We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Riad close to Jaama El Fna” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dar Silsila

Save Saved
You added Dar Silsila to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Dar Silsila
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11 Derb Jdid Laksour, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #115 of 460 hotels in Marrakech
Paris
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful Riad close to Jaama El Fna”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2009

We spent some lovely days in Dar Silsila. The first days were quite rainy so we relaxed most of the time in our Riad. Mohammed & team spoilt us as much as they could. We had great mint tea, biscuits and when entering the different lounges the team were turning on nice&relaxing music.
Rooms:
We stayed in a standard deluxe room which was comfortable and decorated very classy (like the whole Riad). I liked the bathroom - the basin was out of mosaic. Rooms were very clean.
Breakfast:
Fresh Orangejuice, selfmade yoghurt, croissant, crepes, bread, marmelade/honey, tea, coffee
Location:
Even though the Riad was at the end of a small street and we had to pass through a dark "tunnel" it was never dangerous. We were 2 blond women and had no problems at all.
I highly recommend Dar Silsila. Check the internet site to see photos of the terrace & lounges.
I also recommend to visit Les Bains Marrakech. It´s a wonderful, romantic place to get Hamman & Massages. We spent around 3 hours (incl. 1hour Massage) there and payed not more than 50,-EUR.

  • Liked — Friendly/helpful staff, Room, Lounges, Location
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

667 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    584
    60
    10
    8
    5
See reviews for
65
343
33
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
HeskinLancashire
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2009

We were collected from the airport and delivered to the walled city. The culture shock as you enter the 1000 year old city is amazing. Wind down strange alleyways and in no time you arrive at the impressive door of Dar Silisila.
On entering you are made most welcome with tea and directions etc. then shown to your traditional room.
This is not a clinical faceless hotel, now you are staying with friends, who of course will relieve you of money. The rooms are more than adequate, they do not have televisions or phones (thankfully) but the decor is very sympathetic and traditional. I did sit looking at a window thinking "How did they make that?"
It's position is perfect for exploring, we had the best food in Morocco there and met some lovely people. That is what travel is about. I left thanking everyone for their hospitality.

  • Liked — Friendliness and quality
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2009

We spent 4 days in Marrakech and stayed at this fantastic riad. Its located down an a little alley way, once you are first shown where it is, its easy to find and we felt surprisingly safe wandering down them. It is in a great location near the main night market and just a few minutes walk from the amazing souks. The owner Patrick and all his staff provided great service to us, always friendly and accommodating, extremely attentitive. We stayed in a suite which was beautifully decorated with Moroccan and African influences. It had a separate lounge area. The terraces are lovely for relaxing on in the moroccon sun. Breakfast was a lovely continental. Would highly recommending eating one night in the Riad. You need to give to 24 hour notice. We had a lovely beef dinner that had been cooking for 8 hours and were served at a table scattered with rose petals with candles lit in the background. A lovely rest from the hectic buzz of marrakech. We did not get the chance to try it but you can also arrange a massage and the facilities looked very tempting. We took Patrick up on his recommendations of places to have lunch and dinner and were not disappointed, the same applies for places to see.

  • Liked — Service of the staff
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Pines
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2009

We really liked Dar Silsila. The service, the food, the location and our room were all up to expectation. We would have enjoyed our stay much more if the weather had been nicer, but since it hadn’t stopped raining during our entire stay, we didn’t go out a lot and there wasn’t much to do in the riad. We felt a little bored.

  • Stayed January 2009
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2009

Dar Silsila is an oasis in the medina of Marrakech. While fascinating, the medina is over-stimulating to the nth degree. Once you step over the threshold into Dar Silsila, you are in a peaceful, serene place. The riad is beautifully decorated and has many sitting areas in which to relax.
The breakfast was a delightful Moroccan spread with a special touch (so typical of Jean Patrick) of individual pots of yogurt made right there in the riad kitchen. We had dinner there one evening and it is the one meal in Morocco that I am continuing to tell people about long after being home.
Jean Patrick and his staff are friendly, gracious and helpful in so many ways, with ideas of what to see in Marrakech, restaurants to visit, etc. Jean Patrick has a computer in his office just for his guests' use and even helped me check on a reservation in Paris using his Skype connection.
We are visiting with a friend this weekend who is going to Morocco and we are going to tell her to stay at Dar Silsila. We certainly will when we go back to Marrakech.

  • Liked — It was so peaceful.
  • Disliked — I couldn't stay longer.
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2009

My husband and I wanted to get away over Christmas to Marrakech. Unless you are a lover of chain hotels, you must stay in a riad when visiting Marrakech and if you're staying in a riad, you should pick this one. When the driver drops you off from the airport (a must to find the place!) you'll walk through a dark alleyway, but don't let appearences deceive you. Marrakech is a supremely safe city to walk around it at any time of day. The Riad itself has been very elegantly restored with its rooms around a courtyard. The rooms are stylish, but simple, so don't expect to find a TV or minibar. There are several smaller spaces so privacy is very possible and the roof has a selection of small terraces. Jean Patrick is wonderful and really knows about Customer Service. Our recommendations would be to eat in the riad (it is honestly better than the best restaurant in town) and to have a hammam which will zone you out entirely. Drivers to and from the airport should be booked with Jean Patrick in advance.

  • Liked — The service and the food
  • Disliked — The courtyard can make sound echo
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London/Oxford
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2009

We loved our time at Dar Silsila. We got a wonderful welcome and were looked after perfectly the whole time we were there. The room was a bit small and we were worried about privacy because our door opened directly onto one of the inner courtyards on the ground floor, but in fact because the place is so quiet this wasn't even an issue.

Apart from the size, the room was comfortable, well-equipped and beautifully furnished. The shower could have been better, but that's a pretty minor gripe.

It's the public areas that really make Dar Silsila special though. The stunning lounge areas are great for cozying up with some mint tea in the evening, with lots of candles and quiet mood music set just right. The roof terraces were lovely for afternoon reading too.

The location, the breakfasts and the service were all as good as you could wish for, no complaints at all.

We left Marrakech feeling totally relaxed, which is exactly what we wanted! Well done Sar Silsila!

  • Liked — Public areas
  • Disliked — Size of the room, although it was still fine
  • Stayed December 2008
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Dar Silsila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Silsila

Address: 11 Derb Jdid Laksour, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#43 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#118 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Dar Silsila 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Dar Silsila reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar Silsila Marrakech
Dar Silsila Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dar Silsila, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.