and we felt utterly spoilt. Breakfast is also so generous one would think it was for double the numbe of people.

I can't recommend the Riad Monika enough, and just wish we'd had more time there. Please go, you'll love it!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

My wife and I spent a lovely 6 nights at Riad Monika in February 2013. The riad has been converted from 4 houses, has about 6 rooms and is very charming with lots of nooks & crannies and arabic rugs and lanterns. Our room - which was upgraded 'cos there was no else around - had a fire, sunken bath and four poster bed. All the rooms have that lived in homely feel and was a good alternative to a standard hotel with standard furnishings. The staff were great and very helpful and it was fun tracking them down in the warren of corridors and squares that make up the riad. The location is good - 5 mins from Mederassa, the souks and some good local restaurants and museums - and I loved the fact that we arrived by foot as the alley isn't wide enough to take a taxi so we had to be walked in. Breakfast was continental and a bit uninspiring after 6 days however the location on the sprawling roof terrace was a good way to start the day and the manager's wife made us two meals on request that were fantastic.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

I recently visited Riad Monica with 3 friends for a 50th birthday. I was a little bit concerned having booked through Authentic Luxury Travel but my worries were soon put to rest. The taxi was waiting for us at the airport and dropped us at the Riad. We were very pleasantly suprised when we stepped inside. We were treated like royalty, nothing was too much trouble. I can’t praise the staff enough, everything was just as advertised I can’t wait to return.

Room Tip: Leave it to Hicham of Authentic Luxury Travel, all rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Fantastic stay here in Riad Monika during Christmas 2012. The room doesn't look exactly like the one in the website, but it was still very nice. The common area and roof terrace was lovely and we enjoyed the breakfast up in the terrace or just relaxing around the common area. We loved the bread, it was always very fresh in the morning.

But I think what excel in this Riad is the staff. Zohair & co. (especially Khalil) were the best hospitality staff that we've encountered so far. Khalil was always so nice to us, didn't speak a word in English but somehow he managed to look after us during our stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012 via mobile

We stayed 4 nights in this beautiful Riad located in the heart of the medina, moments from the Ben Youssef coranic school. Excellent, warm welcome by Zouhair! We were treated to our best meal in Marrakech, cooked by Zouhair's wife. We already miss drinking mint tea on the roof terrace! Highly recommended.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
189 helpful votes 189 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

We have just returned from a four night stay in Marrakech and a wonderful stay in Riad Monika. I don't think I have ever researched as much on any place we have visited as I did with Marrakech and in choosing a Riad. There is a staggering amount of information out there which at times made me a little nervous in travelling. BUT I should not have had any worries as we had a truely wonderful trip and had made all the right choices.

The Riad is perfectly located. You can wander through the narrow streets, through the souks and arrive at Jamaa el Naa in about 20 mins. During this walk we did not get hassled or tugged at, and once we memorized landmarks, we found our way back no problem.

Very important plus with Riad Monika is that Zouhair (such a gentleman!) will call a petite taxi for you which will pull up directly outside the Riad's door and take you anywhere (we travelled to La Mamounia Hotel, Le Grand Cafe de la Poste, and Dar Rhizlane (very disappointing food). The driver would return and collect us when we wanted him to and he would bring us back to the Riad where we would then pay him for entire trip. Faultless!

The Riad itself is beautiful but this has been said in many reviews. The entire staff are friendly and helpful. Zouhair is there to help you and nothing is too much trouble for him.

Our room was the Suite Hayat and it was beautiful. It was located up the short stairs directly inside the Riad's door so it could be a little noisy at times but we got used to it. The 5am call to prayer was loud in itself.... but if you want the full medina experience, I don't think you can avoid this. Now that we are home, I am so glad we stayed within the walls.

We did the Atlas Mountain, Berber Village, Waterfall trip with Abdulah who was a super guide with excellent knowledge and English.

The rest of our trip was simply enjoying the Marrakech experience. There is no need to be any way more cautious than you would be when visiting another other large city. It was wonderful! It is not full of flies or local people dragging you or trying to scam you, it is alive and exciting and I am so glad we visited it. Would love to return again and would stay at Riad Monika again when we do,

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Monika? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Monika

Address: 29 Hart Soura, Marrakech 40008, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#72 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#124 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Prestigia and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Riad Monika reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Monika Marrakech
Riad Monika Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Monika, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.