We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better places are out there!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Dar Naima

Save Saved
You added Dar Naima to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Dar Naima
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 derb Ouartani, Mouassine | Marrakech Medina, Marrakech 40008, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #234 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Antwerp, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Better places are out there!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

We read the review prior to booking and judged that the bad reviews were needy western who needed all the comfort of home to be happy :-)

Dont make our mistake as well.

The riad does provide a bed to sleep and the opportunity to wash yourself. But it isn't well maintained, or very clean.

Combine this with the fact that they still charge you around 45€ per night and you come to the conclusion that for that price there are many other places in Marrakesh that offer more, for less.

From our combined travel experience we would expect a price setting for this riad around 15-20€ per room per night.

Happy trials!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    50
    24
    9
    9
    13
See reviews for
19
45
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Spain
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

Dar Naima is a beautiful and charming place to stay in the old town of Marrakech very close to Jaima Al Fna square. The breakfast is homemade and you can enjoy it either in the amazing blue patio or on the rooftop terrasse with great views on the city.
Staff is more than friendly and helpful and you can have a private Hammam and massage whenever you like.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at Dar Naima for 11 days. The Riad vas charming in Marokko style. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We enjoyed the breakfast in the patio or on the roof terrasse. And the siesta in the shade on the roof. The Riad is inside the walls and a few minutes from the Souk and the Djemaa el Fna.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2011

Hi all travelers,

This is an advice for those interested in staying at Dar Naima. Me and my girlfriend just had a nightmare weekend there. Basically we booked our accommodation for 3 nights on LateRooms website and payed the fee straight away as usual using credit card. 3 days before our arrival we noticed that Dar Naima had taken a further £280 from our credit card. We called Late Rooms immediately and were told that this was a mistake transaction and that we were going to be given €250 on arrival as compensation. Ridiculous as £280 is more like €320 at the moment.
On arrival we spoke to that Riad staff, that knew nothing about the transaction and that the manager was away in France. We had one phone conversation with the manager that guaranteed us that £280 would be given to us in cash as compensation for the mistake transaction because the staff at the Rad did not know how to reverse the transaction.
Later the staff brought us the money and for our surprise we noticed that 3 of the bank notes were fakes!!! We rejected the money immediately demanding the transaction to be reversed. It was all very stressful, LateRooms wasn't helpful at all and we now have to dispute this with our bank.
Be very careful with credit card fraud in Morocco, it did spoil our weekend and don't' know if we are every going to be refunded.
By the way the Riad is average, not very clean, cockroaches in bedroom and staff was rude and unhelpful. There is plenty of choice in Marrakesh and you should read reviews before you book anything.

Good luck with your travel to Morocco

Nelson and Hannah
Dar Naima never again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2011

Great stay at the Dar Naïma! Loved the place. Compared to other riads, it's large and has a lot of charm. The best? The roof terrace. Tremendous view and: sun, sun, sun!!!
Waoh. Came like vanillia, left like a cooked lobster.
Nice thing also: fluant English speaking. Not so often around in Marrakech. The room was nice. In fact, you feel like staying at friends place, not in an anonymous hotel.
Highly recommanded!
Ben

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2011

My spouse and I had a wonderfull time in Marrakech at the Dar Naima. This is our second visit. The riad has a lot of charm and Laura & Stefan were very friendly to us. They gave us good indications on restaurants, excursions (thank you to Yassin - I think) and traps to avoid with taxis and youngsters "pretending" to help you finding your way in the street.
The Riad is the gathering of 2 authentic and ancient houses. This gives a very large space on the ground floor with: 2 patios, a dining room and a living room. We particularily liked sitting in the blue patio in the evening with soft ambiance music.
The terrasse offers a tremendous view on the Atlas mountains, the roofs of Marrakech and the Koutoubia. I'm not sure if all riads offer this view but lying facing the sun in a deck chair with the Atlas as background is just unbelievably pleasant.
I've noticed Laura & Stefan are renovating the riad. That's a good point.
I highly recommand the Dar Naima!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2011

Great atmosphere at this riad, if a tad underlit/rooms v small. Our room was unavailable for the 1st two nights due to an electrical problem. The French owner acted as though she was doing us a favour,giving us a bigger room for 2 nights, but we would have preferred one or other. She became more unfriendly as the days went by-perhaps because we didn't avail of the evening meal on offer. On the last day, as we sat on the roof terrace, she had a HUGE row with,I think, her partner, and there was screaming, sobbing and door slamming for all the world to hear. Not very professional. It's a shame because it is a great situation, and charming building. No hot water in second room shower, but we could cope with that were the management welcoming. Her husband/partner was charming as were the local staff. I don't imagine she would be easy to work for! I would stay elsewhere next time, but at New Year prices are high so that had a bearing on our choice.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lauresteph, Gérant at Dar Naima, responded to this review, February 23, 2011
We sincerely regret the anoyances during your stay and your deception about the rooms. We have started renovations with the owner in order to offer a better lodging. We are also reworking our organization in order to improve your service.
Thank you for your comment. Failures are opportunities to improve. We are working on that.
Regards,

Laure & Stéphane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Dar Naima? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Naima

Address: 1 derb Ouartani, Mouassine | Marrakech Medina, Marrakech 40008, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#78 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#93 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Dar Naima 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the charm of Marrakech in an authentic riad. Among the first riads / guest house in Marrakech, the Dar Naima has preserved the soul of this ancient dwelling house. Ideally located next door to the souks and 3 minutes walk from the famous Jamaa El Fna square, its two patios offer space in a trees and plants ambiance, its large terrace shows a breathtaking view on the Atlas mountains, the Koutoubia and the rooftops of Marrakech. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Agoda, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Dar Naima reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar Naima Marrakech
Dar Naima Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dar Naima, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.