We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dar Warda ticks the boxes” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dar Warda

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Dar Warda to your Saves list
Dar Warda
266 Sidi Bouamare | Riad Laarouss, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #132 of 462 Hotels in Marrakech
Surrey, England
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Dar Warda ticks the boxes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2006

The Dar Warda is a simple little riad in the north of the Marrakesh medina. It has four nicely appointed rooms on two levels around a lovely patio. It is very clean and quiet.
The staff are really helpful and friendly. I rate it excellent value for money. It was our first riad in Morrocco and I really didn't know how good it was until I tried other ones.
It is down a long and complicated "derb" (a network of alleys in a cul de sac) so it is well worth ringing ahead for the owner to meet you to collect your luggage (in a handcart!) and escort you to the riad.
The walk to the square is probably 15 minutes, but is very straightforward and you would have to try very hard to get lost.
I would certainly recommend it to couples looking for an atmospheric and traditional stay.

  • Liked — Very well decorated and furnished in traditional style
  • Disliked — Getting back at night down the dark "derb" (cul-de-sac alley)
  • Tips/Secrets — Ensure you ring the owners when you arrive in Marrakesh for details of where the taxi should drop you off and to get the owner to collect you from the square.
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    17
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
34
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Madeira-Portugal
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2006

It was our first trip to Morrocos and we stayed at Dar warda, for 5 nights. Is a very small riad, nice and clean.
The rooms are decorated in traditional style, but comfortable. There is no TV or radio or even games.
I ask for transfer from the airport and they forgot, and the taxi drivers don’t now where the riad is. Despite of that, it went well.
It’s a very small and cosy riad, (not expensive). But in my opinion, after a busy and exhausted day in the souk we need something else more luxurious, with swimming pool , room service, spa, TV.
Try the Founduk , a very and trendy restaurant.

  • Liked — The atmosphere of the place
  • Tips/Secrets — Try the Founduk very good restaurant
  • Stayed October 2006
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2006

Lovely Riad hidden away in the back streets.

Most impressive facet was the service - nothing was too much for the manager and his staff.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2006

We stayed in this hotel [which we found on tablet hotels website] in March and had a great time. A little oasis in the middle of ciaos. The service was impeccable and Mark [otherwise known as Abdul] catered to our every whim. Met some lovely other people in the Riad as well. All in all would highly reccomend anyone to stay here.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
182 helpful votes 182 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2006

The Dar Warda is really fantastic, characteristic for the magical city that is Marrakech, not only because of the hotels "hidden" location in a small street of the Medina, but also because of the Riad itself. The room was really beautiful and comfortable, the breakfast excellent and served in a perfect way. "Extra" services (such as suggestions, reservations for dinner, Hamam and taxi, taking care of the parking place, etc.) made the stay perfect. Reserving this through a hotel booking website called Tablet Hotels was easy to do and very user-friendly.

Stayed January 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
2 reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2006

We spent two days at Dar Warda, a pretty four-room riad. We stayed in the Nomade, a small room on the third floor that seems like it was probably a penthouse built on the roof of the riad. After you locate the place—it's at the end of a dark alley off a tiny, hard-to-locate street that you will need help finding—you'll find a quiet oasis of elegant furnishings, discreet service and very attractive rooms. The terrace is amazing and the bathrooms, made of polished limestone, are very cool.

Our only complaint is about the food - we were greeted with a tray of tea and organce juice that was delicious, but the breakfast pastries were on the greasy side (even for Moroccan breakfasts) and made us a little nauseous. We were unable to have lunch or dinner at the riad, unfortunately, so can't speak for anything besides breakfast.

I'd highly recommend this hotel. It has a design sensibility sure to appeal to the urban hipster. If I could replicate the aesthetic at home, I would, but I seem to lack the required moonlit courtyard. The fellow who usually is around the hotel is a pretty cool guy, relaxed, and can help you with whatever you need.

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Dar Warda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Warda

Address: 266 Sidi Bouamare | Riad Laarouss, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#112 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#115 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Prestigia, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Dar Warda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar Warda Marrakech
Dar Warda Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dar Warda, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.