We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent customer service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dar Silsila

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Dar Silsila to your Saves list
Dar Silsila
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11 Derb Jdid Laksour, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #108 of 462 Hotels in Marrakech
1 review
“Excellent customer service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2011 via mobile

The owner and the staff made sure that I enjoyed my first trip to Marrakesh. The owner was very helpful and arranged a walking tour guide for me on a very short notice.
The staff where very polite and very helpful. Especially Fouad and Salam.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

685 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    601
    61
    10
    8
    5
See reviews for
67
352
34
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
poole,dorset
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2011

Stayed here for 2 nights and it was fabulous. JP arranged a transfer from the airport which was greatly appreciated as i would have been quite nervous wandering down the narrow alley to the riad. the door opened and it was like a clam shell opening to reveal a pearl. Salam greeted us in pristine uniform, mint tea and homemade biscuits followed in the lovely homely lounge and we were given a map and ideas to help plan our stay. the owner was wonderfully friendly and could not have done more to look after us. our room was lovely - very romantic and we wish the weather had been warm enough to sit and linger on the roof terrace. breakfast and excellent and the staff very attentive. We would be very happy to return

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2011

The staff and owner went above and beyond my expectations. It was the small touches that made it inviting, warm and after a day of exploring, I looked forward to going back to the riad to relax and didn't want to leave! The location is in perfect walking distance to the square - short enough walk to feel the transition from neighbourhood to the hustle and bustle of cars, people and sites. I also felt safe - in the evenings there were security escorts (not by the riad but perhaps by the government) who will walk you to the door. The riad and rooms are kept up to date with decor and it is apparent that it is very well maintained. The terrace and lounges are comfortable and spent my time there reading, planning the activities for the day, and mingling with other guests. At the end of my stay, I was relaxed, charged and sad to say goodbye to the place and staff.

The value for money is worth every penny!

Room Tip: Ensure you plan ahead or ask questions with respect to how you want the room arranged (also depends...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
italy
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2011 via mobile

I stayed at Dar SIlsila earlier in the year. It was high on Trip Advisors list. However I felt let down. I didn't feel that I had the service advised and felt rushed in checking out. A beatufil riad and sweet staff

  • Stayed January 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2011

Walking distance to the famous souk, this beautiful riyad is managed by an extremely helpful and kind owner, Jean Patrick and his warm staff. We stayed for 4 days in early October and towards the end, we wanted to stay in, instead of going out to see the souks and markets. JP went out of his way to accommodate us, even driving us to our destinations himself!! Gave expert advise on what to do and where to eat, how to manage our whole stay, everything was taken cared of. the Breakfast was delicious, and he upgraded us to a room of luxury. the peaceful setting tucked into a quiet but central area was just the way you should start your days in dizzying Morocco. JP is the star of the show, and he is very deserving of the best service award, you truly feel like family there.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hassocks, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights in November. Really lovely traditional riad hotel with outdoor terraces to view the city. Tucked away but short distance to the centre. Great decor and rooms. Staff were lovely and very well managed by French owner. We had a delicious meal here one night.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2011

Excellent riad located deep in the Medina. On first arrival you'd never find this place unless you were being led, but being down an alley, off an alley makes it all the more appealling and its a lovely place to stay; authentic, comfortable, attractive, polite and courteous staff, and a lovely multi-level roof terrace area. And amazingly quiet! The only noise from outside being the early morning fish seller and the background sound of the call to prayer.
Explore the souks, visit the main square and surrounding area for good and cheap restaurants. Taxis are easily come by (don't pay over 30 Dh for any journey in the city and no more than 70Dh back to the airport). If you want to buy loose food such as nuts or fruit, avoid the main square and explore DEEP into the souks. And never let anybody show you the way anywhere unless you want to pay for the privelege (if anybody says to you "It's OK, I am Berber" be wary. It means they will want money!)
Top tip - Go to a riad like this, then buy a day pass into a large hotel outside the Medina where you can use their pools/gym/huge outdoor sun beds etc for £15 to £25 per day. But if you want to save cash, sneak in your own snacks and drinks.
Finally, the Beef Tajine at the riad is awesome. A nice treat for one night.

Room Tip: Back of the riad will avoid the front door sounds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dar Silsila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Silsila

Address: 11 Derb Jdid Laksour, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#42 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#108 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Dar Silsila 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Dar Silsila reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar Silsila Marrakech
Dar Silsila Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dar Silsila, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.