We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok if on a budget and you can cope with surley staff” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Moroccan House Hotel

Save Saved
You added Moroccan House Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Moroccan House Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3, Rue Loubnane | Guéliz, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #275 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Ok if on a budget and you can cope with surley staff”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013 via mobile

MY friend and I stayed in this hotel as a cheap city break option. It served its purpose. We opted for half board which I do not necessarily recommend , especially not for vegetarians. The meal was a set menu of salad and bread, soup ( often fish with no veg option) followed by vegetae tagine or cous cous. This gets a bit repetative so we ended up eating out 2 nights. The desserts were disappointing - usually a piece of fruit on a plate.
On a more positive note the breakfast buffet, whilst it was th same everyday, there was enough to choose from for it of be varied. There was bread, cheese, pancakes , cakes, cereal omelettes etc.

The location was ok, easy to get taxis from the corner on the. Main road into the medina. Taxi takes abiut 10 mins and costs sround 50dh. The new town is just round the corner with lots of bars and restaurants. Check out 'cheese me ' literally round the corner!

We upgraded to room 12 and it was quite nice. Beds were really firm but I like that so sleety really well. I sleep in ear plugs butmy friend doesn't. She saidthenoise from the reception area below was quite disruptive night.

The staff were a mixed bag. One female member of staff couldn't have Been more helpful. She gave directions , booked trips etc. one waiter was also very nice. However there was one male member of reception staff was simply unpleasant. I couldn't work out if he disliked women, tourists or life in general. He's the one wearing glasses ... You will know when meet him... He will look at you with thinky vailed distain.

The decoration throught is lovely And traditional. You feel like you're in morrocco as opposed to a multi-national hotel chain. It has character.

The pool doesn't getmuch sunlight do didn't get heated up adequately the whole time were there. That said it was only early April.

On the whole, I'd say go board and breakfast only, eat out at night and defiantly take the trip into the Berber villages arranged through reception. It's nice to get out if the city and it was highlight of my trip. The Atlas Mountains were breathtaking.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

437 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    103
    205
    81
    33
    15
See reviews for
58
189
32
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

just returned ,had a nice break ,hotel staff were very nice room was very well prerented although a bit tired,the hot water heater wouldnt heat the water in the sink unless i ran the bath at the same time, the pool was in the shade from 2pm , the food was well cooked but a bit basic however very nice ,i did find that due to the design of the building i could hear every door open or close ,this wasnt a big problem, if i returned to Marrakech i wouldnt hessitate to book this hotel again it was certainly worth the money...

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

I recently stayed here with 2 friends for 4 days. The staff were lovely and the hotel is decorated in a very moroccan style with beautiful patterned tiling and a little court-yard fountain area in the lobby. It is located in the modern area of marrakech, which has shops, restaurants and bars, and its a 20-30min walk from the medina, or 20-30 dirhams in a taxi - which the staff will arrange on request.
The room was a good size with four poster curtained beds and a small balcony. The breakfast was served on the roof terrace, so you can eat outdoors or in the undercover area.There was a good selection of pastries and cooked-to-order spanish omlettes.
The pool only gets the sun in the morning/early afternoon, but otherwise this was a lovely and reasonably priced place to stay for our trip.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fareham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

I recently brought ten students on an adventure study trip to Marrakech, and we were all delighted with this gem of a hotel! Friendly, efficient, gracious staff, delicious and varied food and plenty of hot water. The hamman is tiny but beautiful and just as we had hoped it would be, and we can thoroughly recommend the half board option. Clean room with comfortable outlook. We felt safe and cherished as guests, and our hosts took so much trouble to help us find our way around. We loved the souks, the palace, and of course the magical day in the Atlas mountains, enjoying tea with a Berber family. Do avoid the ghastly Fantasia evening, though. It is a hideous ripoff and the violence of the indifference of those dancing for tourists leaves you feeling cold and crumpled.

Overall, probably the best modest hotel we have ever used. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gosport
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

I usually stay in a riad within the old city walls but some friends of mine booked a package holiday to this hotel at a bargain price so i decided to come with them, First impresions on entering the hotel are very good, nicely decorated in the moroccan style the staff where friendly and attentive(except for one female member of staff on the reception) the rooms are well presented and clean but no tea or coffee making facilities, The bathrooms are also clean and the shower over the bath more than adequate, The rooms were cleaned every day and the cleaning staff were pleasant and honest (I left quite a bit of money on the bedside table by mistake one morning and it was all still there when i got back in the afternoon) the food in the morning on the roof terrace was fresh and varied and the omelettes were cooked fresh to order. Situated not to far from the souk(a 30 to forty minute gentle stroll or 20/ 30 dirham in a petite taxi) quite a few restaraunts close by,the only downside my friends found was that the beds are a little short if you are 6ft or more tall,
All in all quite a nice moroccan hotel at a reasonable price, ideal for a first visit to marrakech

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk, England
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

I cannot believe how wonderful this hotel was for the money! As two girls travelling alone we were made to feel very safe and well looked after. The hotel was lovely and spacious and beautifully decorated. It was perfectly situated for a walk to the main square. We had food included as part of the deal and it was delicious and plentiful, they just kept bringing more and more courses!! I cannot sing this hotel's praises enough, it was a wonderful trip.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, New York, United States
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Stayed four nights here, in a fairly large corner room with three single beds and a veranda overlooking the busy street below. Nice mix of western comfort and Moroccan style. Pleasant staff, clean room, nice breakfast buffet served on the roof of the hotel. We didn't eat in the restaurant so can't comment. Only disappointment was the hammam - we wanted to try it but it was closed. Would stay here again if we ever get back to Marrakech!

Room Tip: Corner rooms are quieter and larger - veranda is a plus!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Moroccan House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moroccan House Hotel

Address: 3, Rue Loubnane | Guéliz, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#44 Best Value Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Moroccan House Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel, the first of its kind, provides its visitors with different services and in an architectural style. Moroccan House Marrakech is at the center of the city. It is easy walking distance to many major attractions, theatres, shopping.... It consists of five floors and fifty rooms with different grades (3*, 4*, 5*). Here, you are not in an ordinary hotel, it is like a Riad, a traditional Moroccan house where visitors are cordially received. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Tingo, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Moroccan House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moroccan Hotel Marrakech
Moroccan Marrakech
Moroccan House Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moroccan House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.