We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Moroccan House Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Moroccan House Hotel to your Saves list
Moroccan House Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3, Rue Loubnane | Guéliz, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #282 of 462 Hotels in Marrakech
Kingsbridge
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Ideal Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Located in a quiet back street just a few minutes walk to Place du 16 Novembre. An ideal place
to return each day after the noise and frantic bustle of Marrakech:- a good nights sleep is guaranteed!

The hotel is spotless, all the staff extremely helpful and the half board breakfast and evening meals (salads, soups, tagines) well presented and appetising. The four poster bed was extremely comfortable. Endless hot water for showering/bathing. The WiFi was fine; sent and received many emails (with and without picture attachments) without any problems.

A 30 minute leisurely walk from the hotel will get you to Place Jemma-el- Fna (where all the action is). Just a straight walk from Place du 16 Novembre along Avenue Mohammed V. A taxi ride for two from the hotel (if you do not fancy walking) costs 20 dirham:- but at least 50 if you do not haggle. The unbelievable traffic flow makes crossing roads a never to be forgotten experience. if you 'sport' a map you will be frequently accosted by men offering to help you find your way:- forget it, thank you but no! And when you buy things check that your change
is correct.

Overall an excellent visit to Marrakech and we certainly made the right Hotel choice.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

451 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    210
    84
    34
    16
See reviews for
61
192
33
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

A wonderful modern and clean Riad with the wow factor. Excellent half board food of soups, salads, tagines and cous cous. Take breakfast on the roof terrace in the sunshine which is a lovely way to start your day. Bathe by the pool in the mornings (shady in the afternoon). Use the hammam for a body scrub and massage. April perfect weather for a visit. Walk to the Yves San Laurent Gardens, take a taxi to the Medina and haggle away. Do not miss the night food market in the square by the Madina, even if you are not hungry - have some mint tea and soak up the atmosphere.

Room Tip: 4th floor at the back. We had the 5th (top) floor at the front so you could hear guests going for b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

very nice little hotel. Hotel and rooms are traditionally furnished, and it has a lovely swimming pool. It has a tiny hammam in the basement which is really lovely. Massage and hammam services are really good and fairly priced.
All the hotel is quite traditionally built with marble inlay and pictures. There is a lovely decorated tent on the terrace where breakfast is served.
Staff is friendly and able to speak good french and some also a fair english. Half board option is quite nice, even if it can became tiring after a few days. Food is moroccan with twist toward continental tastes.
Location is a bit difficult to find but excellent, being in the newly built part of the city, Gueliz.
Connections to the city centres are abundant and cheap, buses are nearby and in the near Mohammed V road is possible to hail a petit taxi. For 20 Dh is possible to reach the medina in a 5-10 minutes ride.
definitely recommended.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the pool are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel with my friend for 3 nights. We really couldn't fault the hotel, we had two double four poster beds, the decor of the room was very ostentatious but we liked the fact it was a bit different. It's a very traditional looking hotel with a colourful and detailed decor. The breakfast was great, the omelettes were the highlight for me! Freshly cooked and delicious, plus a good selection of cereals, fruit and pastries. We ate out on the roof in the sun but when it went cold there is a marquee/tent to eat in too.
Our only complaint was that the room was a little cold, there seemed to be a problem with the heating. It's also quite a long walk to the medina.
A word of warning - a "friendly local" purposely led us in the wrong direction of the majorelle gardens so we would go to a market with him and give him money. As females travelling alone we were quite nervous when this happened. Luckily we realised quite quickly that it wasnt the right direction and another passer by showed us the way. The area was fine apart from that one incident, we went out alone in the dark every evening and felt perfectly safe.
In terms of the hotel though I would definitely stay again - comfortable beds, great food and good service.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013 via mobile

MY friend and I stayed in this hotel as a cheap city break option. It served its purpose. We opted for half board which I do not necessarily recommend , especially not for vegetarians. The meal was a set menu of salad and bread, soup ( often fish with no veg option) followed by vegetae tagine or cous cous. This gets a bit repetative so we ended up eating out 2 nights. The desserts were disappointing - usually a piece of fruit on a plate.
On a more positive note the breakfast buffet, whilst it was th same everyday, there was enough to choose from for it of be varied. There was bread, cheese, pancakes , cakes, cereal omelettes etc.

The location was ok, easy to get taxis from the corner on the. Main road into the medina. Taxi takes abiut 10 mins and costs sround 50dh. The new town is just round the corner with lots of bars and restaurants. Check out 'cheese me ' literally round the corner!

We upgraded to room 12 and it was quite nice. Beds were really firm but I like that so sleety really well. I sleep in ear plugs butmy friend doesn't. She saidthenoise from the reception area below was quite disruptive night.

The staff were a mixed bag. One female member of staff couldn't have Been more helpful. She gave directions , booked trips etc. one waiter was also very nice. However there was one male member of reception staff was simply unpleasant. I couldn't work out if he disliked women, tourists or life in general. He's the one wearing glasses ... You will know when meet him... He will look at you with thinky vailed distain.

The decoration throught is lovely And traditional. You feel like you're in morrocco as opposed to a multi-national hotel chain. It has character.

The pool doesn't getmuch sunlight do didn't get heated up adequately the whole time were there. That said it was only early April.

On the whole, I'd say go board and breakfast only, eat out at night and defiantly take the trip into the Berber villages arranged through reception. It's nice to get out if the city and it was highlight of my trip. The Atlas Mountains were breathtaking.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

just returned ,had a nice break ,hotel staff were very nice room was very well prerented although a bit tired,the hot water heater wouldnt heat the water in the sink unless i ran the bath at the same time, the pool was in the shade from 2pm , the food was well cooked but a bit basic however very nice ,i did find that due to the design of the building i could hear every door open or close ,this wasnt a big problem, if i returned to Marrakech i wouldnt hessitate to book this hotel again it was certainly worth the money...

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

I recently stayed here with 2 friends for 4 days. The staff were lovely and the hotel is decorated in a very moroccan style with beautiful patterned tiling and a little court-yard fountain area in the lobby. It is located in the modern area of marrakech, which has shops, restaurants and bars, and its a 20-30min walk from the medina, or 20-30 dirhams in a taxi - which the staff will arrange on request.
The room was a good size with four poster curtained beds and a small balcony. The breakfast was served on the roof terrace, so you can eat outdoors or in the undercover area.There was a good selection of pastries and cooked-to-order spanish omlettes.
The pool only gets the sun in the morning/early afternoon, but otherwise this was a lovely and reasonably priced place to stay for our trip.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Moroccan House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moroccan House Hotel

Address: 3, Rue Loubnane | Guéliz, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #282 of 462 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Moroccan House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel, the first of its kind, provides its visitors with different services and in an architectural style. Moroccan House Marrakech is at the center of the city. It is easy walking distance to many major attractions, theatres, shopping.... It consists of five floors and fifty rooms with different grades (3*, 4*, 5*). Here, you are not in an ordinary hotel, it is like a Riad, a traditional Moroccan house where visitors are cordially received. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Moroccan House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moroccan Hotel Marrakech
Moroccan Marrakech
Moroccan House Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moroccan House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.