We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ideal place to stay in Marrakech” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Lalla

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Casa Lalla to your Saves list
Casa Lalla
Rue Riad Zaitoune Lakdime - 16 Derb Jamaa | Marrakech Medina, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #205 of 462 Hotels in Marrakech
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“ideal place to stay in Marrakech”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2011

I have just come back from a week in Morocco with my partner and our two teenage children, we stayed three nights at Casa Lalla and would definitely recommend it. First the location is ideal, very central and just a short walk to Jemaa el Fna and the souks, Maison Tiskiwin museum and Dar Menebhi palace. The riad is situated off a busy street so there is everything you need close by but the actual location is really peaceful and calm and makes an ideal retreat. The decor is simple and elegant, the lighting is low which contributes to the atmosphere of privacy and seclusion. There is a wonderful roof terrace with great views and comfortable loungers. The owners Pierre and Annabel were welcoming and helpful and helped us acclimatise quickly. They arranged a hamman and helped us organise transport to our next location.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    34
    9
    11
    5
See reviews for
14
79
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, N Ireland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2011

This beautifully restored & very pretty riad with 8 rooms (including suites), all en suite, owned & run by Pierre-Olivier & wife Annabelle is right in the heart of the old city so ideally located for access to all the extraordinary sights of old Marrakech & the nouvelle ville.
It features a room terrace & hamman where luxurious spa treatments are available. The hosts will organise shopping trips if desired & taxi or bus excursions (for 1 day or longer) to the many interesting destinations outside Marrakech.
In all a most charming & very tranquil & private place to stay with very amiable hosts & staff run on a very personal but professional basis.
Hugh & Noreen Clarke, NI

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2010

We have just had 3 glorious days staying at Casa Lalla, having booked with a little trepidation having read a previous review. The location is perfect - a 3 minute walk to the centre, yet quiet - we woke to bird song and the call to prayer - extremely comfortable rooms, and a delightful roof top breakfast. The riad is charming - simply furnished and elegant, not big and not as grand as some - which was exactly what we wanted. It has been restored with charm and simple good taste - and is therefore not a pastiche, as some foreighn owned riads seem to be. The owners, Pierre-Olivier and Annabelle could not have been more welcoming or helpful, and the tour that they arranged for us, into the Atlas mountains and to a Berber village was the highlight of the trip. We will certainly go back (there is still a lot of the souk I haven't bought!) and I will happily recommend Casa Lalla to any potential traveller.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Italy
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2010

Very nice house, kind and welcoming staff, place with personality, owner kind and attentive, perfect location, very nice atmosphere in the whole riad, massage-hammam simple but done with care. We will go back to Casa Lalla in the next visit.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2010

The service was not at the level of the price :
durty sheets with apparent holes
lights not working
sink blocked
very poor breakfast (just unacceptable)
no soap in the bathroom

Very low quality/price ratio
Avoid this hotel

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bullgrenoble, Propriétaire at Casa Lalla, responded to this review, December 26, 2010
Google Translation
Voila des clients Français qui préfèrent rédiger en Anglais...
Nous avons reçu comme toujours avec beaucoup de plaisir ce jeune couple pour quelques jours dans notre riad.
Après une arrivée autour d'un verre de vin et de quelques discussions forts sympathiques devant la cheminée nous avons bien sur présenté la maison et ses services ainsi que la chambre choisi par leur soins sur notre site.
Nous avons compris leur de la présentation de la chambre qu'il y avait apparemment un problème quand à leur choix de chambre.
Ce couple a choisi la plus petite chambre du riad et aussi bien sur la moins chère, pouvons nous être responsable de leur choix, je ne crois pas.
Les salles de bains des chambres ont toutes bien sur du savons du shampoing, un sèche cheveux des serviettes propres qui sont changées tous les jours.
Les draps des lits sont changées également tous les jours un service pressing de qualité à Marrakech s'occupe de tout cela.
Les chambres sont faites tous les jours également, ménage complet avec des produits adaptés.
Lorsqu'une ampoule grille malencontreusement la nuit celle-ci sera bien sur changée que le lendemain, quoi de plus normal.
J'aimerais juste donner la description de notre petit déjeuner à CASA LALLA : pain, beurre, confitures aux choix, jus d'orange, café, thé, lait, chocolat, thé Marocain, salade de fruits, oeufs au plat omelette à la demande ou encore brouillé à la crème, et encore deux sortes de crêpes Marocaines et cake maison fait tous les jours. Je me demande bien ce qui est inacceptable.
Il est dommage que certains clients déchargent leur mal être sur des propriétaires amoureux de leur métier qui feront toujours le maximum pour satisfaire leur clientèle durement acquise à force de travail sérieux depuis 1O sur la place de Marrakech.
Le propriétaire du riad CASA LALLA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2010

For the money, this place is unbeatable. The roof terrace is divine, the rooms are intimate and hidden away and I discovered that if our restaurant reservations were made under the name "Casa Lalla", (which they often were thanks to our excellent concierge), we had the best table in the restaurant, everytime. I don't know why, but we sure enjoyed it. 5 stars.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
worldwide
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2009

We felt a little awkward at this riad, almost like we were intruding at a party we weren't really invited to. The owners didn't really seem very interested in us, which is a bit offputting when staying in such an intimate setting. The property itself is nice enough, but nothing flash and not as nice as the photos convey... we found the atmosphere somewhat 'cold'. The Moroccan staff at the riad, however, were very friendly and the highlight of the cassa lalla experience for us. :)

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Lalla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Lalla

Address: Rue Riad Zaitoune Lakdime - 16 Derb Jamaa | Marrakech Medina, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#84 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#161 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#205 Top resorts Hotel in Marrakech
#205 Casino Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Escapio and Odigeo so you can book your Casa Lalla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Lalla Marrakech
Casa Lalla Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Lalla, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.