We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dar Silsila

Save Saved
You added Dar Silsila to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Dar Silsila
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11 Derb Jdid Laksour, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #115 of 460 hotels in Marrakech
Paris, France
1 review
“Great place for stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Very pleasant stay Dar Silsila, very good location, we had a spacious suite beautifully decorated and the weather was so nice we could enjoy the terrace with a beautiful view.
Coming back at Dar Silsila late afternoon felt just like going home with the staff greeting you nicely at the door. Jean-patrick gave us very good advice to discover Marrakech better. We shall return with great pleasure

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

667 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    584
    60
    10
    8
    5
See reviews for
65
343
33
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

I was abit surprised that we had to walk to our riad and I am glad we did. I was our 1st time in Morocco and didnt know what to expect. We walked into a narrow and dark alley about few mins where the driver alight us. We approached at a small wooden door and were welcomed by a friendly gentleman, who introduced himself as Jean Patrick, the owner of the riad. On of his staff took us to our suite and it so gorgeous, well decorated and very Moroccan. I love our suite and even copied some of the decor in the room for my room at home.

During our 4 days stay, we had a good experience in Marrakesh, walking distance to the Jemaal el fna square , souks (which we dont really care for it ) and to the historical sites. When I told Jean Patrick that I wanted to buy Saffron, he offered to buy from a good source where he buys for himself and guests.

Overall staying at Dar Silsila is no regret after reading the reviews from TripAdvisor. The riad has a wonderful, helpful, friendly staff, good food and nice and cozy bed. It is a hidden treasure and I would highly recommendKeep the good job Mr Bubolski, you and your staff have taken good care us and make our stay pleasant and memorable, we will come back

Room Tip: We had a beautiful suite for a family on the terrace. The room is nicely decorated with a very auth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

My daughter and I enjoyed a three night stay here in January. The riad is beautifully kept with great attention to detail. The beds are very comfortable. The staff are really lovely and make you feel very welcome. The owner, Jean Patrick is very keen to recommend places for you to go and clearly wants you to get the most out of your stay. We ate our last evening meal in the riad and had a wonderful vegetable tajine. It was really delicious - we could have eaten the whole lot except for the fact that the portion was huge!
We would thoroughly recommend the Dar Salsila.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

This was our first time visit to Marrakech for a New Year's break. We are a well-travelled couple, enjoying the freedom of just the two of us as our offspring all grown up and independent. Dar Silsila is the perfect base to explore Marrakech being a few minutes walk from all the sights. Jean-Patrick Bubolski is an outstanding owner-host, showing excellent and personal commitment to the well-being and satisfaction of every guest. His team are charming and equally attentive, always with a smile on their face. The riad is charming, clean, the bed very comfortable and there is enough wi-fi bandwidth to get the essentials done if you really are having to interrupt your holiday. Follow Jean-Patrick's suggestions and you'll have a blast. In any event, for arrival in unstressed state should you be unfamiliar with Marrakech, we strongly advise you to ask for the taxi transfer from the airport (about EUR17); we were very glad we did.

Room Tip: Ask Jean-Patrick to sort your transfer from the airport.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

The perfect riad to visit the Medina, near Jemaa el fna square and the taxi station (so you don't have to walk alone in the Medina during the night).
The riad is very clean and each suite is amazing. The staff is so kind, they also gave us a gift for the new year eve!
The owner of Dar Silsila took care of us, giving advice of Marrakech and organizing an escursion in the mountains.
Highly recommended, it was a great experience!

Room Tip: We stayed in the african suite and it was very clean and quite
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

It was our first time staying in a Riad and we stayed there one week. (If you have never tried riads before - they are less shiny, converted homes as they are, but all the more cosy.)

The staff is one of the many great things about this place. Always smiling, always helpful, and it seems like they really like working there. (some afternoons the two young women were sitting in the lounge downstairs listening to music and singing (not too loud or anything) it made it feel more like a home). We were received the first day by Salam, sweetest guy ever, who offered us mint tea and showed us our rooms.

If we asked for coffee when we came back from dinner 22.30, we got it And everything else too, it seems.
The breakfast was the same every day (different pancakes every other day), but we loved it. Bread and pancakes, tea or coffee, marmalade, sugar, honey and butter. Already missed.

In hotels in europe we normally get just blankets and sheets in the bed, but here we got real duvets. The beds were comfortable (single beds could have been a bit broader, but ok), the heating worked well. Made a bit of noise, but nothing you couldn't sleep trough.

We went on one trip to the Atlas mountains. The stops on the way was mostly places to shop, and not that interesting, but the trip to the waterfalls was really nice (souks all the way up, though :)) and our guide was really sweet.

When we arrived, we were followed from the taxi by a man with a wheelbarrow (for the suitcases). He started walking down the narrow road to the riad, it is almost a tunnel. it looked dark and scary. We have been laughing at it later, how we felt like naîve tourists who just followed wherever, but obviously it was all good. And later we appreciated our "secret passage" to the riad and felt safe walking there.

The week went by too quickly, and we already miss staying there. We actually talked about how the place we stayed was one of the best things about the whole vacation (and Marrakech is lovely). Hope to come back some day.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Dar Silsila is a friendly, small hotel in the medina in Marakesh. It's ideally positioned close to Jemaa el-Fnaa (the big square), but also close to the medina walls so you dont get too lost. Our room was compact, but comfortable, and the bed reasonable. Wifi wasn't accessible from our room, but there was access to a slow internet link in the shared areas. The staff were very friendly, and happy to answer any questions you had during your stay.

Our evening meal we took in the restaurant was very good, but i'd say that the breakfast was a bit limited, and exactly the same each day which was a shame.

Do be aware that immediately after entering the front door there is a deep pool that you have to walk around. It was empty when we visited, so you had to watch your step. Not ideal for young children.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Dar Silsila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Silsila

Address: 11 Derb Jdid Laksour, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#43 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#118 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Dar Silsila 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Tingo so you can book your Dar Silsila reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar Silsila Marrakech
Dar Silsila Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dar Silsila, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.