We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Moroccan House Hotel

Save Saved
You added Moroccan House Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Moroccan House Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3, Rue Loubnane | Guéliz, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #274 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lovely Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

Lovely hotel if you like a traditional setting. We loved the four poster beds which were very comfortable. The food served in the hotel was traditional Moroccan fare and was wonderful. It was also lovely to sit in such an ornate restaurant. It is worth asking reception what time they are serving as we got here a little late one night. Eating breakfast on the roof top was a real pleasure along with the friendly service. All the food was fresh and beautifully presented as a buffet (try the fried eggs they were fab). All the staff were extremely friendly and helpful at all times of the day. This is a lovely hotel, not new but full of charm.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Low Cost Holidays

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

443 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    104
    210
    81
    33
    15
See reviews for
58
189
32
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Folkestone, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

We stayed at the Morrocan House Hotel for four days over the New Year period. The staff at the hotel were friendly and helpful. The hotel is lovely decorated in traditional Morrocan style which we loved. We were on the fifth floor which was directly under the roof terrace which could be a bit disturbing some mornings as you could hear chairs being dragged accross the terrace, so best to try and avoid rooms on this floor if you don't want to be awoken early. We were booked in for the bed and breakfast option, the breakfast was very good with a great selection, there were pastries, cakes, cheese, cold meat, breads, jams, eggs and more. There was also a good selection of hot and cold drinks to be had, in general the breakfast couldn't be faulted. We had breakfast on the roof terrace, three out of the four days we ate in the marquee on the terrace as we did find it a little cold outside at this time of year. This hotel is a great base from which to explore Marrakesh, there are lots of cafes and restaurants nearby. Our favourite was Cassanova's where we had some excellent Pizza's which you could also takeaway, to get to Cassanovas you need to turn right as you exit the hotel and just keep walking along the road its only a few minutes walk away. There is also a super market a bit further down this same road. We went on a couple of excursions arranged through our holiday rep which were very good to the markets and to the Berber village. We also visited the Jardin Marjorelle which is only a ten minute walk away from the hotel and definately worth a visit, it's a magical place. Be sure to take a coat when visiting at this time of year as the evenings and nights do get cold, it is hot during the day when the sun is out. The Morrocan house does not sell alcohol but there is a hotel a couple of doors down to the left as you leave the hotel that does. All in all we had a great stay at the Morrocan House.

Room Tip: Avoid the fifth floor as you can hear chairs being dragged across the roof terrace early in the morn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

This hotel is nothing like the photos show on the website. The rooms are small, the beds are filthy and covered in a horrid leopard print throw that absolutely stinks. I won't go into the gold trim acting as mosquito nets.

The bathroom was absolutely filthy with remnants of someone else's use of the toilet remaining. Need I say more.

We checked out within 5 minute of being in the room and yet they would not refund us. A week of arguing with trip advisor and still no better off.

The air conditioning could not be turned on as to do so would result in a loud beep every two seconds and the windows were not able to be opened. On looking inside the fridge I was very nearly ill to see what was growing inside it.

I am guessing the last time this hotel was cleaned was sometime back in the 90's.

Avoid this hotel like the plague and on reflection do not book through trip advisor either.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013 via mobile

This is the first time that I have ever walked out of a hotel. On arrival we discovered that we were room only, not bed and breakfast as booked. We were guided to our room and to say we were disappointed is an understatement. The room was tiny withe smallest double bed in history, the bathroom was filthy and unkempt and Liberace would have been proud of the nylon leopard skin bed sheets! The air conditioning beeped loudly once every two seconds unless switched off, the fridge was attempting to grow what appeared to be a new civilisations worth of mould and the windows were screwed shut. I have travelled all over the world and stayed I the best and worst of hotels, this place beats the latter by a country mile. Avoid like the plague.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

Ok, firstly the rooms weren't perfect, they were a little worn and tired but they were clean and kept very clean during my stay. I found the majority of staff very helpful, the others were ok. I found the location within the new town perfect. It is definitely about a 30 min walk to the Medina or a cheap taxi ride but both were fine for me. It's location was perfect for me in the respect that when I needed a break from the chaos and excitement of the Medina, I could return here and chill in very French feeling of Gueliz with its cafe culture, restaurants and clubs/bars. Breakfast was best taken on the terrace overlooking the city and Atlas mountains in the distance. I would also recommend getting the reception to arrange transfers to and from the airport as it will cost you about half of what the taxi drivers ask. One thing though you may also wish to note is that if you are a light sleeper then avoid the rooms at the front of the hotel as a newly opened Snooker/pool club has opened nearby and attracts alot of Marrakechi youths and the noise that comes with it, though it didn't bother me personally. Great place to stay, with great staff and in a great location if you don't want to stay within the walls of the Medina.

Room Tip: Avoid the front of hotel if you are a light sleeper
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

We have never been to Morocco before so this was a tester to see if we liked it. All I can say is that everything surpassed our hopes and expectations. The hotel was comfortable, clean, friendly - the decoration in traditional style was great, the staff were super, nothing was too much to ask of them, and they were very willing to give advice and directions to places of interest. The food was Moroccan and even though my husband is a picky eater, he had no problems with the breakfast and evening meals served at the hotel. Would we go back again? YES.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

What to say about this hotel? Entertaining certainly. The decor, though a bit scruffy around the edges, is impressive, albeit a bit overpowering in the rooms. The room was small, but clean and ok; the bathroom looked like it had been decorated by a small child, but was also clean and - just about - ok. Well, everything worked. Breakfast on the roof was nice; good selection, good views; not very interested staff: cook your omelette, but don't bother to tell you when it's done. Pool quite good, though not a lot of seating; you have to be quick. If you get a sunbed, then it is a nice place to relax during the hot part of the day. Location is good: walking distance of several good restaurants and of Jardin Majorelle, and of the souk if you are up to it. Best (and worst): the reception staff who seem to enjoy winding customers up: other staff - especially ladies - good. On balance, ok for the price but not somewhere that I would want to stop again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Moroccan House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moroccan House Hotel

Address: 3, Rue Loubnane | Guéliz, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#42 Best Value Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Moroccan House Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel, the first of its kind, provides its visitors with different services and in an architectural style. Moroccan House Marrakech is at the center of the city. It is easy walking distance to many major attractions, theatres, shopping.... It consists of five floors and fifty rooms with different grades (3*, 4*, 5*). Here, you are not in an ordinary hotel, it is like a Riad, a traditional Moroccan house where visitors are cordially received. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Moroccan House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moroccan Hotel Marrakech
Moroccan Marrakech
Moroccan House Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moroccan House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.