We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magical hotel in lovely Marrakech!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Moroccan House Hotel

Save Saved
You added Moroccan House Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Moroccan House Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3, Rue Loubnane | Guéliz, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #278 of 461 Hotels in Marrakech
Fareham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Magical hotel in lovely Marrakech!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

I recently brought ten students on an adventure study trip to Marrakech, and we were all delighted with this gem of a hotel! Friendly, efficient, gracious staff, delicious and varied food and plenty of hot water. The hamman is tiny but beautiful and just as we had hoped it would be, and we can thoroughly recommend the half board option. Clean room with comfortable outlook. We felt safe and cherished as guests, and our hosts took so much trouble to help us find our way around. We loved the souks, the palace, and of course the magical day in the Atlas mountains, enjoying tea with a Berber family. Do avoid the ghastly Fantasia evening, though. It is a hideous ripoff and the violence of the indifference of those dancing for tourists leaves you feeling cold and crumpled.

Overall, probably the best modest hotel we have ever used. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

446 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    208
    83
    33
    16
See reviews for
61
190
32
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gosport
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

I usually stay in a riad within the old city walls but some friends of mine booked a package holiday to this hotel at a bargain price so i decided to come with them, First impresions on entering the hotel are very good, nicely decorated in the moroccan style the staff where friendly and attentive(except for one female member of staff on the reception) the rooms are well presented and clean but no tea or coffee making facilities, The bathrooms are also clean and the shower over the bath more than adequate, The rooms were cleaned every day and the cleaning staff were pleasant and honest (I left quite a bit of money on the bedside table by mistake one morning and it was all still there when i got back in the afternoon) the food in the morning on the roof terrace was fresh and varied and the omelettes were cooked fresh to order. Situated not to far from the souk(a 30 to forty minute gentle stroll or 20/ 30 dirham in a petite taxi) quite a few restaraunts close by,the only downside my friends found was that the beds are a little short if you are 6ft or more tall,
All in all quite a nice moroccan hotel at a reasonable price, ideal for a first visit to marrakech

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk, England
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

I cannot believe how wonderful this hotel was for the money! As two girls travelling alone we were made to feel very safe and well looked after. The hotel was lovely and spacious and beautifully decorated. It was perfectly situated for a walk to the main square. We had food included as part of the deal and it was delicious and plentiful, they just kept bringing more and more courses!! I cannot sing this hotel's praises enough, it was a wonderful trip.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, New York, United States
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Stayed four nights here, in a fairly large corner room with three single beds and a veranda overlooking the busy street below. Nice mix of western comfort and Moroccan style. Pleasant staff, clean room, nice breakfast buffet served on the roof of the hotel. We didn't eat in the restaurant so can't comment. Only disappointment was the hammam - we wanted to try it but it was closed. Would stay here again if we ever get back to Marrakech!

Room Tip: Corner rooms are quieter and larger - veranda is a plus!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

We were on a mad long weekend to Marrakech and were allocated this wonderfully decorated hotel to stay in for our short duration. We were told we were to have the best room in the hotel and were rather dubious and just grinned sweetly as we were shown to the room.

Wow, believe me, we did have the best room, it overlooked the pool, was zealously Moroccan style in decoration, (put your keys down and spend an hour trying to find them with all the cushions and colour that adorned the room) It was like a small apartment, everything we needed and much more. The bed alone could sleep a family of 6 and some added pets if desired. :D It was HUGE and extremely comfortable, I felt like the Princess and the Pea in her bed of chintz, cushions and throws..........

Breakfast consisted of the usual cheese, breads, salad and cakes you expect from these bed and breakfast establishments, which was of a decent standard and enough to feed all the above. (plus the local bird population - they like the cake)
Breakfast was served upstairs on the roof terrace, seating was either in open air or in a Bedouin style tent, was a nice little touch.

Staff were friendly, informative, hard working, however one small point that was the ONLY thing that stands out is the porter/waiter who came across as a bit over friendly and would hover for a tip ('Go away, please!' would be a good one) and his shirt looked like he'd slept in it for at least a week. It really did him no favours as it looked shabby and unprofessional while the rest of the staff, we have to say, were immaculate.

Apart from that, a very welcoming and enjoyable stay was had and we would gladly return.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

A great hotel at which we were made to feel most welcome thorughout our 4 night stay. beautiful clean Riad style room. Roof terrace for breakfast -althoug don't leave it to last minute if you want the widest selection. Easy walk to shops restauruants etc and 15 minutes to the old town and main square

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

On the first day we arrived, we were told that several rooms were flooded and result we spent out first night in a very basic hotel across the road. We complained on the second day and they said they would upgrade us to a suite. That sounded great until we realised that they were the only rooms with a double bed which is what we had booked in the first place so not much of an upgrade! We also found out from the guests that there was a huge group that had turned up from the Netherlands on the day we arrived, and given that flooding in a rooms probably takes for than a day to put right, we strongly suspect they had overbooked the hotel and so sent several guests to the other hotel. On top of this, the staff were quite unhelpful, especially when it came to providing information. We were even asked to pay for a map of Marrakech! Never experienced that before in a 3 star hotel. They told us that dinner would be served from 7 to 9pm, however, they were annoyed with us when we arrived at 8:30pm and served us slowly, forgetting to give us things like glasses, cutlery, napkins, we didn't even get dessert as they said the kitchen had closed and they'd forgotten to put aside out dessert! It's terms of facilities, the swimming pool is small and dirty. Not much else available. Incredibly they do not even have a license to sell alcohol on the premises! The result, despite the beautiful decor, was a poor experience from the poor customer service. We wouldn't go back sadly.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Moroccan House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moroccan House Hotel

Address: 3, Rue Loubnane | Guéliz, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #278 of 461 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Moroccan House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel, the first of its kind, provides its visitors with different services and in an architectural style. Moroccan House Marrakech is at the center of the city. It is easy walking distance to many major attractions, theatres, shopping.... It consists of five floors and fifty rooms with different grades (3*, 4*, 5*). Here, you are not in an ordinary hotel, it is like a Riad, a traditional Moroccan house where visitors are cordially received. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Moroccan House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moroccan Hotel Marrakech
Moroccan Marrakech
Moroccan House Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moroccan House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.