We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect riad” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Lalla

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Casa Lalla to your Saves list
Casa Lalla
Rue Riad Zaitoune Lakdime - 16 Derb Jamaa | Marrakech Medina, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #221 of 465 Hotels in Marrakech
Lancashire
1 review
“The perfect riad”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2009

We stayed for four nights. A short walk from all the main sights, it's location is excellent. The staff couldn't have been more welcoming and helpful. They always made time to stop to chat and make sure our stay was comfortable. We had a couple of early starts and they were happy to give us a wake up call to make sure we didn't miss our trip and serve us breakfast much earlier than usual. They were even happy for us to leave our bags there for three nights whilst we explored the Sahara.

On arrival, we were given a choice of two rooms, both absolutely beautiful. Excellent traditional, contempory mix. Spotless. Clean towels provided and the bed was made every day. It all added to being able to relax at the end of a busy day, plus a cold drink from the mini bar helped and was very welcome.

Fabulous breakfast; fruit salad, baguette, sweet bread, pancakes, choice of eggs, jams, orange juice, tea and coffee. We struggled to fit it all in. The breakfast alone is worth a stay! The roof terrace was also a favourite of ours.

In short, the food, the welcome, the decor, the ambiance were all fantastic. Our review can't do this lovely riad justice. The most beautiful accomodation we have ever stayed in.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    35
    9
    11
    5
See reviews for
14
80
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Italy
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2009

We stayed for one week at Casa Lalla in June 2009 and thoroughly enjoyed our stay.
The Riad is very nice, quiet and comfortable, and is situated only five minutes walk from the Jema el Fna, in the middle of the Medina. The streets around it are very safe, we have never had any problems, even coming back late in the evening. The owners of the Riad, Pierre-Olivier and Annabelle, are friendly and welcoming, as are the staff. We enjoyed having breakfast on the terrace, with the company of the house cat! Our room was comfortable and spacious enough for two people. However, it was located upstairs, so we cannot say how quiet the rooms on the ground floor are. It is also to note that we stayed at the Riad during the low season, when the place is probably less busy. We dined in the restaurant of the Riad one evening and we enjoyed the dinner. However, please remember that a Riad is not – and cannot be - a five star hotel. But if you look for a relaxing place near the Medina, and appreciate the contact with the traditional quarters of the city, with its sounds and colours, Casa Lalla is definitely the place for you.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LONDON
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2009

If you want to be close to the main square and walk to the key attractions in the old town AND stay at somewhere where quality and service is important then Casa Lalla is for you. If you would prefer a modern hotel with standardised sized rooms and all the facilities/trappings but sacrifice location then it is not.

We were on a 25th Anniversary trip and liked the location,helpful service and our room although we had one of the larger ones (Canelle) . Our hosts could not have been more
helpful and the fact that you could walk out of the hotel into the thick of Marrakesh street life made it the right choice for us

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, UK
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2009

We found the Riad to be very comfortable, clean and welcoming with friendly and helpful owners and staff. Simple, stylish rooms and good sized bathrooms. A very peaceful and relaxing place. Ate in one night and had a fabulous meal cooked by the owner Pierre-Olivier.

Fantastic location very close to the main square so easy to get about and we felt very safe walking back to the Riad in the evenings.

Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2009

A thoroughly bad welcome into Pierre's and Annabel's "home" that completely spoilt our visit to celebrate a special event. They should recognize that what may be their "home" is actually a hotel that their guests pay a premium price for. It is not too much to expect a warm welcome, good service, privacy, and respect. We ate in their restaurant one evening but it was not good cooking and therefore very overpriced. Excellent food and service can be found elsewhere in abundance in Marrakech so go and discover. The jacuzzi wasn't working and was badly positioned anyway, why is it in the dining area? The rooms, although photographed well, were cramped and oppressive, rather like the owners mentality towards their guests. Try Riad Opale, we stayed there as well and paid only a little more than Casa Lalla. The rooms had TV, internet, continuous hot water, were beautifully styled. Great breakfasts, much cleaner, a well-designed Riad that we were welcomed into.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2009

we were given a windowless and incredibly cramped room on the ground floor. the furnishings were dirty and stained and the walls were damp. it was nowhere near worth the price. the roof terrace was shabby and the general feeling was one of neglect and a place past its sell by date. there are certainly much better places to stay for less money in as good location as this. we left after the first night. never again. perhaps we were unlucky as it seems some people had ok rooms, but we saw that there are more chic and ambient riads in the medina for similar or even less money. Casa Lala is much over rated.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — the accommodation
  • Stayed January 2009
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2008

I recently stayed at Casa Lalla during my 1st visit to Marrakech and highly recommend it...having read about the riad in Glamour magazine, I wanted to check it out for myself.

The riad is located very close to the main souks and taxis are within easy reach. Once inside, you immediately feel relaxed.

My room was simply decorated and furnished (but so much more appealing than the formulaic approach of so many hotel chains, which are often bland), clean with a great shower and super thick comfy towels supplied. The owners and their team are genuinely friendly and happy to answer any questions you have and each morning a great breakfast was laid on, a perfect way to start the day!

Casa Lalla did originally have Michelin starred chef Richard Neat cooking up a storm six nights a week but owner Pierre-Olivier now runs the kitchen with no doubt equalling success...being a real foody, I can honestly say the meal I had was exquisite.

A charming, gem of a find in the heart of Marrakech which I will be suggesting to friends and family when they decide to visit.

Also recommended to those travelling on their own.

  • Liked — The team at Casa Lalla
  • Disliked — I would have liked more 'tourist information' available
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Lalla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Lalla

Address: Rue Riad Zaitoune Lakdime - 16 Derb Jamaa | Marrakech Medina, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#93 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#164 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Priceline, Despegar.com and Booking.com so you can book your Casa Lalla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Lalla Marrakech
Casa Lalla Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Lalla, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.