We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Moroccan House Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Moroccan House Hotel to your Saves list
Moroccan House Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3, Rue Loubnane | Guéliz, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #281 of 463 Hotels in Marrakech
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Charming!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014 via mobile

A lovely little hotel, pretty and kitsch as the photos show and full of character. A great location in the new town, just a few minutes walk from a large variety of shops and eateries and a 5 minute taxi ride from the Djemaa el Fna. The staff are friendly and accommodating, recommend the junior suite, the extra seating area is great for chilling out! We'll be back!

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

454 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    213
    84
    34
    16
See reviews for
61
194
33
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
southampton
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

Authetic, colourful little hotel tucked away on a side street in the modern part of Marrakech and in a very good location for getting out and about. Its easy to get a taxi outside if you need one and also within walking distance of the medina, albeit a bit of a hike. The staff are lovely and can't do enough for you. The rooms feel traditionally Moroccan rather than just part of a tourist chain which makes a pleasant change with comfortable beds and they were kept spotlessly clean. The public areas are absolutely gorgeous and a pleasure to sit in. There is a nice pool area and a pleasant roof terrace for breakfast, for which there was plenty of choice. There is also a a spa and I can recommend the massage. We booked 3 trips, all of which were very enjoyable and good value for money, particularly the Atlas mountains trip. We definitely plan to go back to Marrakech as we loved it there and we would definitely stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Have a massage. Book a trip up into the massage The Jardins Marjorelle are not to be missed
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woking, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

Great staff, fun room and lovely pool. The breakfast was nice and the excursions booked via the staff at the reception desk were great. The location was ideal as the Medina can be very overwhelming. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

Nice comfortable room with lot of living (and sitting) space. If you are 2m like me (6ft/6) then the beds are a bit small for you.

The rooms have a luxury look and feel and there's a fridge in every room.

Breakfast is in a luxury Berber like tent on the rooftop of the hotel

Stayed May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

I stayed in this hotel for 6 nights in December with some friends. We stayed bed & breakfast and the price was very reasonable.

The room was lovely, 4-poster beds with lace draping all over. There was plenty of selection of foods at breakfast that would suit most peoples taste in food.

The location is perfect and is only a 2-minute walk from lots of restaurant and shops and about a 5-minute walk from the main square.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margate, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

We booked our trip to Marrakech via Direct line holidays.
The holiday was booked as a package holiday.
Direct line booked us a flight with easy jet. Private transfer with A2B transfers and the hotel was the Moroccan house hotel.
We flew out on 22nd of March 2014 for 1 week
The holiday was booked as a birthday treat for my wife and to de-stress as she has an operation booked very soon.
The flight went well and the transfer was waiting for us.
When we got to the hotel we was told to take a seat in the reception area.
After around 10 minuits we was called to the desk to be told that NO RESERVATION was made for us.......Not happy.
After a few minuits the rep arrived and negotiated with the hotel to let us stay untill monday as we could not do anything in UK untill then.
It tookuntill Tuesday to get bthings sorted.
After a few emails back and forth Direct line holidays paid for the remainder of the week.
It appears that a company that Direct line holidays employed to do their hotel bookings did not do their job properly.
As for the Moroccan house hotel.
The staff were absolutely fantastic in helping us with our problem.
It is a lovely hotel and beutifuly decorated by hand on the inside.
Breakfast is taken on the roof terrace in a beutiful tent.
We stayed in room 21 next to the lift but you cannot hear the lift at all.
The hotel is spotless.
When you walk into the foyer look up at the ceiling it is quite impressive.
When venturing out from the hotel at night you will notice a night club to the left and a lot of young people hang around the club and ride up and down the road on scooters.
Some people may find this a little intimidating but they are no trouble and a few even said good evening to us.
If you want to eat out the Lebanese resturant a few doors up was quite nice as was the next resturant along from there although it does practice nouveux cuisine but the food was very nice.
If you book any trips I would recomend the trip to the Atlas mountains. Great views and a good experience.
The Marrakech tour trip is advised as you get to know your way around the town and visit the souks.
The fantasia trip was also good but it can be cold at night.
All of the trips we took had a 3 course meal included.
All in all the first few days was so stressful as we didnt know where we stood regarding the room but once the problem was sorted it was a most enjoyable holiday.
A big thank you to the Moroccan house hotel for all of your help.
One piece of advice if you get a taxi negotiate the price before you get in

Room Tip: We had 2 four poster beds in our room with lots of furniture but little cupboard space for clothing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014 via mobile

We got an unbelievable cheap deal most places we charging around £30 per night b&b - we paid less than half - so bear that in mind we I say we could not have been happier with our stay here.
Breakfast was served on the roof and was a selection of bread, pastries ect, very adequate.
The rooms will not be to everyone's taste. For us English a bit gory with the leopard print covers and four poster beds with lots material around - not my usual taste but we were there to experience Morocco.
Rooms very clean - small but had everything in them.
Pool area - it didn't seem to get the sun - maybe it was the time of year we went.
Staff - very pleasant. We had booked 4 nights but the manager asked if we would mind moving to a different hotel on the last night - we were a party of 6 so we did, he gave 2 of us free massages and the rest us free meals in total nearly £100 worth of free extras. The hotel we moved to was the Gomasse and that was lovely.

We booked a trip to ait benhaddou thru the hotel 350dhs each. It was over the Atlas Mountains - well worth a trip.
For the price we paid for this we can not complain about a single thing.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Moroccan House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moroccan House Hotel

Address: 3, Rue Loubnane | Guéliz, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #281 of 463 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Moroccan House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel, the first of its kind, provides its visitors with different services and in an architectural style. Moroccan House Marrakech is at the center of the city. It is easy walking distance to many major attractions, theatres, shopping.... It consists of five floors and fifty rooms with different grades (3*, 4*, 5*). Here, you are not in an ordinary hotel, it is like a Riad, a traditional Moroccan house where visitors are cordially received. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Moroccan House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moroccan Hotel Marrakech
Moroccan Marrakech
Moroccan House Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moroccan House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.