We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Experience a riad” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Moroccan House Hotel

Save Saved
You added Moroccan House Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Moroccan House Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3, Rue Loubnane | Guéliz, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #279 of 460 hotels in Marrakech
Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Experience a riad”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

This is in a quiet street, but within walking distance of Medina. Reception staff all very friendly and speak good English.
Tried several times to eat in the evening, but the waiting staff were not helpful - we were ignored or told the kitchen was closed. Brilliant restaurant just next door - La Beyroute!
The rooms were fun and the showers gave great cause for amusement, but all was clean.
Had a brilliant time in a European-style part of Africa.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

429 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    100
    200
    81
    34
    14
See reviews for
51
188
31
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kettering, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

This was our first time in Marrakech and even though my wife and I had tried to book into a traditional Riad in the Medina but couldn,t, we thought that this modern "in the style" of looked better than booking into a more sanitised establishment. On arrival late on the 3rd January we were told that the Hotel was completely full and that for one night we would be staying around the corner in another hotel!! Alarm bells, however we need not have worried because as a result of the upset we were to be upgraded to a suite for the rest of our stay. I have to say that the décor certainly wont be to everyones taste but you are not staying in a Holiday Inn. The suite was spacious and clean although there is obvious signs of wear and tear ( the light fitting was held on with an electrical connector!) also there are no tea or coffee facilities in the room so you may want to pack a travel kettle. We were half board and so enjoyed many a chilly dinner in the dining room of an evening, incidentally eating everything that was offered without any upset tummies. We met other couples also on adventure breaks who enthused about the leopard print bedding and general "Arabian nights" décor.
So to sum up, research as many pictures as possible so as not to be put off by the decor, book b&b not half board as the food is so cheap and readily available everywhere, expect to tip most of the staff at some point and don't believe anyone hanging around outside the hotel who says they work there and will your guide to the Souks!!!
All in all a great experience for next to no money, no noise problems associated with being inside the medina and yet only a 30 minute walk down into the Jeema El Fna.

Room Tip: Make sure if you are a couple that you specify a double as there are a limited number available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

I enjoyed my stay here. The room was clean, the bathroom well equipped and the staff friendly and helpful.
The hotel is a half hour relaxed walk from Jeema El Fna - or a short taxi ride there.
I didn't have breakfast as I was leaving very early in the morning for the nights I was there. so cannot comment on the food. There is a local cafe in front of the hotel where it's quite nice to go and watch the locals go about their business.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

We chose this hotel for its budget price, hoping that the standard would be better than the price suggests. In short, there were plenty of areas that warrant complaint, but the staff made every effort to resolve these issues as quickly as possible and over all they deserve praise for offering a cheap hotel so close to the town centre.

Breakfast food was a wide selection of Moroccan dishes, perfectly adequate to set you up for a day of tourism.

The décor may not be to every European's taste, but it presented as a traditional Raid in bright colours and busy patterns, not to be miss interpreted as tacky and garish. The four poster beds decked in leopard print suit the quirkiness of the whole building and brings a smile to tired eyes on return each evening. The bathrooms sadly show their age and remind you that this is a budget location, but we saw no major issues to report.

Free open wifi was a bonus and if located near the router the signal was pretty good too.

The public areas around the hotel, reception and our rooms were clean and tidy, however the same could not be said of the bed linen. On arrival we were allocated our room, which was compact and pleasant but on inspecting the bed sheets we found marks/stains which had failed to clear in laundry. On complaint they replaced the sheets but failed to noticed that too was stained until we pointed it out. My wife inspected 3 other rooms in search of an alternative and finally found a bed with clear sheets so we could move rooms. We spoke at length to the manager the next morning alerting him of the faults in the laundry service and he upgraded us to a suite (guess what he had to change the sheets in that one too before we could take it). The problem was almost certainly from an outside contractor letting them down, but the staff still put these sheets on the beds for their clients to sleep in and although I hope the problem has been resolved we strongly recommend all future guests check carefully on arrival.

The hotel is located only about a mile from town, within walking distance for us, although the bus was also easy and costs only pennies. Alternatively taxis are available for a few pounds if you wish. Marrakesh proved to be safe both day and night and relatively easy to navigate even with the absence of signs.

Restaurants in the area are available, but there are far better in town. The Beyrouth restaurant a few doors down was by far the worst being so desperate for business they have to drag you off the street if you happen to pass the door, avoid at all cost!!

Room Tip: Find one with clean bedding If on 5th floor and breakfast is on roof you may get noisy early start...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

Lovely hotel if you like a traditional setting. We loved the four poster beds which were very comfortable. The food served in the hotel was traditional Moroccan fare and was wonderful. It was also lovely to sit in such an ornate restaurant. It is worth asking reception what time they are serving as we got here a little late one night. Eating breakfast on the roof top was a real pleasure along with the friendly service. All the food was fresh and beautifully presented as a buffet (try the fried eggs they were fab). All the staff were extremely friendly and helpful at all times of the day. This is a lovely hotel, not new but full of charm.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Low Cost Holidays

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folkestone, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

We stayed at the Morrocan House Hotel for four days over the New Year period. The staff at the hotel were friendly and helpful. The hotel is lovely decorated in traditional Morrocan style which we loved. We were on the fifth floor which was directly under the roof terrace which could be a bit disturbing some mornings as you could hear chairs being dragged accross the terrace, so best to try and avoid rooms on this floor if you don't want to be awoken early. We were booked in for the bed and breakfast option, the breakfast was very good with a great selection, there were pastries, cakes, cheese, cold meat, breads, jams, eggs and more. There was also a good selection of hot and cold drinks to be had, in general the breakfast couldn't be faulted. We had breakfast on the roof terrace, three out of the four days we ate in the marquee on the terrace as we did find it a little cold outside at this time of year. This hotel is a great base from which to explore Marrakesh, there are lots of cafes and restaurants nearby. Our favourite was Cassanova's where we had some excellent Pizza's which you could also takeaway, to get to Cassanovas you need to turn right as you exit the hotel and just keep walking along the road its only a few minutes walk away. There is also a super market a bit further down this same road. We went on a couple of excursions arranged through our holiday rep which were very good to the markets and to the Berber village. We also visited the Jardin Marjorelle which is only a ten minute walk away from the hotel and definately worth a visit, it's a magical place. Be sure to take a coat when visiting at this time of year as the evenings and nights do get cold, it is hot during the day when the sun is out. The Morrocan house does not sell alcohol but there is a hotel a couple of doors down to the left as you leave the hotel that does. All in all we had a great stay at the Morrocan House.

Room Tip: Avoid the fifth floor as you can hear chairs being dragged across the roof terrace early in the morn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

This hotel is nothing like the photos show on the website. The rooms are small, the beds are filthy and covered in a horrid leopard print throw that absolutely stinks. I won't go into the gold trim acting as mosquito nets.

The bathroom was absolutely filthy with remnants of someone else's use of the toilet remaining. Need I say more.

We checked out within 5 minute of being in the room and yet they would not refund us. A week of arguing with trip advisor and still no better off.

The air conditioning could not be turned on as to do so would result in a loud beep every two seconds and the windows were not able to be opened. On looking inside the fridge I was very nearly ill to see what was growing inside it.

I am guessing the last time this hotel was cleaned was sometime back in the 90's.

Avoid this hotel like the plague and on reflection do not book through trip advisor either.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Moroccan House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moroccan House Hotel

Also Known As:
Moroccan Hotel Marrakech
Moroccan House
Moroccan Marrakech
Moroccan House Marrakech
Moroccan Hotel
Address: 3, Rue Loubnane | Guéliz, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#249 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Moroccan House Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel, the first of its kind, provides its visitors with different services and in an architectural style. Moroccan House Marrakech is at the center of the city. It is easy walking distance to many major attractions, theatres, shopping.... It consists of five floors and fifty rooms with different grades (3*, 4*, 5*). Here, you are not in an ordinary hotel, it is like a Riad, a traditional Moroccan house where visitors are cordially received. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Tingo, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Otel and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Moroccan House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moroccan House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.