We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“disappointing overpriced tourist trap” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Lalla

Save Saved
You added Casa Lalla to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Casa Lalla
Rue Riad Zaitoune Lakdime - 16 Derb Jamaa | Marrakech Medina, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #200 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Berlin, Germany
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“disappointing overpriced tourist trap”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

The riad is damp with mould growing on the walls. The rooms are tiny, the bathroom is painted dark brown and is unpleasant. No TV, wifi did not work. Pretentious French owner appeared briefly to provide uncorrect information. His staff was trying to do a good job. No choice for dinner. Small portions, terribly overstated and overpriced, cheap house wine at a high price. It is incomprehensible how this could possibly advertise as Best Moroccon restaurant. We had much better tastier food in many other places on our trip. We paid cash in dirham and were hit with a surcharge of 4%, unheard of before. Certainly not to be recommended.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    72
    34
    9
    11
    5
See reviews for
14
79
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, Kentucky
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

From check in to check out the staff was great and facilities were spotless. From the helpful tipsfor things to do and not do in Marrakech to the cleanliness, there's obvious pride from the owners and staff. All for a good value close to everything.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Italy
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We are an italian couple and we've been in Riad Felloussia in the first week of December for two night.
We've found the riad very cleen with large and beautiful room the owner was really kind and helpful, he for first explain us what we could visit in Marrakech and for the second night he give us a better room for the same price!
Great Riad!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

The beautifully restored riad was a welcome retreat. Moroccan mint tea and cookies served in front of a cosy fire in the late afternoon, followed by superb dining. The hosts and staff were most welcoming and helpful. Absolutely charming.

Room Tip: Second floor rooms would be the quietest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011

I recently stayed for a long WE in this beautiful riyad in the heart of the Medina. It was my first stay in Marrakech. The recently traditionally renovated Ryad is owned and managed by a French couple. Annabel, the host of the house has captured the essence of the entrancing and mysterious city of Marrakech. The Riyad has 8 rooms in total, each decorated differently. The Ryad has a restaurant, whose chef prepared delicous Marrocan style meals. The quiet Ryiad is located in a nutshell to the busy main place Djemaa-el-fna. She can make for you different suggestions of what to see, where to go for shopping, where to go for dinner and arrange the taxi for you. After a busy day, the Ryiad offers hammam with massage to book in advance.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chamonix, France
Top Contributor
197 reviews 197 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
135 helpful votes 135 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2011

We started our holiday in Morocco in this wonderful decorated Riad.The owner are the most friendly people we have ever met,kind and helpful they only care about making your holiday unforgettable!We had a tour in the south of Morocco and came back for 4 days so we had the opportunity to try 3 of their wonderful rooms.We loved all of them!We even took a cooking class with talented Mohammed who is the sous chef in the hotel restaurant and the 4 hours spent with him were exciting especially for me being a chef too.The food Pierre cooked for us one night was light ,inventive and tasty.I had a superb massage from Mina a nice Moroccan girl who did a wonderful scrub to me too.How great was to have breakfast on the terrace among trees ,relaxing on the chaise long or the hammock...just a dream!!For my husband and I who have before and after travelled around Morocco this is the paradise of Riads!!!The only problem is to find a better one.....so all the others will disappoint you!

Room Tip: All the rooms are wonderful but on the top floor are superb!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

We went to Casa Lalla end of October for our 10 years anniversary. Guest driver Hassan was waiting for us and took us to the hotel while on the car we start admiring the unique life of Marrakech. We were looking to run away from the chaotic London and enjoy the unique atmosphere of Marrakech (chaotic as well in his way!) and relax and experience the unique atmosphere of a typical Riad. The position is really close to the Jemaa Fna. However when we walk through the amazing door of the Riad we where embrace by the quietness, elegancy and unique atmosphere of the Riad.
Co-owner Pierre-Olivier was waiting just inside and gave us a superb welcome. He took in the dining room and beside a wonderful fire place and lovely candles he provides us with a superb story of Marrakech and a lovely aperitif. We went into our room, beautiful decorated in the typical Riad style. Following a wonderful shower we went down to the reputed restaurant of the Riad. It was an amazing experience from various prospective, cuisine, service, atmosphere! The overall time in Casa Lalla has been superb, from the morning breakfast on the terrace across the overall stay! The additional uniqueness of this Riad is back to the two owner Pierre-Olivier and Annabel, two genuine person that are making everyone guests feeling at home! And this is the beauty of any Riad and this is the reason why we loved them. We experience others in the past but Casa Lalla as a magic touch!

Room Tip: All rooms and suites have their own style and uniqueness. As we love the fire place we choosed the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Casa Lalla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Lalla

Address: Rue Riad Zaitoune Lakdime - 16 Derb Jamaa | Marrakech Medina, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#80 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#156 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Escapio and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Casa Lalla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Lalla Marrakech
Casa Lalla Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Lalla, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.