We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven of peace in the Medina” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dar Silsila

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Dar Silsila to your Saves list
Dar Silsila
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11 Derb Jdid Laksour, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #118 of 471 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Milan, Italy
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Heaven of peace in the Medina”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

The perfect riad to visit the Medina, near Jemaa el fna square and the taxi station (so you don't have to walk alone in the Medina during the night).
The riad is very clean and each suite is amazing. The staff is so kind, they also gave us a gift for the new year eve!
The owner of Dar Silsila took care of us, giving advice of Marrakech and organizing an escursion in the mountains.
Highly recommended, it was a great experience!

Room Tip: We stayed in the african suite and it was very clean and quite
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

707 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    617
    64
    11
    8
    7
See reviews for
72
363
35
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

It was our first time staying in a Riad and we stayed there one week. (If you have never tried riads before - they are less shiny, converted homes as they are, but all the more cosy.)

The staff is one of the many great things about this place. Always smiling, always helpful, and it seems like they really like working there. (some afternoons the two young women were sitting in the lounge downstairs listening to music and singing (not too loud or anything) it made it feel more like a home). We were received the first day by Salam, sweetest guy ever, who offered us mint tea and showed us our rooms.

If we asked for coffee when we came back from dinner 22.30, we got it And everything else too, it seems.
The breakfast was the same every day (different pancakes every other day), but we loved it. Bread and pancakes, tea or coffee, marmalade, sugar, honey and butter. Already missed.

In hotels in europe we normally get just blankets and sheets in the bed, but here we got real duvets. The beds were comfortable (single beds could have been a bit broader, but ok), the heating worked well. Made a bit of noise, but nothing you couldn't sleep trough.

We went on one trip to the Atlas mountains. The stops on the way was mostly places to shop, and not that interesting, but the trip to the waterfalls was really nice (souks all the way up, though :)) and our guide was really sweet.

When we arrived, we were followed from the taxi by a man with a wheelbarrow (for the suitcases). He started walking down the narrow road to the riad, it is almost a tunnel. it looked dark and scary. We have been laughing at it later, how we felt like naîve tourists who just followed wherever, but obviously it was all good. And later we appreciated our "secret passage" to the riad and felt safe walking there.

The week went by too quickly, and we already miss staying there. We actually talked about how the place we stayed was one of the best things about the whole vacation (and Marrakech is lovely). Hope to come back some day.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Dar Silsila is a friendly, small hotel in the medina in Marakesh. It's ideally positioned close to Jemaa el-Fnaa (the big square), but also close to the medina walls so you dont get too lost. Our room was compact, but comfortable, and the bed reasonable. Wifi wasn't accessible from our room, but there was access to a slow internet link in the shared areas. The staff were very friendly, and happy to answer any questions you had during your stay.

Our evening meal we took in the restaurant was very good, but i'd say that the breakfast was a bit limited, and exactly the same each day which was a shame.

Do be aware that immediately after entering the front door there is a deep pool that you have to walk around. It was empty when we visited, so you had to watch your step. Not ideal for young children.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Ohio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

The very first thing you notice when you climb into bed are those awesome sheets!!! Like being enveloped in comfort. Wow. Jean Patrick is wonderful, a true gentleman. His hotel is beautiful, staff very attentive. Charming? Very! Scumptuous food as well. I will definitely return.

Room Tip: All are wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Why did i book our stay at Dar Silsila, basically because of all the good reviews! I can say it lived up to everything and more. Jean-Patrick is extremely helpful and has created an experience to be remembered! The rooms are large and the bed extremely comfortable. It is perfectly locate for access to the square and all the sites and sounds of Marrakech. The staff work extremely hard to keep the place spotless and it is all the little extra touches that really do make the stay truly relaxing and enjoyable

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

You will know Dar Silsila is a labor of love when you meet owner, Jean Patrick. The hotel is beautiful, the rooms very, very comfortable, the common rooms also lovely, and overall everything sparkles. There is a very Moroccan charm about the way the building is decorated. The food was terrific and we received plenty of attention whenever we needed anything. Do stay here when in Marrakech!

Room Tip: no such thing as a room that isn't lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EntireWorld
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Whenever we travel to Marrakesh, which is quite often, we stay in Dar Silsila. It goes without saying that this is our preferred riad in Marrakesh for its style, location, and superb service. A top-notch and serene escape once you've explored the Marrakesh medina and main square.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dar Silsila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Silsila

Address: 11 Derb Jdid Laksour, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#54 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#124 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Dar Silsila 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Dar Silsila reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar Silsila Marrakech
Dar Silsila Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dar Silsila, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.