We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great service, would definitely go back” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dar Silsila

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Dar Silsila to your Saves list
Dar Silsila
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11 Derb Jdid Laksour, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #141 of 480 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Great location, great service, would definitely go back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2011

We arrived on Friday evening from London and had arranged transportation through Jean Patrick. Although Jean Patrick was not on there when we arrived, he called and welcomed us to Marrakesh. They helped us find a restaurant and provided us a list of the best places to visit during our short time in Marrakesh. Having visited in July we expected warm weather, but nothing close to the 48 degrees in the sweltering heat. You would have never known in our room though as the air conditioner worked like magic and provided us a great retreat after a long day of sightseeing. I would truly recommend this ‘hotel’ to everyone. It is located oin one of the small side streets famous throughout the old city, but provides the cleanliness and convenience of a modern hotel. I couldn’t have asked for more. Its close proximity to all of the key sights was just the icing on the cake. Thank you for your hospitality Jean Patrick! If (when) I make it back to Marrakesh, I will definitely be staying at Dar Silsila.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

721 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    625
    68
    12
    9
    7
See reviews for
74
368
37
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2011

`An oasis of calm after the madness of the city...but only 5 minutes away from the medina and square. I returned to Dar Silsila after an absence of 5 years and found the same oasis as before only better. The owner Jean Patrick arranged for a driver to greet me at the airport and then for a light supper to be ready for me at the Riad. I stayed in the African suite which is just beautiful with the obvious African touches, wonderful crisp high thread count sheets and a large en suite bathroom with a rain shower. The extra little touches of candles , roses and petals made it all the more special and it was spotlessly clean. Since my last visit they have added a spa, so I had a steam exfoliation and wonderful hour long massage for a very reasonable price. Jean Patrick was kind enough to advise me where to shop and where not to so that everything I bought was really good value and not inflated for tourists. I cannot recommend this riad enough. If you want to get away from it all yet still be central with an owner in situ you can't do much better than this. Thank you Jean Patrick

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2011

I had a wonderful stay in this riad! The owner Jean-Patrick is very helpful to give you suggestions where to eat and what visit in town and make your stay a good moment in his place. The riad is beautiful and charming very nice terrace on the roof where you can take your breakfast or a "thé à la menthe". The room was very confortable and quiet. The riad is very close from the big square Jemaa El Fna and the souks, great location! With pleasure I will return in Marrakech and stay in this riad! Thanks again for your welcome Jean-Patrick!!!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2011

The labyrinthine world of Marrakech's medina is easily a place where one can get lost. Its usually dirty and filled with the dust of over a thousand years of commerce. Yet, the most surprising is that one needs to pass through a doorway and can thus traverse from the offal to the opulent. Dar Silsila was very much this experience.
We entered Marrakech and were dragging our luggage behind us when we entered a small alley where my first instinct was not to go. After rounding a few corners we found our Riad and immediately I was amazed at the sense of calm and tranquility. The staff made us at home and our room was both comfortable and unique. The food was excellent and the roof top terrace was an excellent place to rest and read a book. In the night, one can her the faint clamor coming from the main square which is a short walk away. I'd recommend this place to anyone.


silandco.blogspot.com

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2011

Stayed for the Easter break, everything ran pretty smoothly, any where we wanted to go wa made easy for us by the hotel, rooms are lovely however u can hear everything and there is no tv, not so bad when ur out in the day however when u get back
From a tiring day it is quite nice to lay in bed and watch tv!
Location is fantastic highly recommended for this on it's own!

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

I would say this is an average place to stay. The owner or whatever he likes to call himself was actually trying to put us off eating outside the Riad by telling us fake stories about people getting food poisoning so that we'd stay in and eat indoors... for him to make money! Also it's not in a very good location. It's actually located in a very creepy quiet alleyway and I would say it's very dangerous to be walking there alone at night. The food was average, not much choice to be honest. Same this everyday. We had to eat out most of the time. The man quoted us £20 for a meal to eat in the Riad. It's definitely NOT worth it. Sleep quality was ok, the bathroom looked dirty and there wasn't much to do in the Riad, it was actually a very boring place to stay. The ladies who cooked were very very friendly and nice, always made us smile.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
silsila, Propriétaire at Dar Silsila, responded to this review, September 10, 2011
I would like to add some comment regarding this review.

As you can see through our reviews that we advice our client for food and clean restaurant.

Through our experience with our clients, we have witnessed some health problem, sometimes we had to brink the client to the emergency, therefore we don’t recommend our client to eat in stove in center of Jeema Elfna because non hygiene.

We are sorry if you misunderstood our recommendation.

With respect to your comment regarding the cleanliness, I regularly control all rooms by myself and as you can see in our reviews that Dar Silsila is immaculate.

Regarding your comment about boring place, One off our reason that our client choose Dar Silsila is because after one day in the busy and noisy day in the medina they like to come back and have quiet and peaceful place.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2011

What a great Riad, from the day of our arrival we knew we had picked a special place. From the breakfast on the terrace and the worlds best yogurt, to helpful tips on what to do and where to go, how to get there and what to avoid, we were greatly impressed. So much so we went back to this charming residence again at the end of our time in Morocco.

Room Tip: The terrace suite is great for a small family
See more room tips
Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
4.3 mi away
Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa
1.4 mi away
Riad Nabila
Riad Nabila
#200 of 480 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 115 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#5 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Riad el Noujoum
Riad el Noujoum
#110 of 480 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 92 reviews
1.1 mi away
Riad de la Belle Epoque
Riad de la Belle Epoque
#61 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 400 reviews
0.3 mi away
MonRiad
MonRiad
#111 of 480 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Silsila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Silsila

Address: 11 Derb Jdid Laksour, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#45 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#69 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#136 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Dar Silsila 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Dar Silsila reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar Silsila Marrakech
Dar Silsila Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dar Silsila, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.