We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for a long weekend” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Moroccan House Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Moroccan House Hotel to your Saves list
Moroccan House Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3, Rue Loubnane | Guéliz, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #282 of 462 Hotels in Marrakech
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great for a long weekend”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

A great hotel at which we were made to feel most welcome thorughout our 4 night stay. beautiful clean Riad style room. Roof terrace for breakfast -althoug don't leave it to last minute if you want the widest selection. Easy walk to shops restauruants etc and 15 minutes to the old town and main square

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

451 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    210
    84
    34
    16
See reviews for
61
192
33
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

On the first day we arrived, we were told that several rooms were flooded and result we spent out first night in a very basic hotel across the road. We complained on the second day and they said they would upgrade us to a suite. That sounded great until we realised that they were the only rooms with a double bed which is what we had booked in the first place so not much of an upgrade! We also found out from the guests that there was a huge group that had turned up from the Netherlands on the day we arrived, and given that flooding in a rooms probably takes for than a day to put right, we strongly suspect they had overbooked the hotel and so sent several guests to the other hotel. On top of this, the staff were quite unhelpful, especially when it came to providing information. We were even asked to pay for a map of Marrakech! Never experienced that before in a 3 star hotel. They told us that dinner would be served from 7 to 9pm, however, they were annoyed with us when we arrived at 8:30pm and served us slowly, forgetting to give us things like glasses, cutlery, napkins, we didn't even get dessert as they said the kitchen had closed and they'd forgotten to put aside out dessert! It's terms of facilities, the swimming pool is small and dirty. Not much else available. Incredibly they do not even have a license to sell alcohol on the premises! The result, despite the beautiful decor, was a poor experience from the poor customer service. We wouldn't go back sadly.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derry
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We stayed here one night and were well pleased.
The lobby looks beautiful and we were met by pleasant receptionists and a very polite doorman who brought us mint tea and biscuits.
The room was clean and again highly decorated. The bathroom was great, and the little touch of the towel being folded into the shape of an elephant was lovely. There were complimentary soaps etc as well as toothpaste, toothbrush, shaving foam and razor.
Even though the room was overlooking the mad car-filled street, the double glazing kept most of the noise out.
The beds were comfortable.
A good hotel to stay in.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall, UK
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Nice clean room with 2 comfortable single beds (mini 4 posters draped in lace!). Good bathroom, and great roof terrace where the breakfast was served. Beautiful main lobby. Stayed at the front of the hotel and it was rather noisy with passing traffic, people talking, stray cats etc.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ripon, North Yorkshire
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

The decor of the hotel is amazing. When tou first walk in to reception youjust know you've come to the right place with the mosaic work and the petal filled fountain. It is a little tired but everything is extremely clean.The staff are really helpful. Book trips to the Atlas mountains etc through reception as it's the cheapest way to do it.Breakfast is on the roof terrace with views over the rooftops towards the mountains and is extensive in what it offers. We arrived on a late flight and the restaurant is open at that time so is very handy for tired travellers. There is another great restaurant if you go out of the hotel, turn right then cross the road - it's called Jazzoo.The hotel has a swimming pool and a hamman downstairs but it was a bit too cold in mid Feb to swim! if you ask at reception, you can have the most amazing cappuccino (or other hot drink) at any time.Would definitely go back.

Room Tip: Ask the staff to book taxis, they can get them at half the price
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Retford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

This hotel is begining to look and feel it's age but the staff were wonderful. When, on each morning, I had no hot water, a maintenance man was sent to correct the problem. Having breakfast on the roof terrace in the middle of February was a challenge manageable. The Breakfast was plentiful, with cereals, breads, cakes, pancakes juices and omeletes. The coffee was to die for and I personally drank at least three mugs each day. The evening meal was very good and a diferent selection was offered each night. Delicious salads, indescribable soup followed by a tagine of either fish, chicken, lamb and couscous. I could not fault the offerings. The hotel is a 20 minute walk to the Medina but the walk was enjoyable once you had worked out the traffic pattern. You took your life into your hands everytime you crossed a main road. Became an expert at the end of my stay. During my stay I did not experience any annoying guests but could imagine the frustration as the wall are thin and there is no soundproofing around the entrance door. The cost of a taxi from the main square to the hotel was only 20dm ($1.75) I whole heartedly recommend this hotel

Room Tip: Ask for the rear of hotel as there is a nightclub 3 doors away from the hotel that attract many peop...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

This hotel was part of a last minute deal booked through Opodo, which was v good value for money. When we saw the rates displayed in the hotel reception area we realised how good value the deal had been - we had saved a lot!
The hotel is such calming welcome relief from the dusty mayhem outside. Reception is a cool, ornate atrium with a fountain filled with rose petals, and we were served mint tea on arrival. My room was spotless. The furniture was traditional, although there was a lot of it in quite a small room. I had a small double to myself (it was booked as a single room) and a large bathroom with lots of hot hot water at all times. Room was made up immaculately every day, clothes hung up, and I felt very well looked after at all times.
The breakfast was a buffet style, breads, cakes, pastries, and then eggs and pancakes cooked on a griddle to order. Tea and Coffee etc were available, as were juices and water.
The only minus really was staying at the same time as an unbelievably loud and irritating Dutch tour group. the demolished the breakfast in about 10 minutes, smoked everywhere, and dressed wildly inappropriately for the country they were in. They were just so LOUD> but of course this is nothing to do with the hotel whatsoever.
I can't comment on the Dinner offering as i was staying B&B - there are lots of trendy french style bistros nearby, or the centre is very close for more traditional food.
Overall, a charming, beautiful hotel, just outside the centre but only 4DHM (£0.30!) on the public bus straight to the square. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Moroccan House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moroccan House Hotel

Address: 3, Rue Loubnane | Guéliz, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #282 of 462 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Moroccan House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel, the first of its kind, provides its visitors with different services and in an architectural style. Moroccan House Marrakech is at the center of the city. It is easy walking distance to many major attractions, theatres, shopping.... It consists of five floors and fifty rooms with different grades (3*, 4*, 5*). Here, you are not in an ordinary hotel, it is like a Riad, a traditional Moroccan house where visitors are cordially received. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Moroccan House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moroccan Hotel Marrakech
Moroccan Marrakech
Moroccan House Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moroccan House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.