We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect base to explore Marrakech” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dar Silsila

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Dar Silsila to your Saves list
Dar Silsila
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11 Derb Jdid Laksour, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #109 of 465 Hotels in Marrakech
Sevenoaks, UK
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A perfect base to explore Marrakech”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2008

I fully endorse what others have said about Dar Silsila. I visited with my wife and another couple on the strength of these reviews and wasn't disappointed. I recommend that you take up Jean-Patrick's offer of a pick up from the airport. We were met straight out of immigration and taken to the Riad. Given Dar Silsila's interesting location through a tunnel in a narrow alley you may have trouble finding it on your own.

We booked a meal at Dar Silsila the first night and as described by the other reviewers it is highly recommended. Beer and wine (Moroccan) are available. The dining room is also a good place to get to know the other guests and make friends.

Take full advantage of Jean-Patrick's local knowledge of the city and its restaurants. He recommended where to eat for the best experiences and booked an excellent restaurant for our meal on the last night.

Dar Silsila is located within easy walking distance of the Souks and the Djemaa el Fna square. We spent wonderful hours 'lost' in the souks, bartering for local crafts - hand woven fabrics, beautiful joinery, metal objects etc. The local people are incredibly helpful and friendly and when they offer to help they really mean it. We did not feel threatened or pressured at any time. Dar Silsila was an oasis of peace at the end of the day. It was amazing how we could find our way back through the maze of streets and alleyways.

Dar Silsila is highly recommended for anyone wanting to explore this fascinating city.

  • Liked — Friendly, helpful staff
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

687 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    603
    61
    10
    8
    5
See reviews for
68
352
35
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wotton-under-Edge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2008

Once again we cannot add anything to what has been written already. Everything was perfect. The ideal place to site yourself when staying in Marrakech. As a bolthole from the hustle and bustle of the city it was ideal, and the attention to detail to everything be it the furnishings/food/service could not be faulted. We will certainly be returning.

Stayed February 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2008

Myself and three friends have just returned from a wonderful three night stay at the Dar Silsila. I can't really add anything new which hasn't been said already, except that we were delighted with our choice of Riad and I would not hesitate to recommend it to anyone wanting a fabulous location (minutes from the main square), a welcoming team of staff and particularly helpful host (Jean-Patrik). The Riad is beautifully presented, divinely tranquil and, perhaps most importantly, very clean.

As mentioned on other reviews, definitely try a dinner at Dar Silsila (it was by far the best meal during our stay in Marrakech!) and book a transfer directly through the Riad, as we were met promptly at the airport and escorted right to the door without any hassle of bartering with taxi drivers from the word go!

All in all, a great stay. Thank you all at Dar Silsila!

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed March 2008
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2008

We have been back for just over two weeks now from visiting Marrakech and staying at Dar Sarsila. The memory is still with us and we have already recommended it to our friends and colleagues – it is an amazing place to stay.

Dar Sarsila is a perfect base to see Marrakech, especially if you’ve never visited the city before, like us! Marrakech is a hectic place to be and Dar Sarsila is a perfect oasis when you want a break from the hustle and bustle of the Medina.

We had planned a four night stay at Dar Sarsila, and arrived mid morning on Wednesday 27th February. We were greeted by Jean Patrick (the host) and his wonderful staff with mint tea and cookies. Jean Patrick then sat with us to find out what we wanted from the holiday and was happy to recommend places to eat and visit and was also more than happy to make the reservations for us. His help was priceless. He then pointed out on the map where we were in relation to things and off we went to enjoy the city and get lost in the souks.

The food at the riad was amazing, we actually intended to eat there for one evening but it was so amazing we cancelled a highly recommended restaurant to eat there for a second night. The lamb tajines with apple and crystallised ginger is mouth watering.

If we returned to Marrakech we wouldn’t consider staying anywhere else, the Dar Sarsila is perfectly placed to explore and is a perfect place to rest. The rooms are amazingly decorated and spotlessly clean and there is a wonderful terrace too to sit (day or night) and it is the best place to be to listen to the prayer calls. Wonderful …

  • Liked — Friendly Staff, Food and Location
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2008

We loved eveything about our stay here. We came for 3 days after we were in Madrid, Spain and it was refreshing to come to a place with such great customer service! Jean Patrick sat us down to show us the area on a map and advise us on where to go and what to do...we didn't even have to ask. If we had a question or request, he was quick to answer and help us out. The entire staff there (I'm sorry, I don't know names) were wonderful. Jean Patrick's recommendations (including where to eat, hammams, etc) were all fantastic! We had dinner at Dar Silsila one of the evenings and it was absolutely delicious! Our room was very comfortable and nice. The riad is in a very cool location....short walk from Jemaa el-Fna.
Marrakech is an awesome place to visit and I would highly recommend to go there and stay at Dar Silsila. Great value too!

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2008

What ever you do don't be put off by the way in! Down an alley, under a building, round a few turns brings you to an anonymous door in a high wall behind which is a superb place to stay. Friendly staff, clean and comfortable rooms; an oasis of tranquility in an otherwise frenetic city. Dar Silsila is perfectly placed to let you explore the Medina to your heart's content.
Jean Patrick was very helpful giving us advice on booking golf courses and arranging transport to and from them every day. His suggestions for dinner were excellent - take them.
All in all we had a most enjoyable stay and would highly recommend it.

  • Liked — Comfort, friendliness, location
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2008

My fiancé and I stayed at Dar Silsila at the end of February and absolutely loved our experience there! Jean Patrick greeted us when we first arrived and gave us a map of Marrakech that we looked over together while sipping mint tea.

We arranged to have dinner at Dar Silsila our first night because we knew we would be exhausted from our flight. What a romantic evening! We had a candlelit dinner and wine in the cozy dining area. The food was terrific (traditional Moroccan tagine).

Our room was the perfect size for us (the smaller room-as we booked at the last minute). There were rose petals on our towels and fresh roses and bottled water on our coffee table.

The staff was AMAZING-so friendly and helpful. When we wandered in after a long day of being lost in the souks, the staff always welcomed us in with a smile :)

*Beautiful riad
*Excellent staff (and very helpful owner!)
*Super location-right around the corner from Djemâa-El-Fna

  • Liked — Location, room, and staff
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dar Silsila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Silsila

Address: 11 Derb Jdid Laksour, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#41 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#44 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#108 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Dar Silsila 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Dar Silsila reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar Silsila Marrakech
Dar Silsila Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dar Silsila, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.