We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dar Silsila

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Dar Silsila to your Saves list
Dar Silsila
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11 Derb Jdid Laksour, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #141 of 480 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Peaceful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here earlier in the year. Our experience was fantastic. The rooms were lovely and clean. I especially loved the extra little touches like the beautiful body wash in the bathroom and the delicious mint tea. Service was fantastic with the staff and Jean-Patrick going above and beyond to make everyone feel comfortable and relaxed. This is definitely a peaceful retreat from the hustle and bustle of the medina.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sophie G, Responsable relations clients at Dar Silsila, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Thank you very much for your lovely comment. We do our best to serve our client and we are happy you have appreciated it.
We hope to see you soon in Dar Silsila.
Very best regards.
Sophie.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

721 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    625
    68
    12
    9
    7
See reviews for
74
368
37
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
64 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

This was our last stop in our tour so it was nice to have a spacious suite. Inside the decor was wonderful and service impeccable. The owner made us feel personally welcomed.

However, what made us very upset and not likely to recommend the place was the condition of the lanes leading up to this riad. You had to walk through unpacked sections with lots of stones and dust, and even worse some sections were not lit at all. We felt trapped in the riad after dark because we didn't want to walk those passageways with our child in tr dark.
We were told its temporary but I've read several reviews over time mentioning this.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
silsila, Propriétaire at Dar Silsila, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
The medina of marrakech is very hold , like over the world they have to work on and it can be incomfortable for the people who leave in and for the tourist who visit the city , for your information now we have a very nice street , every things are finish .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

We just got home from our honeymoon where we spent 4 nights in Marrakech at Dar Silsila. We had read a lot of great reviews about the place and were very excited to see that the riad exceeded our expectations. The courtyard, sitting areas, and rooms were all impeccably clean and beautifully decorated. As soon as we walked through the door, we were greeted by pristine silence and mint tea served by the assistant manager Mohammed. Best check-in experience ever.

Mohammed and Jean-Patrick (the owner) are skilled English speakers and truly understand the meaning of hospitality. Both my wife and I have worked in fine hotels for many years and this stay was on par with the best. The staff helped us book tickets, arrange day trips, find restaurants, and create peaceful evenings in the riad.

When we come back to Marrakech (which we will), we won't bother with a hotel search - we will just email Jean-Patrick. It was a perfect stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skipton
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We have just returned from our first visit to Marrakech - and how lucky we were to find Riad Dar Silsila!! It really was a jewel of an oasis in a hectic, exciting city! Spotlessly clean, efficient, friendly and welcoming staff, delicious breakfasts, comfortable, stylish, relaxing surroundings . . . . much, much better than the photos on the website. The Riad is placed perfectly for visiting most of the main attractions in the city. Jean Patrick is brilliant - very helpful and friendly, offering a wealth of information on trips, restaurants and the must-see sights. If you have time, have a Hammam (a mixture of a steambath, sauna, exfoliation and massage) in the Riad spa. A tip . . . book a taxi transfer from the airport to the Riad - it wouldn't be easy to find without some local knowledge (Jean Patrick can organise this for you). We hope to return! Harry & Fenella

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Great service, great accommodation, was an absolute delight staying here, try their Beef Tagine if you eat meat, very central to everything and we will be back... The friendliness and helpfulness of the management and staff make it a very pleasant stay, and the riad is beautiful with big luxurious rooms.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

We spent 3 nights in Marrakech at the Riad Dar Silsila on our honeymoon and it was absolutely magical. After following a narrow, unpaved, alleyway (common for the Medina) we were happily greeted by the lovely Mohammed and stepped into what felt like a sanctuary. The Riad is stunning...tastefully decorated, spotlessly clean and very comfortable. Not to mention the food is great...from the tagine dinners to the delicious breakfasts on the sunny terrace. Jean Patrick and his staff could not be more welcoming or gracious and we loved every second there!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
896 reviews
126 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 692 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

This riad is located a short walk from the Jemma El Fnaa square. It is set back off the main street. I would advise that you set up transportation with Jean Patrick, your host, as to find it on your own would be challenging.

The riad is just as pictured as well as the rooms. Clean and comfortable with accommodating staff. The rooftop area is a nice place to have tea or drinks and unwind from the hectic day of museums and souk bartering. There is a spa located on the top floor with massage services available.

As soon as I walked in Jean Patrick gave advice and a map as to what and where I wanted to see based on my time schedule and a cup of tea. If there was anything I needed from restaurant advice to transportation advice Jean Patrick did all he could to help with the details.

The room was clean and the bathroom functional. The bed was comfortable and the sleep was quiet and restful. There is lockbox in the the room as well as plenty of closet space. The aircon was sufficient for heating purposes on the cool early Spring nights.

The general area was tasteful decorated and promoted a relaxed atmosphere. From here you can play one of the small games in the room such as chess or checkers, sit and read a book, or relax with your friends with a bottle of wine.

The breakfast is continental. It is a bit light but sufficient to get you started through the day.

The one downside to this location is the entrance way from the street. As safe and as well lit as the area was you have to go back through a windy alley that has a small tunnel. I was a little apprehensive at first.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
4.3 mi away
Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa
1.4 mi away
Riad Nabila
Riad Nabila
#199 of 480 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 115 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#5 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Riad el Noujoum
Riad el Noujoum
#109 of 480 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 92 reviews
1.1 mi away
Riad de la Belle Epoque
Riad de la Belle Epoque
#61 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 400 reviews
0.3 mi away
MonRiad
MonRiad
#111 of 480 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Silsila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Silsila

Address: 11 Derb Jdid Laksour, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#45 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#69 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#136 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Dar Silsila 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Dar Silsila reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar Silsila Marrakech
Dar Silsila Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dar Silsila, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.