We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A few dont's!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Moroccan House Hotel

Save Saved
You added Moroccan House Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Moroccan House Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3, Rue Loubnane | Guéliz, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #278 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A few dont's!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

While this hotel gets lots of positive reviews for it's friendly, family atmosphere and facilities I wonder what other hotels it is being compared to. It is reasonably well located and decorated In traditional style with friendly staff, but it definitely is a no frills hotel.
Don't come here if you are claustrophobic! The rooms are crowded with bits and pieces of uncomfortable furniture, the beds and canopies are covered in animal print fabric and the beds are surrounded with frilly nylon curtains. Together with the dim lighting, large paintings on all the dark coloured walls and the tiled floors the atmosphere is overpowering. One feels as if you can't breathe.

Don't opt for the 'dinner included' package as the food is very poor value, no choice and far from what we considered typically Moroccan. One evening we were presented with a plate of grated vegetables smothered in mayonnaise with several chunks of canned, compressed meat paste (Spam) sitting on top. The fish tagine was canned tuna meatballs.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

443 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    105
    207
    83
    33
    15
See reviews for
60
189
32
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

This hotel is a wonderful way to experience the 'riad' hotels without being in the Medina, the walk into town is only 20 mins away & you will see so much on the way!
Our room was wonderfully quiet at the back overlooking the pool, we took our kettle with us as no tea/coffee facilities in the room (we buy cheap £5 tesco one then leave it out there as a gift!!), the room was quirkily decorated with golden drapes around our four poster bed. TV set to channel 2 gives English films for the afternoon lay down before attacking the square & Souks in the evening!! the staff were adorable - all were lovely. Larbi who looks like Cliff Richards on the front desk was such a pleasant chap really made us feel special & organised our 'Moroccan night out' called 'Fantasia' which really is a must, we did this on our last evening which ended our holiday perfectly.
The walk into town may seem a long way but you get used to it - I lost 7lbs during 10 day stay.
Breakfast on the rooftop was a delight - so much to choose from for breakfast i.e Fried eggs of which I had 2, pancakes, waffles, fruit salad, melon, pizza & much much more, we ate most days around 9.30 & plenty of food to choose from. Cannot speak highly enough about this hotel, certainly gave you a real feel for Morocco - so many colours about!
We stayed on the second floor so had great exercise every morning up to breakfast (don't use lifts!)
Pool catches the sun from around 10.30am - 3pm but still very pleasant to sit near (we did experience flies but just rub on some insect repellent & they don't bother you at all.
All in all a great holiday was had
Shukran beezef to you all :) xxx

Room Tip: No 27 overlooking pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

What a lovely place to stay,with such lovely staff who really couldnt do enough to make my trip more enjoyable...lovely pool beautiful decor in room and whole hotel...Superb rooftop terrace with beautiful views of sunrise whilst having breakfast.. cannot rate this place enough.Thanks for a beautiful time guys ;0) Bravo keep up the good work !

Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

Well after moving room because the air conditioning wasn't working we experienced cold water and being trapped in the lift. Luckily none of us are claustrophobic and we were out within 20 minutes but that was only because we managed to phone our partners who were in the bar next door (even though we sounded the alarm!) All the above was fixed but with such good ratings and reviews the hotel/riad was extremely disappointing and I certainly would not recommend it...especially when it takes over half an hour to walk into Medina rather than the 20 minutes we had read about!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Pros:
Comfy bed. Good air con. Wifi connection from our room on the second floor. Pleasant staff. Nice quiet pool area. Nice traditional decor. Nice breakfast on the roof when was able to sit on this one particular table.

Cons:
Too far from town, at least 30mins walk. Too far for us on a holiday esp in 40 degree heat
Breakfast was repetitive and boring. Limited choice and all breads all dry. Was only allowed to have 1 fried egg at breakfast. Water at the breakfast buffet was very warm by the time we arrived almost everyday. This was especially horrible as it was so hot on the roof.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Great hotel to stay for a couple of days while visiting Marrakech. The rooms are decorated in Moroccan style which is a nice touch and makes you really feel away from home. Our room was clean and the beds were good. We ate twice at the hotel and the food was really good. You can also eat at one of the many restaurants in the neighborhood which are also good. The swimming pool is a nice extra and was clean so we used it a couple of times to take a break from the heat. Overall highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

.. but nice for those who like a bit of kitsch. I went with a college who is quite a tall man from Norway and he did not quite fit into the single bed and had his legs squeezed thru the metal bed end. Just to pre warn- the rooms can be a bit claustrophobic if you are tall!
Its in a good neighbourhood , shops and restaurants close by not to forget the shopping malls in walking distance. The swimming pool is divine and the massage at the spa too.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Moroccan House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moroccan House Hotel

Address: 3, Rue Loubnane | Guéliz, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #278 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Moroccan House Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel, the first of its kind, provides its visitors with different services and in an architectural style. Moroccan House Marrakech is at the center of the city. It is easy walking distance to many major attractions, theatres, shopping.... It consists of five floors and fifty rooms with different grades (3*, 4*, 5*). Here, you are not in an ordinary hotel, it is like a Riad, a traditional Moroccan house where visitors are cordially received. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Moroccan House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moroccan Hotel Marrakech
Moroccan Marrakech
Moroccan House Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moroccan House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;