We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A magnificent escape from the intoxicating madness of Marrakech” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dar Silsila

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Dar Silsila to your Saves list
Dar Silsila
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11 Derb Jdid Laksour, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #115 of 467 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A magnificent escape from the intoxicating madness of Marrakech”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

Upon our arrival we were greeted by the lovely staff and the hospitable owner, Jean Patrick. We marveled at the beauty of the property especially after making our way through the wild sights we saw on the streets of Marrakech. While not large, Dar Silsila is wonderfully decorated and the numerous terraces are an added bonus.

We rented a terrace suite which I highly recommend as it was divine. The room was spacious and the bed was comfortable with plenty of cupboard space. The only critique I have is that the bathroom is small but very beautiful.

The breakfast provided was simple and tasty. I urge visitors to have dinner at the riad as the tangine is terrific, especially the chicken. We also had a massage at the riad and it was very relaxing.

Finally, the location of the riad was only a 5 minute walk from the centre square of the medina. Overall, the riad was an excellent break from the intensity of the city and it was our home away from home.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

701 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    613
    64
    11
    8
    5
See reviews for
70
360
35
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NY
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

We truly enjoyed our stay at the Dar Silsila. It has a great location and an extremely accommodating staff. Upon arrival, we were greeted with delicious tea and cookies. The room we stayed in was lovely. We particularly liked the special liquid body wash/ shampoo. The owner, Jean Patrick, could not have been more helpful. His suggestions for restaurants and activities were excellent. Jean Patrick took care of everything: getting tickets for excursions, making reservations, etc.. At the end of each day, we felt that the day was all we had hoped for thanks to Jean Patrick's suggestions. Our vacation was fantastic and we will recommend the Dar Silsila to everyone we know!

Room Tip: The suite on the roof is a great room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birmingham
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

A lovely place to stay, very welcoming staff, comfortable rooms and wonderful roof terraces, we really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Sussex
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

Really enjoyed our stay here, Jean Patrick is the perfect host and was very helpful, advising us of a suitable itinerary to maximise sightseeing opportunities given our short stay. Also, good for advise on restaurants.
As to the Riad itself, a very pretty, clean establishment with charming staff. We stayed in a suite which was perfect for us size-wise but to be honest not so much a suite, more a large room with seating area.

Room Tip: try and get a suite
See more room tips
Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012

This one didn't start well. On the first night upon arrival, in only 30 min we have 'discovered' three cockroaches (!!!) in our room. It was almost midnight and we were tired, but we still asked to be moved to the other room, and riad's duty staff member Fouad was very responsive. We spend the night in more spacious suite (room we booked was 'standard' type). Next day we talked to owner Jean-Patrick about our options. He apologized for bugs in the room, and offered free upgrade to de-luxe room, which we nevertheless have not accepted, due to fact that room we were offered was next door to room we have found bugs in. He also presented the written proof that every 3 months all rooms are checked by Inspection for Health Safety and all problems are fixed as/if needed. We spent the remain of our week in this riad in other 'standard' room (pretty adequate).

Standard rooms are little short on space comparing to other riads we saw (example: Riad Anjar in very neighbourhood), so upgrade to suite is recommended. Lobby and rooms for breakfast and leisure time are nicely decorated, and we really enjoyed mint tea or coffee during quiet and relaxing afternoons.

Riad is very conveniently located in old medina of Marrakech, only 5 min walk from Jamaa El Fna, and it's easy to locate.

To summarize:

Silsila's strongest points are location and very efficient and always-with-smile staff members (Salaam and Fouad excel at all times), as well as easy booking process with Jean-Patrick;

weak points are somewhat small (standard) rooms if you plan to stay more than 2-3 days, poor wi-fi connection on upper floors (and non-existing on most parts of the roof terrace) and same unexciting breakfast every day (only varies in joghurt).

We have still enjoyed our stay at Dar Silsila.

Room Tip: For stays longer than 2-3 days, get suite - they provide more space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

Stayed in 2 great rooms bookending excursions. Somewhat hidden location is a bit of an adventure, but great centralized digs for access to the heart of the medina. Wonderful staff and above-and-beyond service. Nice roof-top!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2012

Brilliant location if you're wanting to stay in the Medina near Djemaa el Fna. Jean Patrick and the staff were more than helpful, offering suggestions for everything you could want from your trip to Marrakech. They picked up our bus tickets for our trip to Essaouira, and we got an upgrade on our room too! I'd definitely recommend the Hammam - nearly 2 hours of bliss for only 50 euro! Would absolutely recommend this riad. Terrific!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dar Silsila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Silsila

Address: 11 Derb Jdid Laksour, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#50 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#117 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Dar Silsila 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Dar Silsila reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar Silsila Marrakech
Dar Silsila Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dar Silsila, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.