We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, tranquil, with very kind staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dar Warda

Save Saved
You added Dar Warda to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Dar Warda
266 Sidi Bouamare | Riad Laarouss, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #162 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Barcelona, Spain
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful, tranquil, with very kind staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We stayed five days and had a wonderful time. The place has only five rooms so it's intimate, but still private. We had booked the least expensive room on the ground floor and were moved up a floor to a larger room with a balcony -- simply because it was available. We didn't ask.

The Moroccan manager of the hotel, Fatiha, was totally charming and helpful. We got mint tea and pastries on arrival and then a big breakfast each morning (served outside our room on the terrace).

They provide maps and ideas. Plus I wanted to go to a local hamman (bath house), not one of the tourist ones. So Fatiha came with me, with extra towels and plastic shower slippers and negotiated it all in Arabic, and then waited for me. Very very kind.
And the Riad itself is just beautiful -- exquisitely furnished in traditional Moroccan style and colors. We really loved everything about it and would return in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Higher floors have more light -- but if you're going in the hot season, lower down is cooler.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    41
    16
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
31
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leuven, Belgium
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

Lovely riad and a quiet oasis hidden away in the small streets of Marrakech; Helpful and friendly staff. Very good breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llangollen, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at Dar Warda for 3 nights. Great service! Friendly & helpful staff! Yummy breakfast and great value. A little on the cool side at night, but plenty of spare blankets available if you just ask one of the staff ;) Would definitely return.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2011

The Dar Warda is a simple, cosy and very beautiful, traditional moroccan riad . Very clean, quiet, and the staff are very helpful and friendly. When we arrived they served us a mint tea and moroccan pastries.
The breakfast is excellent and they serve it at the room terrace, very romantic! At the roof terrace there are loungechairs where you can rest overlooking the medina.
Our room was the "nomade", located on the 3rd floor overlooking the rooftop terrace with direct access to the rooftop solarium and terrace.
The walk to the square Jamna El Fna is around 15 minutes, but it´s easy too get there.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2008

My family booked out all of Dar Warda over Christmas. We were very pleased with the riad itself - very cute, clean, lots of nooks for lounging around, nice terrace, etc. The staff were all nice and accommodating as well (Faterah, Abdul, Abdel). We had dinner one night at the riad and it was good - not outstanding, but good...your average Moroccan meal with sufficiently tasty tagines and salads. (I found generally in Morocco that the meals tended towards average - really bad and really good were rare.)
Our one problem was that we had asked the owner, Isabelle, to arrange a car and driver to drive us to the desert and back after we left Dar Warda. This she did, but due to miscommunication among Isabelle, whom we originally arranged the driver with, Faterah, who was managing the riad while we were there, the driver and ourselves, we ended up in an awkward and unpleasant situation.
Long story short, once we were already en route, the driver balked that we wanted to go to Erg Chebbi, saying it was too far and he didn't have enough gas, and that we should go to Erg Chigaga. But he would only take us as far as Zagora.
We got through that little debacle (ended up going to Erg Chigaga), but then at the end of the trip there was another one over how much we owed the driver. We had paid Faterah a deposit for the driver (1000 diram), but the driver claimed he wasn't aware of this and insisted on the entire amount. Unfortunately we parted ways on less than ideal terms, despite the driver having been generally agreeable, helpful, and informative.
Innocent miscommunication or a game the locals play to get the most out of unsuspecting tourists? Who knows...but Dar Warda could do with stepping up the professionalism of these sorts of transactions.

Stayed December 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, England
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2006

The Dar Warda is a simple little riad in the north of the Marrakesh medina. It has four nicely appointed rooms on two levels around a lovely patio. It is very clean and quiet.
The staff are really helpful and friendly. I rate it excellent value for money. It was our first riad in Morrocco and I really didn't know how good it was until I tried other ones.
It is down a long and complicated "derb" (a network of alleys in a cul de sac) so it is well worth ringing ahead for the owner to meet you to collect your luggage (in a handcart!) and escort you to the riad.
The walk to the square is probably 15 minutes, but is very straightforward and you would have to try very hard to get lost.
I would certainly recommend it to couples looking for an atmospheric and traditional stay.

  • Liked — Very well decorated and furnished in traditional style
  • Disliked — Getting back at night down the dark "derb" (cul-de-sac alley)
  • Tips/Secrets — Ensure you ring the owners when you arrive in Marrakesh for details of where the taxi should drop you off and to get the owner to collect you from the square.
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madeira-Portugal
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2006

It was our first trip to Morrocos and we stayed at Dar warda, for 5 nights. Is a very small riad, nice and clean.
The rooms are decorated in traditional style, but comfortable. There is no TV or radio or even games.
I ask for transfer from the airport and they forgot, and the taxi drivers don’t now where the riad is. Despite of that, it went well.
It’s a very small and cosy riad, (not expensive). But in my opinion, after a busy and exhausted day in the souk we need something else more luxurious, with swimming pool , room service, spa, TV.
Try the Founduk , a very and trendy restaurant.

  • Liked — The atmosphere of the place
  • Tips/Secrets — Try the Founduk very good restaurant
  • Stayed October 2006
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dar Warda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Warda

Address: 266 Sidi Bouamare | Riad Laarouss, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#129 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#143 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Tablet Hotels, Booking.com, Priceline, Prestigia and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Dar Warda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar Warda Marrakech
Dar Warda Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dar Warda, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.