We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A divine riad” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dar Silsila

Save Saved
You added Dar Silsila to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Dar Silsila
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11 Derb Jdid Laksour, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #111 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
London
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A divine riad”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

I would highly recommend this divine riad. Off the narrow alleyways of the medina and behind the huge door, Dar Silsila is a calm and beautifully decorated oasis from the hot & boisterous souks. The staff and owner are very helpful. If you are in need of suggestions, Jean Patrique has no end of ideas of places to visit. He or his assistant, Salaam, will also make reservations for you at restaurants and organise taxis or excursions. Nice breakfast of coffee, homemade yogurt and Moroccan pancakes and breads. Be sure to request in advance to eat there one night and have a Marrakech specialty of beef tangia which is left to cook during the day in the fires of the local hammam. If you want a stay with a personal touch this is an opportunity to experience life inside a riad. There is a safe in the room and free wifi.

Room Tip: All the rooms face onto a courtyard in one of the two riads so you are not bothered by noise from th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

668 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    585
    60
    10
    8
    5
See reviews for
65
343
33
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We stayed at Dar Silsila for 4 days and our experience could not have been more pleasurable.
The location in medina is so convenient, in the medina but also so short to get out of it.The riad is splendid with swimming pool, hammam,salons and dining rooms.It is not overly decorated, capturing the essence of the Moroccan style.The rooms are spacious, with elegant bathrooms attached.
Jean-Patrick(host/owner) could not have been more accommodation and gracious, making us feel like we were entering our own home away from home.He apologized for the construction in the street leading to the riad(they are replacing the water and sour system, it could be a bit messing upgrading a 13th century old city) that the inconvenient we might pay for visiting such a magical place and to stay in the medina.
The staff was always there when we needed them, plenty of towels,very comfortable and cozy bedding, great breakfasts, and delicious meals if you desire to order on the premises .
We shall definitively return .Great job Jean-Patrick.

Room Tip: If you are looking for solitude and piece the medina is not for you
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnstable, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

I have just returned from a lovely stay at this charming riad and feel that I must defend it against the most recent "lousy riad" review. We too experienced the inconvenience of the street repair to the water system but there was nothing that the riad could do to predict or ameliorate the situation. At worst it was just another curiosity of life in the medina and will very soon result in a much smoother approach to the riad than before. We experienced romantically decorated rooms with very comfortable beds. The breakfast was typical of what we found throughout our time in Morocco- delicious fresh squeezed oj, fresh breads, crepes and the most delicious homemade yoghurt of the trip. The very friendly host, Jean Patrick was on hand every morning to discuss our plans for the day and make recommendations for dinner. His friendly staff welcomed us warmly every evening. Our one pre-arranged dinner at the riad was delicious. To expect the riad to provide a dinner at the last minute is not how Morocco works or cooks. In our experience all food was bought fresh each day at the market and meals needed to be ordered in advance. I highly recommend Dar Silsila.

Stayed March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California, USA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

This riad in the heart of the Marrakech medina was a huge disappointment. After reading the reviews, we were very excited to stay here. However, upon our arrival, we were met with a muddy walk through a very dark alley way to get to the front door. There was some construction work going on laying pipes, but no steps were taken to lay some boards over the mud to get there. It was also a very intimidating walk for 4 women at night.
Once inside, the place felt very small. The narrow design makes for poor acoustics; such that you can hear everything that goes on in the courtyard below. The rooms were average. There was no hot water at first (forgot to "turn it on") and it was impossible to take 2 hot showers back-to-back. The beds were extremely small (and I am only 5' 2"!). The owner does not live on site and only graces everyone with his presence in the morning. His staff is ok, serviceable, but nothing great. The dinners prepared were excellent; however the breakfasts consists of juice, bread and yogurt -- no fruit, no eggs, nothing more. When we requested something, we were told a simple, "no." When we experienced a terrible rain storm such that we dared not leave the riad (and trek through the mud) for dinner, there was no food that the riad had on site for us to have an impromptu dinner. After staying at a fabulous riad in Fez, we were extremely disappointed with this riad in Marrakech. Do not stay here!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
silsila, Propriétaire at Dar Silsila, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Sorry about this, but we really do not have any control on what is happening in terms of construction outside of our doors. The medina of Marrakesh is very old and there is a lot of work going on to improve the sanitationof the city. This work happened to coincide with your stay.

Generally, all are clients are very aware of the confort and quietness desired . In any riad of a smaller size sometimes the noise carries it's hard to control.

It's very difficult to compare Dar Silsila to such a large riad where they stayed in Fez. Moreover the price they paid in Fez was more than double that of our pricing. Secondly breakfasts in a small riad differs greatly from breakfasts in some larger riads and hotels and the decor does to from place to place. What a pity that our client did not remember the fresh strawberries that were offed !
For the hot water, my appologies. That was indeed our fault and our personnel forgot (for the first time) to turn on the boiler to their room. It's the first time that it happed in nine years. We do have 80+ litre heaters for each room which should be more than sufficient for two or three showers......
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Riad was impeccable. Jean Patrick was a gracious host and helped us with dinner reservations for a special New Years Eve. We ate onsite the first night, which was a perfect introduction to Morocco. Great tagines (beef and vegetable) and a nice (unexpected) wine as well. Breakfast changed every day and was certainly an acceptable start to our long days getting lost in the Souks! Our room was beautiful. A problem with the shower drain was addressed and resolved quickly. The location is perfect, and Jean Patrick arranged a transfer from the airport for a reasonable rate (around $20) which is expensive for Morocco but was well worth it as our driver met us inside the airport lobby and knew where our place was. Finally, we left a scarf in the room that we had purchased in the Souks (it had sentimental value as we paid five times as much as we should have but got to visit with a Dyer). Jean Patrick arranged to have the scarf shipped by bus to Essouira, where it arrived in our hotel. Unbelievable service. I can't say enough about Jean Patrick and Dar Silsila. it is the perfect Riad and a great way to start your adventures.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

I work in events in New York, Ny for the Gramercy Park Hotel- events under the care of Danny Meyer (American Restaurateur famous for his exceptional hospitality). As someone who dedicates a lot of time in the best of the best of hospitality and service, I must say that the staff at Dar Sisila has truly taught me a thing or two. Jean- Patrick (the owner) is beyond kind and helpful. He will do anything and everything for his guests, but why should he have to? The staff is always one step ahead of you- they anticipate your needs, and are wonderfully attentive. Salaam (2nd in command) is truly one of a kind. He has a great heart, and he is great at what he does. My mom and I stayed 4 nights and had a blast. She and I truly felt as if we were home. Do yourself a favor. Stay here.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

First time visitors to Marrakech might be completely overwhelmed by how... different, it is there, and it is very nice to have a safe haven to come back to when you need a break. Dar Silsila is that safe haven! This riad is a very comforting place to stay, it is spacious and beautiful, the terrace is extremely nice, the staff are very welcoming and always smiling!

Breakfast is great and you can ask for mint tea whenever you want.

If space is available, they will upgrade you to deluxe and if nobody is using your room the next day, you can check out, whenever you want.

The location is also great, everything you'd want to do is in walking range, and if not, cabs are available a short walk outside the hotel. The only complaints are the single beds may not be as wide as you hope (not really an issue) and the shadowy alley you have to walk through to get there (it's only "scary" the first time, and your cab driver will be with you so it's okay)

If you book, email the hotel to provide you transport to and from the airport. When you leave the airport, be careful, someone pretended they were from Dar Silsila and were our cab, thankfully I knew he was lying. When you leave make sure your driver has a sign :)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Dar Silsila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Silsila

Address: 11 Derb Jdid Laksour, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#42 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#116 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Dar Silsila 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Dar Silsila reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar Silsila Marrakech
Dar Silsila Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dar Silsila, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.