We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Blissful oasis in the medina” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dar Silsila

Save Saved
You added Dar Silsila to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Dar Silsila
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11 Derb Jdid Laksour, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #111 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
chicago
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Blissful oasis in the medina”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2010

While on an extended work trip to Morocco, I broke free of the traffic and crowds in Casablanca to visit ancient, exotic Marrakech with two childhood friends from the US. Lucky for us, we chose Dar Silsila for our girls' weekend. After a long, hot train ride (first class was sold out!), we wound our way down the alley near the Bab Lakksour gate in the ancient wall of the old city and stepped into the cool, peaceful, elegant but homey courtyards of Dar Silsila. From the rose petals strewn across our beds to the bottle of wine served on the rooftop for our late night catch-up, every detail was thought of by Jean-Patrick and Mohammed-- before we could think of it ourselves. The staff went out of their way with excellent recommendations for restaurants, siteseeing, and negotiating in the markets. The atmosphere is quiet but not silent; you feel part of Marrakech, not separated from it, as you would in a modern hotel outside the walls. But the blissful, quiet atmosphere, comfortable beds, pretty, spacious bathroom, and the welcoming staff made our stay perfect. A lovely rooftop breakfast of fresh squeezed OJ, homemade yogurt with honey and GREAT big mugs o' coffee (a necessity) got us off to a great start each day. I’ll be staying at Dar Silsila on my next trip to Marrakech, whether for business or fun.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

668 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    585
    60
    10
    8
    5
See reviews for
65
343
33
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2010

Dar Silsila is a stunning riad based just a five minute walk from Jamaa el Fna, it is ideal if you want a haven to escape to after the chaos of the streets.
The décor of the riad will not disappoint with every ornament carefully chosen to produce a traditional yet unique feel. Every morning the owner of riad would visit the guests at breakfast and offer his advice on everything from day trips to how to avoid getting ripped off by taxi drivers. However the highlight of this hotel had to be a supervisor called Mohammad. Whilst he too provided practical tips on how to make the most of our short trip he also had a genuine warmth and friendliness which we have rarely experienced even in the best five star establishments.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2010

Being our first time in Marrakech, we were completely unsure of what to expect .... although we would never have imagined how restfull our stay at the Dar Silsila would be !
Walking into the Riad, it's amazing how tranquil the house is. You wouldn't think you were in the middle of Marrakech, rather some country retreat. The staff were absolutely amazing, and always did everything they could to ensure that our stay was as enjoyable as possible ... and always ready with the tea and coffee ! :)
For those (like us) who have never been to Marrakech before and researching a good place to stay, some details about the location of the Riad; It is perfectly placed near the Market Square (5 min walk) and the Souks. At the same time, it's only a short walk (less then 30min) to the New City.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, NYC
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2010

An incredible must-stay if you are in Marrakesh. From the moment we walked into this spectacular home, to our final cup of tea on our way home, we were treated spectacularly. Mohammed, Jean-Patrick and all the staff spoiled us wonderfully for three days at this luxiourious riad in the center of Marrakesh. This beautiful guest house has a fountain, 20 foot ceilings, stained glass windows, rooptop gardens, a spectacular view, several living room areas, wonderful breakfasts, elegant rooms, and so much charm. We took advantage of their massage treatment, which was a great local treat. What a cheerful, hospitable place—I think the staff people love their jobs! Oh, and the location was great. Can’t wait to go back again.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2010

Dar Silsila is excellent. I've stayed in numerous, more expensive riads in Marrakech (chosen using the various Moroccan interior design books - they're all great too) so booked this expecting a cheap, basic hotel. Not so. It's just as good as the more expensive riads in terms of quality of offering, friendliness of staff and central location (opposite the famous Tobsil restaurant and only a short walk from the edge of the medina so easier to find at night and access by car than other riads). Incredible value for money.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2010

Really great place. Beautiful interior and rooms. We had a huge, comfortable bed. Breakfast was excellent and the staff were faultless. We couldn't have been happier. Many thanks for a great stay!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2010

I stayed at the Riad Dar Silsila in March for 3 nights with 2 friends. We had the most fantastic time, very much thanks to Mohammed, Jean-Patrick and the rest of the staff.

I must admit, I was a little nervous at the prospect of going to Marrakech. I had no idea what to expect and was worried about the culture shock that awaited me.

We asked the riad to arrange an airport transfer when we arrived and I highly recommend doing this. It took all the stress out of trying to find the riad ourselves.

As soon as we arrived we were ushered into a relaxing reception area and given mint tea and biscuits. Jean-Patrick sat down with us (and a map!) and recommended places to go, sights to see and things to eat. It made us feel so welcome and very comfortable in the city.

The riad is really close to the souks and the square and, despite this, is like an oasis of calm. We spent every evening on the roof terrace with a bottle of wine, soaking up the great weather.

I couldn't recommend Riad Dar Silsila more highly. When we left after 4 days, we felt like we were leaving friends behind.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Dar Silsila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Silsila

Address: 11 Derb Jdid Laksour, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#42 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#116 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Dar Silsila 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Dar Silsila reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar Silsila Marrakech
Dar Silsila Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dar Silsila, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.