We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel ...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Moroccan House Hotel

Save Saved
You added Moroccan House Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Moroccan House Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3, Rue Loubnane | Guéliz, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #279 of 460 hotels in Marrakech
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful Hotel ...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

We stayed in room 51 on the top floor of the hotel (on the street side.) The hotel was very clean and the hotel staff always friendly and very helpful. The room was large for the size of hotel this is. Contray to previous comments, we didn't have any issue with the noise from the vars below us.

The pool is small, but gets sun all day if you're willing to move around for it, and is quiet due to the high walls around it.

The hotel was, for us, too far to walk to the Medina but a taxi there was 30dh (£2.30.) I personally liked being a bit further away from the noise of the Medina in the evening.

Overall I loved this beautiful hotel and think if you are looking for a base to expolre Marrakech from, this hotel is great.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

429 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    100
    200
    81
    34
    14
See reviews for
51
188
31
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Coleford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

We used the hotel as base before and after we went trekking in the Atlas Mountains.
As usual with my reviews, I'll break it down:
Location: 25 mins walk from market square. It's easily walkable and a taxi is only 20dhs per person. Some nice gardens located near by as well, which are worth a look.
Price- seems reasonable.
Pool - yes there is a pool out the back and is a good sun trap at various times of the day. No lifeguard, but there is a child section.
Food - tasty. The roof top terrace is very pleasant and a good way to start the day.
Rooms - a real mixed bag we found. Quite basic really, but functional; they do have aircon.
Service - pleasant but quite slow. The guy who cleans the pool was also very odd and was jumping in the pool with the guests... His mad dives were complained about when he kept soaking the guests and we pointed out the large no diving sign - his reply "that's for you, not me".
Decor - clean and well in line with its surroundings.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

4poster bed,air conditioning,hair dryer,safe and fridge.Full en-suite and breakfast included all for £15 a night (2 people) exceptional. Friendly staff very helpful would highly recommend. Did I mention the pool!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

If you are looking for somewhere to stay, look no further. This hotel is it! Amazing interior, pool, breakfast on the roof terrace, warm and welcoming staff, comfy beds and spotless rooms. I can't fault it. It's an easy 20 min stroll to Jemaa el Fna square or a few pounds by cab. I will definitely be going back to this hotel. It's epic!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

This hotel has gone out of its way to provide a Moroccan experience in terms of its decor and atmosphere. Foyer and rooms have an unusual, traditional feel. Breakfast is taken in a tent on the rooftop, which is the most interesting thing about it - lots of sweet foods but not much in the way of savouries, though they will make you an omelette on request. There's a pool which is pleasant but largely shaded for much of the day - which makes taking a dip a brave experience! Baths and massage (recommended) also available. Main downside is the distance from most of the central attractions - you may wish to become acquainted with the No 1 bus as the half hour walk down Avenue Mohammed V is high on fumes and low on interest. Some good restaurants in the area (see my other reviews) and handy for the departure point for the sightseeing bus - which is well worth the ride (including the Palmerie trip) but don't expect the advertised half hourly service - schedules are erratic and you can be left high and dry for some time at the attraction of your choice waiting for the next bus. Home from home then!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hove, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

I stayed in this hotel as part of a package for 1 day before and 2 days after a trekking trip. The hotel welcomes you with a sign that says "Charming Hotel" with 3 stars under it and that sums it up reasonably well. I have no major complaints given the price point, nor did I find anything that wowed me. The hotel did have the feel of a Moroccan Fawlty Towers.

Inside the hotel, I found it quite dark. There was a riad style water feature in the central lobby with some seating. The rooms felt a little tired and had too much clutter in them. The bed had a cheap painting mounted into the frame and there were a lot of cheap toiletries that appear to come from a pound-shop. The bathroom needed some maintenance, especially where the shower head was concerned and the water temperature was inconsistent. The TV was very old and small and there was an electronic safe which would only be enabled for a daily charge. There was a small grubby looking fridge in the corner. Having said all of this, I slept well.

The hotel had a number of odd quirks such as low ceilings in the stairwell which led to one or two sore heads. Breakfast was ok but not amazing. There was a lack of fresh fruit which I thought was a shame.

The staff were friendly and helpful. The location was ok within walking distance of the old town and near to some local shops and restaurants.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CUMBRIA
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

Being a travel agent I did a lot of research on Marrakech this hotel is a great little place in an excellent location food is fantastic real traditional meals the decoration might not be to everybody taste but I thought it was authentic and made me feel in the Moroccan mood ..... beautiful city and will definitely return and will definitely be staying at the Moroccan house hotel

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Moroccan House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moroccan House Hotel

Also Known As:
Moroccan Hotel Marrakech
Moroccan House
Moroccan Marrakech
Moroccan House Marrakech
Moroccan Hotel
Address: 3, Rue Loubnane | Guéliz, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#249 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Moroccan House Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel, the first of its kind, provides its visitors with different services and in an architectural style. Moroccan House Marrakech is at the center of the city. It is easy walking distance to many major attractions, theatres, shopping.... It consists of five floors and fifty rooms with different grades (3*, 4*, 5*). Here, you are not in an ordinary hotel, it is like a Riad, a traditional Moroccan house where visitors are cordially received. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Tingo, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Otel and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Moroccan House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moroccan House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.