We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect base outside of the Medina” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Moroccan House Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Moroccan House Hotel to your Saves list
Moroccan House Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3, Rue Loubnane | Guéliz, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #276 of 460 Hotels in Marrakech
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Perfect base outside of the Medina”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

Ok, firstly the rooms weren't perfect, they were a little worn and tired but they were clean and kept very clean during my stay. I found the majority of staff very helpful, the others were ok. I found the location within the new town perfect. It is definitely about a 30 min walk to the Medina or a cheap taxi ride but both were fine for me. It's location was perfect for me in the respect that when I needed a break from the chaos and excitement of the Medina, I could return here and chill in very French feeling of Gueliz with its cafe culture, restaurants and clubs/bars. Breakfast was best taken on the terrace overlooking the city and Atlas mountains in the distance. I would also recommend getting the reception to arrange transfers to and from the airport as it will cost you about half of what the taxi drivers ask. One thing though you may also wish to note is that if you are a light sleeper then avoid the rooms at the front of the hotel as a newly opened Snooker/pool club has opened nearby and attracts alot of Marrakechi youths and the noise that comes with it, though it didn't bother me personally. Great place to stay, with great staff and in a great location if you don't want to stay within the walls of the Medina.

Room Tip: Avoid the front of hotel if you are a light sleeper
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

449 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    210
    84
    33
    16
See reviews for
61
191
33
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

We have never been to Morocco before so this was a tester to see if we liked it. All I can say is that everything surpassed our hopes and expectations. The hotel was comfortable, clean, friendly - the decoration in traditional style was great, the staff were super, nothing was too much to ask of them, and they were very willing to give advice and directions to places of interest. The food was Moroccan and even though my husband is a picky eater, he had no problems with the breakfast and evening meals served at the hotel. Would we go back again? YES.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

What to say about this hotel? Entertaining certainly. The decor, though a bit scruffy around the edges, is impressive, albeit a bit overpowering in the rooms. The room was small, but clean and ok; the bathroom looked like it had been decorated by a small child, but was also clean and - just about - ok. Well, everything worked. Breakfast on the roof was nice; good selection, good views; not very interested staff: cook your omelette, but don't bother to tell you when it's done. Pool quite good, though not a lot of seating; you have to be quick. If you get a sunbed, then it is a nice place to relax during the hot part of the day. Location is good: walking distance of several good restaurants and of Jardin Majorelle, and of the souk if you are up to it. Best (and worst): the reception staff who seem to enjoy winding customers up: other staff - especially ladies - good. On balance, ok for the price but not somewhere that I would want to stop again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

The room (44) was quite dark and overpowered by frilly drapes around the bed. The fitted sheet was synthetic fabrics and the duvet heavy. The duvet cover was a brushed synthetic microfibre type fabric which had tigers printed on it.
The bathroom was functional and although we had a problem with the shower it was dealt with immediately and a new hose and head fitted.
The air conditioning worked but was a little noisy.
We were on half board and stayed three nights. The food although repetitive it was good value for the price paid. Breakfast had too many pastries and not enough fresh fruit, yoghurt would have been a nice addition.
I thought that it being a hotel alcohol may have been an option at dinner but this wasn't the case.
We looked at the pool on our first morning and decided that it looked a little suspect, the water a bit murky and I couldn't see the bottom, we decided not to bother!
The walk into the main square, down the Avenue Mohammed V, which we did everyday in both directions, took at least 40 minutes, not the 20 as suggested in other reviews( unless there was a shortcut we didn't find!) the road is busy and there are a few roundabouts to cross which can be tricky.
All in all we quite enjoyed our stay but it could be made so much better with some minor changes to rooms and breakfast. On previous visit we stayed at a riad in the Medina for only a little more money and would certainly recommend looking at other options or doing more research before booking - we didn't!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

While this hotel gets lots of positive reviews for it's friendly, family atmosphere and facilities I wonder what other hotels it is being compared to. It is reasonably well located and decorated In traditional style with friendly staff, but it definitely is a no frills hotel.
Don't come here if you are claustrophobic! The rooms are crowded with bits and pieces of uncomfortable furniture, the beds and canopies are covered in animal print fabric and the beds are surrounded with frilly nylon curtains. Together with the dim lighting, large paintings on all the dark coloured walls and the tiled floors the atmosphere is overpowering. One feels as if you can't breathe.

Don't opt for the 'dinner included' package as the food is very poor value, no choice and far from what we considered typically Moroccan. One evening we were presented with a plate of grated vegetables smothered in mayonnaise with several chunks of canned, compressed meat paste (Spam) sitting on top. The fish tagine was canned tuna meatballs.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

This hotel is a wonderful way to experience the 'riad' hotels without being in the Medina, the walk into town is only 20 mins away & you will see so much on the way!
Our room was wonderfully quiet at the back overlooking the pool, we took our kettle with us as no tea/coffee facilities in the room (we buy cheap £5 tesco one then leave it out there as a gift!!), the room was quirkily decorated with golden drapes around our four poster bed. TV set to channel 2 gives English films for the afternoon lay down before attacking the square & Souks in the evening!! the staff were adorable - all were lovely. Larbi who looks like Cliff Richards on the front desk was such a pleasant chap really made us feel special & organised our 'Moroccan night out' called 'Fantasia' which really is a must, we did this on our last evening which ended our holiday perfectly.
The walk into town may seem a long way but you get used to it - I lost 7lbs during 10 day stay.
Breakfast on the rooftop was a delight - so much to choose from for breakfast i.e Fried eggs of which I had 2, pancakes, waffles, fruit salad, melon, pizza & much much more, we ate most days around 9.30 & plenty of food to choose from. Cannot speak highly enough about this hotel, certainly gave you a real feel for Morocco - so many colours about!
We stayed on the second floor so had great exercise every morning up to breakfast (don't use lifts!)
Pool catches the sun from around 10.30am - 3pm but still very pleasant to sit near (we did experience flies but just rub on some insect repellent & they don't bother you at all.
All in all a great holiday was had
Shukran beezef to you all :) xxx

Room Tip: No 27 overlooking pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

What a lovely place to stay,with such lovely staff who really couldnt do enough to make my trip more enjoyable...lovely pool beautiful decor in room and whole hotel...Superb rooftop terrace with beautiful views of sunrise whilst having breakfast.. cannot rate this place enough.Thanks for a beautiful time guys ;0) Bravo keep up the good work !

Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Moroccan House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moroccan House Hotel

Address: 3, Rue Loubnane | Guéliz, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #276 of 460 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Moroccan House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel, the first of its kind, provides its visitors with different services and in an architectural style. Moroccan House Marrakech is at the center of the city. It is easy walking distance to many major attractions, theatres, shopping.... It consists of five floors and fifty rooms with different grades (3*, 4*, 5*). Here, you are not in an ordinary hotel, it is like a Riad, a traditional Moroccan house where visitors are cordially received. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Moroccan House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moroccan Hotel Marrakech
Moroccan Marrakech
Moroccan House Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moroccan House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.